We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Te Anau Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Te Anau Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

341 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 286: English reviews
Start your review of Te Anau Lodge
 Click to rate
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

the rooms were nice, well spread out. very quiet location. comfortable rooms. only here for one night. the wifi was bad. didn't bother with getting it. but I would recommend people to stay here. relative close to things. short walk to the lake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoborox88
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Originally a convent that had been moved completely from its original site - an interesting history and Carl (the manager) was giving us the history on our look around this fabulous building. Loved The Library where tea/coffe are available continually, home baked cake too. Very comfortable and enjoyed a glass of wine there before heading out to dinner in Te...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Anne F It was lovely to have you stay with us and thank you for leaving us a review of your stay. We do hope the rest of your trip went well. Kind regards Karl Lamb

UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the lodge for two nights in February. The building like others have said is very quirky and has an interesting history being a former convent and then being dismantled and relocated. Although the lodge is out of town it's not too far to walk into town if you are a walker and most tourists we met at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosiedives
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Rosiedives, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely long review. We appreciate the time you have taken and are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards Karl Lamb

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Te Anau Lodge for two nights recently. It is a very interesting property being a former convent. We had a lovely spacious room with views over the garden. Karl cooks a great breakfast. There is a guest lounge with tea/coffee and cake plus wine for guests to enjoy. In Avery peaceful setting but within walking distance of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CT1810
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi CT1810, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We try hard to help guests enjoy their stay and appreciate getting your feed back. Kind regards Karl Lamb

Godstone
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Te Anau Lodge is interesting and quirky but check what rooms they have available before committing to stay. The Bishop's Retreat is basically a shed in the car park. It lacks privacy and we felt uncomfortable leaving windows open day or night. The carpet was pretty grotty, as was much the the worn furniture; they'd shoved a single bed into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca, We are sorry that your stay was not as good as you and we would have wanted it to be. The Bishops Retreat while due for a new upgrade does not have old furniture as you suggest. Being separate from the main Lodge some do find it lacks the atmosphere of the Lodge itself, however many have found...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our second visit to the Lodge was as good as our first. Our bedroom was very comfortable, with a bath and seperate shower and toilet. Delicious breakfast. Relaxing lounge area where guests catch up on what they have been up to during the day with a glass of wine or tea and coffee and home baking. Easy walking distance into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank killywhan
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi killywhan, Thank you so much for sharing a second review of the Lodge following your second stay with us. Our team at Te Anau Lodge work hard to make our guests stay enjoyable and to have guests like yourselves come back again is very rewarding. Kind regards Karl Lamb

Vancouver Island, BC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Te Anau Lodge provided comfortable accommodation in a beautiful setting. The guest lounge was thoughtfully provisioned with drinks and food and the breakfast was excellent. Karl, the manager, offered warm hospitality and lots of helpful information about Fiordland and Te Anau, as well as suggesting restaurants & places of interest to break our journey en route to Dunedin. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taihape
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Taihape, Thank you for the time you have taken to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. We hope the rest of your travels went just as well. Kind regards Karl Lamb

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We weren't quite shaw what to think about this accommodation when we arrived. We were shown through the lodge and given a brief history of the building and where to find everything and where breakfast was going to be served. The room was meticulously clean and the bed was super comfortable. The next morning we met Karl who was super...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fambamfive
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Fambamfive, Thank you for the lovely review you have left us we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Karl Lamb

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All looks nice and cosy in the main house of the Te Anau Lodge: old wooden furnitures, lovely library with free drinks and cakes. And therefore we had booked this accomodation. Unfortunately the owner put us into the Bishops Retreat which is in a small hut outside the main building. Maybe for some it is more intimate, but you could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swindegger
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi swindegger, We are sorry to read your review and that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are also disappointed that you never took the time to talk with the manager about anything you have put here. Firstly we do not put people into rooms, the guests have either selected their room themselves online or have had...

kent
Reviewed 21 January 2017

This is a lovely place to stay a relaxing lodge where you are made to feel at home. It is very interesting to read about its history. Lovely breakfast with home made muffins every morning. Just a short walk to town. Enjoy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neighboursKent
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi neighboursKent Thank you for taking the time in the midst of your trip to leave us a review, we really appreciate that. we do hope the rest of your travels in New Zealand goes well. Kind regards Karl Lamb

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
2.2 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.6 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
352 reviews
1.5 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
1.4 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 24 in Te Anau
478 reviews
1.6 km away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 24 in Te Anau
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the genuine warmth of traditional hospitality in the relaxed and tranquil environment of our 1936 relocated former convent, in one of New Zealand's most scenic locations- stunning Fiordland.We proudly promote our 9 rooms as being a mix of historic charm, combined with modern convenience, luxury and comfort. Based on 7 acres, yet only 15 minutes walking time to Te Anau town centre you`ll enjoy our secluded location, and appreciate all activities in town with ease. Take time to enjoy the little additions we`ve provided to make your stay memorable. Enjoy a game of giant garden chess, listen to the water fountain in our pond while reading a book on our 2 person swing seat, soak up the sunshine in our private gazebo, curl up next to the fireplace in the Lounge Library, and enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony overlooking the estate.Above all else you`ll find the level of interaction with your host, and the friendly staff, one of the most memorable aspects of staying in a Lodge this size.A unique accommodation experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Te Anau Lodge

Address: 52 Howden Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: ₹ 10,430 - ₹ 15,897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Anau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Anau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Hotel Te Anau
Te Anau Lodge Fiordland National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Te Anau Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Te Anau Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room, The Vestry, 'could' be noisy briefly in the evening if guests drinking and chatting in the Library.”
 of 5 bubbles 585annef, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay if the only room is the Bishop's Retreat unless you're OK staying in a brick shed in a car park. Ask for a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccap254, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had the Belfry room upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles neighboursKent, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Vestry”
 of 5 bubbles Jinny57, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not value for dollar”
 of 5 bubbles 831deniecec, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5