We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sovereign Inn Newcastle

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sovereign Inn Newcastle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
Start your review of Sovereign Inn Newcastle
 Click to rate
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights February 2017. Older motel but was nice and clean and more than adequate for our stay. In Newcastle for three days work. Mayfield West is not too far from Newcastle and most of what we needed to do. Would recommend this hotel for business or stopping over for a few days. Reasonably priced.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John N
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the clean, comfortable accommodation, our close proximity to Newcastle and the reasonable room price. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Newcastle.

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Good motel clean rooms, but a bit outdated. Was over priced for whats offered. Pool was uninviting as it looked dirty and needed cleaning. Was on highway but noise was limited. Was ok for overnight stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kezza2065
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the clean accommodation and the quietness of the rooms. The pool does get cleaned regularly however we are addressing your comments as we want all our guests to have an enjoyable experience while staying at Sovereign Inn Newcastle.

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

We had to make a last minute booking and a late arrival. Our hosts at the Sovereign Inn couldn't have been more accommodating. The guy had to stay up late to let us in well after the check in time and he was so kind about it. Very clean room and really comfortable bed, all the essentials and cool air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We're glad you enjoyed the affordable, clean, comfortable accommodation, and that you & your sister felt safe & secure while staying with us. Our managers do all they can to make sure our guests stay with us is an enjoyable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Newcastle.

London
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here last night on the road from Brisbane to Sydney. Just wanted a place to crash and it was clean and comfy. Airton in the rooms and a little fridge was really useful. It is basic but if you are just wanting a bed for the night then it's perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the clean, comfortable accommodation and found our motel the perfect place to rest for the night. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Newcastle.

Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Nice and quiet,easy to get too and easy to find, the rooms are comfortable. parking at your front door. Friendly owners. I like the layout of the motel. Nice pool. Comfortable bed, the rooms are roomy. There is a 7 Eleven walking distance to get anything you need late at night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're glad you found our property easy to get to and easy to find, and enjoyed the comfortable bed, the layout of the building, the pool and the convenience of parking at the front door. Our managers are always happy to provide friendly helpful service. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you...

Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 25 August 2016

A very fine place, clean and convenient. The receptionist was very friendly, and helped us with excellent restaurant recommendations. Most importantly - a very good WiFi connection. A very good location if you have car.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bellvador
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us including the clean comfortable accommodation, the very good WiFi connection and the friendly helpful staff, who always do their utmost to provide our guests with an enjoyable & quality experience. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Newcastle

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Friendly staff who assisted with an early check in as we had traveled some distance and needed to freshen up before attending a Wedding. Rooms are on the small side but adequate and well presented with comfortable furniture & essentials. All services where operational and the room especially clean. Ideal budget accommodation and would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trapperphil44
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our managers are always happy to help our guests, and we're glad you were pleased with the clean & comfortable accommodation. We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Newcastle.

Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2016

Had an overnight stay here and found the place was fine. The room are older but it is good value for money. It was clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay here again when next in Newcastle.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kernell2015
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We agree that our rooms are value for money, and our managers are always happy to provide friendly, helpful service and clean, comfortable accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back when you're next in Newcastle.

Murwillumbah, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2016

This is an older style motel with excellent, approachable management. We stayed for 3 days. The rooms are comfortable with good beds and reasonable fit-out. We found the Wi-Fi to be quite unreliable but this wasn't an issue for us. The inclusion of a toaster in the room would have been an improvement. The location is excellent with ready access...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David T
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for review. We're glad you found the beds comfortable and were happy with your room. Our managers are always happy to give great service. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your visit Newcastle.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Stayed here for 4 nights recently whilst visiting son based at Singleton. The rooms may be small and dated but they were clean and comfortable. Free Wi-Fi worked very well. Staff were excellent and very helpful. The price was very reasonable. The location was handy to most fast food restaurants too which we appreciated. Parking right at the door is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GoldenMum58
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our managers pride themselves on providing friendly, helpful service and clean, comfortable accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back.

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
3.6 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
332 reviews
3.9 km away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
44 reviews
7.0 km away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Gateway Inn
The Gateway Inn
#9 of 22 in Newcastle
167 reviews
4.1 km away
Quality Suites Boulevard On Beaumont
5.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Each fully air-conditioned room at Sovereign Inn Newcastle features all the modern amenities you’ll ever need for a comfortable and convenient stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sovereign Inn Newcastle

Address: 309 Maitland Road, Newcastle, New South Wales 2787, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: ₹ 5,448 - ₹ 6,356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sovereign Inn Newcastle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sovereign Inn Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sovereign Inn Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room at the back away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles 380JohnN, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“To avoid traffic noise get a room at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles GoldenMum58, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room more at the back. Those at the front may be a bit noisy as it is a major road”
 of 5 bubbles 306jackier, 22 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Best tip I would give is to speak directly with the owners and let them know what you are looking for, they are very good at accommodating to your specific needs where possible.”
 of 5 bubbles 450kerriep, 29 Nov 2013 | Read review
“In winter, ask if you can have the rooms that get the afternoon sun, as the rooms at the back of the motel can be quite cold in the shade.”
 of 5 bubbles margw5, 12 Jun 2012 | Read review
5 of 5