We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Sheep Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Black Sheep Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

443 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Black Sheep Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 396: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Everything was fine but the kitchen gets crowded during dinner time and it is very small considering the capacity of the hostel. The shower for ladies is only available at ground floor and quite inconvenient if you stay on the second floor. You have to hire the cutleries at $10 but is refundable upon returning. Do book your room online...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray X
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Ray, thank you for giving us the review. We apologize for the undergoing renovation of our kitchen. The management decided to improve the kitchen so guests can enjoy it more. We would like to let you know that we have toilets and showers for men and women in all the levels of the hostel, so each floor has an...

Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

The place itself is not so bad, with nice hot tub and lounge room. But the good things stop there, with an extremely small kitchen, where you don't have any plates or coups (you need to pay a deposit), packed and with unconfortable and small beds. The staff is friendly thou but a little strict, so if you check out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riccardo Z
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Riccardo, thank you for the review. It is good to know you liked our free spa pool and cozy lounge. Our kitchen is under renovation at the moment because comments from our guests are being valued by the hostel. It is important for us that our guests will enjoy all the facilities we have so we constantly improving all...

Reviewed 5 June 2016

The first stay was half year ago and was great. The recent turns out a diminishing experience that the washrroms cleaning has to be done at night 9 ish which I dun think is usual. The hostel has an alcohol control policy which prohibits alcohol consumption after 8.30pm

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chew L
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Your review is important to us, we apologize if you felt uncomfortable on our cleaning hours. The cleanliness of our facilities are really important to us so we have staffs in the morning and night that is in charge to keep the hostel clean. We have toilets in all levels of the hostel that is...

Reviewed 29 May 2016

The hostel has a warm family feel. excellent staff with firm but reasonable structure. a beautiful cosy common room and bathrooms are always tidy. I have enjoyed my weekly stay. recommend it for anybody.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _F6623CB
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

We are happy to receive the high ratings you have given us. Thank you for taking time to give us feedback. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay in our hostel. We really prioritize cleanliness at all times here at The Black Sheep. Thank you for the recommendation and letting others know how good the experience was. We will...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

We were a group booking who left The Black Sheep two days into our seven day stay. We have stayed in 20+ New Zealand hostels in a mixture of long term and short term hostels and we all agree that this has to be the worst hostel we have ever stayed in. Staff seem to be polite and professional. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, we would like to thank you for the feedback you have given to our hostel. Your suggestions will be valued as much as how we value guests here. We give importance on how you see us and find ways on how to improve. We are constantly improving our hostel, in fact our kitchen is undergoing renovations now. We...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 April 2016

This is a nice and clean hostel with comfortable beds. All the staff are helpful and friendly, initially booked in by a lady called Emma who gave a discounted rate for long termers and explained that many others at the hostel are long termers. The kitchen area could be bigger, but overall this is one of my favourite hostels in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pwm710
mj20012015, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments for the Black Sheep.Our hostel with its prime location and being just few minutes’ walk to town surely made it easier for you to enjoy Queenstown. We are constantly improving our hostel and we are going to extend our kitchen to enhance customer experience. We offer to everyone all the promos we currently have...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

Second booking here, the first one the room was double booked - they apologised over the phone, but making other arrangements late was annoying. Potentially the fault of booking.com? Asked for extra 3pc on British visa debit after transaction was already made. Wanted payment on the same card for $1.71 rather than cash, which was a bit awkward. Just for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hermesborough
mj20012015, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for booking with us for the second time. We are glad you liked the view that we have in the hostel and we are really close to town. The bookings that we receive from Booking.com shall be cancelled through Booking.com too. We wanted to help you but we based our collections on the vouchers from the guest. We...

Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 April 2016

We stayed for two nights in a private cabin, the room was clean, warm and modern, tea/coffee facilities were a nice touch! The check in procedure is very professional and the staff seem well trained and willing to help with anything you need. The location could not be better, with a very short walk down to the central township. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amywhittington
mj20012015, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. It is always nice to know we have exceeded customer satisfaction. We will always strive to offer the best for our guests. We are happy to receive commendations from our guests. Thank you for the recommendation and letting others know how good the experience was. We will continue what we do best. We made...

Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

Nice, tidy rooms. Comfy beds. Two bathrooms with many toilets. Good and free unlimited wifi. Free computer access. Nice, helpful staff. Real close to town centre. Kitchen was very small and full of flies...the bins missed lids. Common room as same as the reception, so it was very busy and noisy sometimes.. Otherwise good place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovisa E
mj20012015, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback we noticed you are very keen contributor to Trip Advisor and your comment is important to us. We make sure to provide a high quality of clean standard rooms and we are glad you appreciated it. Nice to know our friendly staffs provided excellent customer service during your stay which...

Reviewed 7 April 2016

Definitively a place to recommend. I was planning on staying 1 night, end out I stayed 3 nights and recommended it to 2 of my friends. Good location, not even 5 minutes from downtown. Nice vibe in the hostel, spacious and cozy lounge. Computer available onsite, the Wifi is definitively one of the best I've seen so far and I've...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie T
mj20012015, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Marjorie, it was our pleasure having you as our guest. You had too many nice words for us and we are grateful for the high ratings and good reviews. Our hostel with its prime location and being just few minutes’ walk to town surely made it easier for you to enjoy Queenstown. We are constantly improving our hostel and...

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 km away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 90 in Queenstown
422 reviews
0.8 km away
Bumbles Backpackers
Bumbles Backpackers
#18 of 90 in Queenstown
203 reviews
0.3 km away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
0.6 km away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#21 of 90 in Queenstown
187 reviews
0.5 km away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 90 in Queenstown
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for a home away from home? The Black Sheep Queenstown Backpackers, located beside the historic Queenstown Gardens, offers guests a convenient place to stay in the heart of the stunning alpine resort. Our central location is one of the sunniest in town and offers 360° view of the stunning local mountain ranges including the famous Remarkables. Located just a short stroll from town, The Black Sheep has a lot to offer guests including: An awesome team of friendly staff, comfortable rooms and exceptional facilities – did we mention we have a spa pool? If you are looking for affordable accommodation in Queenstown and think staying in a relaxing and homely environment after busy days spent exploring the 'Adventure Capital of the World' sounds ideal, look no further, we've got you covered at The Black Sheep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Sheep Backpackers

Address: 13 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: ₹ 1,565 - ₹ 5,248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Black Sheep Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Sheep Backpackers Hotel Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Sheep Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Easy access to the city. Walking distance with picturesque view.”
 of 5 bubbles mdazmi14, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Couples cabins out back for extra privacy was great.”
 of 5 bubbles skylit2016, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a different room if they offer you room no.4 (twin room)”
 of 5 bubbles LimSharon, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“my favourites are units 13 and 22...”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Just avoid please.”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5