We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

722 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 671: English reviews
Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Stayed here as a stop over before heading to Milord Sound the next day, as we wanted an early start. Lovely accommodation, with spacious rooms and ample parking. Free wifi was fast and reliable. The room was nice and warm, with lots of wooden finishings. It was a little dark at times even with the lights on but you quickly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _p_orourke01
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear P Orourke Thanks for your review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we sincerely hope to see you back again in the not too distant future, Regards Brent Stander

Conifer, Colorado
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Manish and Georgia not forgetting Dee made our trip memorable They were so helpful and polite Manish on the other hand went above and beyond making calls booking trips and giving us restaurants recommendations all with a smile Could tell he enjoyed his job I would come back or suggest distinction hotel to all my friends Thank you for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buluted
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Beaulah and Ted Thanks for your review and kind words of encouragement. I am humbled to hear our staff made a lasting impression and Manish went out of his way to help, they are all truly special staff. We sincerely hope to see you back again soon. Regards Brent Stander

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We spent one night at Distinction Te Anau in a Villa prior to embarking on the Milford Track. The Villa was amazing with a fireplace and huge tub and a very nice sitting area. The staff were terrific about allowing us to leave our vehicle and store our baggage while on the hike as we were staying at Distinction Te...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2012brendar
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Brendar Thanks for your glowing review and kind words of encouragement. We are blessed with a wonderful team and I am delighted to hear they made an impression during your stay. We sincerely hope to see you back again in the not too distant future. Regards Brent Stander

Reviewed 21 January 2017

The restaurant excellent service is incredibly attentive and makes you feel special. Rachelle & Yasmin personally comes out to meet you and adds to the experience of making you feel looked after. Tables adequately spaced and a calm but friendly atmosphere. Service was beautifully choreographed by the staff...and I do mean that it is an art to move so efficiently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis L
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Dennis Thanks for your kind words of encouragement and I am delighted to hear our team made a lasting impression during your stay. We sincerely hope to see you back again in the future and thanks for taking the time to post a review. Regards Brent Stander

Oulton Broad, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We stayed here two occasions, on arriving the lady on reception was really obliging in going out of her way to be of assistance. We asked if we could store our luggage as we were going on an over night cruise at Doubtful Sound, This was no problem for them, in fact the lady suggested that we leave our passports...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RogerLowestoft
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Roger Thanks for your review and words of encouragement for our staff. Please accept my sincere apologies the busy breakfast environment effected your dining experience on the 2nd day. I sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Fiordland and had a safe trip home. Regards Brent Stander

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Room 130 looks over bins and a residential street. Other rooms had lovely lake or garden views. I think were just unlucky. I would have asked to change had we been staying more than one night. The overall hotel seems nice, dinner and breakfast were both good and the staff were helpful hence the overall score.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gamp21
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Gamp21 Thanks for taking the time to review us and I am delighted to hear our staff made an impression during your stay and you enjoyed the meals with us. I apologise your room view impacted on your stay. We take all our comments seriously and use this as a tool to benchmark ourselves and strive for our goal...

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Stored our luggage whilst we did overnight Milford sound cruise at no extra charge. Rooms spacious bed very comfy. Breakfast fine. We had dinner there one night and the quality was disappointing. Fish blue cod had been deep frozen lacked flavour. Pity as this stopped us eating there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Janet Thanks for taking the time to review us and I am delighted to hear you found our team pleasant and helpful, rooms spacious and beds comfy. Please accept my sincere apologies our dinner did not meet your expectations and you left disappointed, I will follow up with our team to ensure we are consistent in our approach for...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Ground floor room overlooking lake was a good size with comfortable beds and a modern bathroom. Unfortunately the room got very warm with the sun in the afternoon and had no air conditioning so needed to open the outside door for air. Staff very friendly, service good and food in restaurant was reasonable. The buffet breakfast was very good with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mollynz2017
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Molly Thanks for taking the time to review us and I am delighted to hear our wonderful team were friendly and you enjoyed the service and breakfast. I apologise the room got warm in the afternoon and sincerely hope this did not impact on your stay too much. We sincerely hope to see you back again in the not...

Venice, Italy
Reviewed 15 January 2017

The room is a long walk from reception and disappointing to find the safe did not function due to lack of batteries. Basic household checks didn't seem to happen before we arrived. Nice selection of teas and coffees in the room but no biscuits to go with them. As soon as we arrived we had let them know one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Karen Thanks for taking the time to review us and please accept my sincere apologies the safe in you room was not working due to needing more batteries. We take all our guests comments on board to ensure we are benchmarking ourselves and I am equally disappointed to hear that the request for vegetarian meals proved frustrating due to...

Bath
Reviewed 14 January 2017

The hotel facilities are great & the service exceptional. When we needed anything, the manager sent someone to the room immediately to help us. The room is well equipped with a lovely view of the lake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swtravel
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear swtravel Thanks for taking the time to review us, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our facilities and found our southern hospitality exceptional. We sincerely hope to see you back again. Regards Brent Stander

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (209)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.9 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 24 in Te Anau
478 reviews
0.3 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 km away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 24 in Te Anau
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: ₹ 7,402 - ₹ 14,870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel And Villas Fiordland National Park
Distinction Hotel Te Anau
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#6 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get room facing the lake”
 of 5 bubbles Happy415, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High floor with lake view. There are many other rooms that are less good.”
 of 5 bubbles P2100YKstevem, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for the villa if you can afford it. These are newer, more spacious suites.”
 of 5 bubbles Slavio, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a lake view room”
 of 5 bubbles Kfrancis, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not bad but could be better”
 of 5 bubbles meileehana, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5