We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Edgewater Motel

Show Prices
#18 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Edgewater Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 148: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were bitterly disappointed with our upstairs studio room. I have never seen so many double adapters and powerboards connected. A real safety hazard. The check-in man was very friendly and helpful, the position was excellent. You just better ask for a renovated room. I should have checked TripAdvisor before choosing this motel.

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. I believe that you were travelling with the customers that posted the previous review ? You were booked in to an upstairs unit and the friendly and helpful Duty Manager carried your bags up for you which was jolly good of him as he picked up that you may struggle with the stairs and your luggage.... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This Motel is in a great location but bitterly disappointed with our room. Check in was completed by a very nice man and room seemed okay at first. TV remote did not work, heater did not work in room and the doona on the bed was the dirtiest I have ever seen. The worst Motel during our driving tour of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Moyran68
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review

It appears you were satisfied with the location of the Motel and the attention you received from the on duty Manager.The heater in the bathroom was indeed faulty and you were given a spare one until the Electrician could call and make repairs. The Bathroom heater was replaced by the time you returned from your days activities. We could find... More 

Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the two bedroom family unit, had a lovely view of the lake from the balcony. It was very clean and tidy, with good cooking facilities. Easy to walk into the main street of town for dinner as well. The staff were very friendly and gave us 10% off discount vouchers to Fiordland Cinema when I asked about... More 

Helpful?
Thank hey_miss_sj
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were lucky to be the first to stay in a very tastefully renovated unit - very nice indeed. All of the rooms are being progressively updated. The price is good, the staff are very friendly and welcoming. Undercover parking was available for our motorcycles. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank GandES
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic location across lake...very clean.....walking distance to town centre....friendly staff.....highly recommended....great convenient parking....nothing to complain about...accommodating for car storage during overnight Sound cruise

Helpful?
Thank papayahead
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our property. Delighted you enjoyed the facilities,location and the friendly Staff. More 

Glenorchy
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Great place to stay. Easy walking distance from restaurants and shopping. Helpful staff and tours pick you up from the motel. What could be easier. Great views too. I recommend Real Journeys tour company. Brilliant guides very knowledgeable

Helpful?
Thank Heather4243
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review

Lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay at Edgewater and the Tour also. Thanks for your feedback More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights to do the doubtful sound, they're were renovations taking place on some rooms and our rooms were over booked. The manager had us upgraded to a cottage which actually worked out perfectly and catered for the correct bedding type we had requested. Our cottage was beautifully renovated and had a lovely garden outside area. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Telecia L
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Was booked into this motel as part of a self drive trip around New Zealand. The photos on the website did not represent what we got. The bathroom was awful..tiny tin sink..small mirror and shower. The bathroom was from the 60's . Just like my grandmothers. The tv remote couldn't turn on the TV. Masking tape on the side helped... More 

Helpful?
Thank ijmckinlay
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review

Most unfortunate that you were disappointed with your stay. Always helpful if you let us know at the time of stay if appliances are not performing as they should so we can remedy immediately. We had not identified (on daily cleaning and checking) that there was any problem with the heater or bathroom ventilation. You would have noticed during your... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Great welcoming accommodation. Value for money. Not far from town centre and a great place to visit Te Anau. And it has free wifi . Few great place to visit nearby such as Milford sound and glow worms caves

Helpful?
Thank Piyush M
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016

My family & I stayed here during the last summer break before & in between a couple of hikes we did in Fiordland. Located in a handy spot opposite the lake & a short walk to the town centre & Department of Conservation headquarters. Amenities are basic & clean, with everything you'd need to cook yourself a meal. Staff were... More 

Helpful?
Thank NatOvc

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.7 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
443 reviews
0.1 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Edgewater Motel

Address: 52 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: ₹ 6,032 - ₹ 16,039 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Edgewater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Te Anau
Edgewater Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Edgewater Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Two bedroom unit was upstairs but access was not an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles hey_miss_sj, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms upstairs provide more privacy, but be aware there are only stairs to go upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles NatOvc, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“all rooms face the same way”
 of 5 bubbles 862sally, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Noopswondr, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All room are the same ..all excellent”
 of 5 bubbles wittsNz, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay