We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Citigate Motel Newcastle

418-422 Maitland Rd | Mayfield West, Newcastle, New South Wales 2304, Australia
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Hunter Supercruise
    4.5 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 1 week ago
Rude rude rude man at reception
Motel was clean ,but won't stay again ,because the man in... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 103: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Motel was clean ,but won't stay again ,because the man in reception was awful , just Awful .he even had a loud speaker to make sure we left by 10 ,didn't want to give us the free continental breakfast until I told hm it was on the website ,then said he will make suture that is taken off the website...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaye A
victor l, Manager at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

thats correct ....we supply free breakfast if you book direct on the motel website and not thru an agency such as booking .com as you had done. the public address is sometimes used particularly on a sunday to remind guests after 10am that check out time is 10am as sunday is a penalty rate day. always tell the truth Kaye.you...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A traditional motel but bathrooms have been renovated. Exceptionally clean. Bed was comfortable. Decent kitchenette with a microwave. Great if you need to get off the highway or stop for a couple of nights.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jaymay2904
victor l, Manager at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

thanks Jaymay for you comments about our recently renovated and upgraded motel we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were travelling from Victoria to visit family in Queensland and stopped over in Newcastle the first night. We were looking for something reasonably priced as we just needed a bed but we were very pleasantly surprised to find free parking, a very clean and comfortable room with an ample and well appointed bathroom. Location was great - not far...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Penny K
victor l, Manager at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

thanks Penny for your kind comments..... we hope to welcome you again one day at the citigate.

Springwood, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean bathroom, comfy clean beds, air conditioning, and a big TV. Perfect for our family of four after a big drive. Secure, easy, and exceptionally friendly staff. Highly recommend, outstanding for the bargain price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helene_and_Ben
victor l, Manager at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

thanks Helene and Ben hope to see you again at the Citigate and thank you for your kind comment.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The old receptionist fella was rude, racist and condescending. Two nights spent in a room with broken air con. Receptionist tells me that it's 'Newcastle weather". I asked for another room, he refused. Keeps telling me about how to put air con on 18, I know how to use an air con. I asked him for the name of someone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank B H
victor l, Manager at Citigate Motel Newcastle, responded to this review

thanks B H for your nasty comments,and of course you avoid the whole truth.You did not say a your credit card had been declined which upset you. b you booked for three people and arrived with four. sorry we could not transfer you to another room......the motel was fully booked. now,you had your aircond set on 18 degrees when the...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We loved our stay here. The lady who runs the Citigate is so kind and friendly. The room was spacious, clean and cool. The breakfast included chilled sliced melons, other fruit and a variety of cereals and toast options. There is a seven-eleven right across the road and bus stops nearby to get into town. There was a great little...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lisa W
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 13 December 2016

basic, clean, lovely staff, easy access to food and shops. convenience store right next door. good wifi. free parking. would come again. some people might not be happy with rooms facing the (main)street but worked fine for me.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pas C
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Had the best overnight stay. The staff she was absolutely beautiful and made you feel welcome and at ease. The room was beautiful clean. Shower was nice. Breakfast was continental good price and lovely. Definitely will be back. 5 stars

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya A
Tewantin, Australia
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Could not have been happier. We moved here from a motel across the road and are completely happy. The owners could not be more accommodating - nothing is any trouble. The rooms are spacious & clean. There is a BBQ , microwave - all in good working order Would thoroughly recommend this motel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wildlouie
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Great place to stay and such friendly staff. Clean and tidy rooms very comfy beds, well located to all things you may need regards shops and only a short trip into newcastle itself and a good proximity to he road north if just staying over night for a rest.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven D

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
3.7 km away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
41 reviews
1.3 km away
The Gateway Inn
The Gateway Inn
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
160 reviews
5.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Newcastle Beach Hotel
Newcastle Beach Hotel
#19 of 22 in Newcastle
96 reviews
3.5 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
322 reviews
5.0 km away
Travelodge Newcastle
Travelodge Newcastle
#11 of 22 in Newcastle
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfortable, affordable accommodation, centrally located and suited to any type of travellers! We have free WIFI, Free Foxtel and upgraded all rooms to luxury NEW beds. Whether it's an overnight business trip, a quick stop over on your travels or a home away from home you're looking for, you'll find it at Citigate Motel. We provide a range of different accommodation choices to suit your needs and your budget. You'll find our facilities and rooms clean, comfortable and spacious with all of the necessities to make your stay with us a pleasant one along with a friendly customer service team ensuring you are well taken care of. Enjoy being just 10 minutes from the CBD, Beaches, Shoppings and all that Newcastle has to offer as well as being central to the beautiful Hunter Valley and Port Stephens areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Citigate Motel Newcastle

Address: 418-422 Maitland Rd | Mayfield West, Newcastle, New South Wales 2304, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: ₹ 5,309 - ₹ 6,391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citigate Motel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Citigate Motel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Citigate Motel Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was near the main road but we didn't find it noisy at all. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles 589pennyk, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for ground floor unless you love stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles spin462002, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“On a budget? Clean, quiet and friendly”
 of 5 bubbles annemarieyates9, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“not suggest to stay at this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles IdyLam2016, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for top floor so no one is dancing you at night.”
 of 5 bubbles bozo5412, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5