We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Balmoral Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Balmoral Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Balmoral Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 148: English reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Nice peaceful spot with great views, close to town, modern well presented large room with big on suite, friendly hosts, we had a great time, highly recommended! View over queenstown was magnificent with the remarkables on the left, gondola on the right and earnslaw steam ship sailing down the lake in front

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yeebouy
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I throughly enjoyed my stay at Balmoral Lodge.It has amazing views, is a 5 minute walk to downtown Queenstown, friendly hosts and beautiful en-suite rooms. I would definitely stay again. It is hands down a 5 star service!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ClaireWhitham
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Balmoral Lodge was a bit tricky to find from the street as the nav man we had was trying to take us past on the opposite side of the road. I think some additional signage would have fixed that. The owner greeted us on arrival and showed us through the accommodation. After some of the places we stayed in, this...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LoganX6
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This place was sensational! We struggled to find the entrance (it's on the hill side of the street) but once we did- it was well worth the effort The owners were very warm and friendly. The bedrooms were well sized and very well appointed. The living area was comfortable! Should I return to Queenstown, I will also look to return...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddaff78
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at Balmoral Lodge for a week in December. Such a beautiful place to make your base. The room was well equipped,clean and well serviced and the owners attended to our every need. They were helpful and informative and they definitely gave us the kind of advice and guidance which added so much to our time in Queenstown. Amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Al-Meldrum
Palmetto, Florida
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were travelling with another couple and booked the two bedroom suite. The rooms were excellent and the living room/kitchen area was roomy with a great view of the lake/mountains/city. Outdoor seating in good weather would be a plus. Although you are very close to the heart of Queenstown, it is a hike up the hill, so I would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My stay here was awful. On my first night the mattress was so saggy my back hurt the next day. I woke at 8 am to the sound of the owners upstairs having a domestic. When I politely approached the owner about the noise and the bed I was treated very rudely. Rather than trying to help she became aggressive....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TotiHepburn
arrowtownpub, Owner at Balmoral Lodge, responded to this review

CLAIR , you booked a 7 day NON REFUNDABLE STAY AT A VERY DISCLOUNTED RATE for the 7 days and were specifically told that if you booked it there would be no refund , as we only have 1 unit. you rang me back a second time and confirmed the booking giving me your credit card for payment. That unit...

Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Had a very romantic weekend away with my girlfriend, the service couldn't be better, soak in the spa bath after skiing was amazing with beautiful hot water. The views were spectacular. Cis and Les's hospitality was superb this is a very special place and we will definitely return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jono S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon. We really enjoyed the homely feel to this place. The warm welcome we were given and the smell of freshly cooked food of a morning was great. The room was good - great view of Queenstown and the lake when it wasn't cloudy. Very clean rooms in a great location -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NicolaRRR
Uruguay
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This B&B is a fantastic one in Queenstown. The place is lovely, it was the first B&B purposely built as a B&B by its owners, who are the ones welcoming you and cooking your breakfast every morning. It was like visiting in someone's house. The room we got was super lovely, with a view and very well equipped, beds comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Latitude33

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 km away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#12 of 57 in Queenstown
1,310 reviews
0.9 km away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.9 km away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
1,289 reviews
0.6 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
2,972 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Balmoral Luxury Lodge is situated on Queenstown hill just 800 metres to the town centre. All rooms are spacious with luxury bed linen & have ensuite bathrooms, coffee & tea making facilities, toiletries, bathrobes & Flat Screen TV, Sky TV, Fridge. Every room has stunning panoramic lake & mountain views. Free Broadband internet access. Laundry facilities & free off street parking, 5 minutes easy walk downtown 10 minutes walk back, Complimentary snacks in room on arrival.Four Star Plus. Gracious Kiwi Hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge

Address: 24 York Street, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: ₹ 19,289 - ₹ 24,255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmoral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Balmoral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Balmoral Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Need a car If you are not keen on a short walk to town, return trip is uphill.”
 of 5 bubbles Places2see01, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“all the rooms are great.”
 of 5 bubbles carolO3816EA, 31 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Though close to town this apartment is not somewhere I'd walk to/from unless you liked steep hill climbing. With a mix-aged group - there were five in our group - it was nice to have the youngest child sleeping close by in the living room while the adult kids had their own separate space. The bed in the living room was sooooo comfy but it did limit the living space for the family. Separate ensuite for the master suite was brilliant.”
 of 5 bubbles RaewynE_12, 6 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Speak to the owners and they will ensure you get the most appropriate room for your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles LoganX6, 22 Apr 2014 | Read review
“two room suite was roomy and allowed easy entry to lodge”
 of 5 bubbles 449jerryl, 26 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5