We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Visit hotel website
Traveller (862)
Room & Suite (258)
Dining (34)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Silver level
Located in one of the most picturesque settings in the world, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside combines a stunning lakefront and in-town position with attentive professional service. Just 30 seconds from the cosmopolitan town centre and Queenstown's iconic activities, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside is the perfect hotel to start your Queenstown experience.The fresh, modern hotel offers 273 accommodation rooms with spectacular alpine, garden and lake views. Each contemporary styled room features LCD TV, mini bar, 24 hour room service, broadband internet and private balconies. Conveniently located on the mezzanine level, Elements Restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast and an innovative New Zealand influenced a la carte dinner menu featuring an eclectic mix of modern dishes using the best of New Zealand produce. Guests can also choose to relax and re-energise in our ground floor Elements Cafe & Bar which features comfortable lounge furniture and a double sided schist stone fireplace.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Paid Internet
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Park View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
3,540Reviews
938Photos
49Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,423
  • 1,599
  • 400
  • 85
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This hotel is in a great location right by the Lakeside in Queenstown. The rooms are a little small but nice and clean and the beds are very comfy. I would recommend this hotel for its location particularly but also it’s amenities such as onsite laundry and very helpful staff.
Read more
We've stayed at the Novotel Lakeside regularly for several years, & always found it comfortable & welcoming. We've had the benefit of upgrades here over recent years due to the loyalty scheme which has served us well both here & at other Accor hotels.
Read more
Response from GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Freedom48300360250 Thanks for your positive review and for staying with us again - our regular and return guests are clearly one measure of how we are doing in looking after our guests so it always nice to hear when our guests have returned. Hope to see you again soon Regards Jim Moore General Manager
Read more
Room although over the road was quiet but servicing was never done before late afternoon except one day when we requested a morning service.cleaning seemed to revolve around the tour parties who also blocked reception and public areas. Dining room was not disabled friendly -
Read more
Response from GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Responded 6 days ago
Dear 4wheelsonmywagon Thanks for your comments - it is disappointing to hear that a few aspects did not meet your expectations. In Feb at around the time you were with us there are a few major events which attract tour groups - whether it is Chinese New Year, local NZ holidays or cruise ships into Milford sound. This is not necessarily typical of all times of the year and is not unique to Novotel as Queenstown as a rule is busy over these times. We acknowledge your comment about the restaurant and agree that the access is not friendly to anyone in a wheel chair. We try to manage this by access through another lift but this is not ideal. The restaurant did meet the local building code when it was built but regulations have also moved on and when we complete major works again this will be enhanced as it is high high on the list of areas we would like to improve. We do try to find satisfactory solutions to the issue and the team is very aware of trying to help any guests who find the stairs difficult to manage. Thanks for your comments. We do hope that you enjoyed Queenstown. Regards Jim Moore General Manager
Read more
Have stayed here before. Sadly didn't get a view but it really didn't matter as it's right on the lake and this place offers everything from an amazing buffet breakfast, fantastic bar area with beautiful rose garden, excellent a1 cleaning staff. Rooms spacious with shampoo,
Read more
Response from GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Navigator821922 Thanks for your review - good to hear that we offer everything that you are looking for - hopefully we will see you again soon. Regards Jim Moore General Manager
Read more
This is the third time we have stayed at the Novotel Lakeside. We enjoy the location of the property and it’s proximity to town. The rooms are clean but compact. Unfortunately we had music being played outside our room at night which was not ideal for our youngest to go to
Read more
Response from GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Responded 6 days ago
Dear travel_me_happy99 Thanks for your comments and feedback about your stay. Not sure about the music outside your room - in February on a Friday we have had a live entertainer for 2 hours playing easy listening music which has been popular and outside of the that we have had relatively quiet music when the bar has been open - this normally is shut down by 9pm. If this is what interrupted you we are sorry for any inconvenience - not sure if you were in for more than 1 night ( but assume you were there for a few with the rate you have mentioned). I would hope that the team would have been happy to move your rooms if this was possible as we do want all of our guests to enjoy the experience. We acknowledge your comment about being sent an upgrade email. This is not a bidding process but gives our guests an opportunity to reconsider the room type they have booked, add an additional service at a discounted price such as a cheeseboard and local bottle of wine. We understand that our guests are here on holiday and as you get closer to your stay may decide to add services to make your stay even more enjoyable. They are just discounted offers and there is certainly no compunction to purchase them if they are not of interest. Thanks for staying with us - we do hope to see you again. We do have a few other Hotels in Queenstown so we hope that you will come back to see one of us in the near future. If you do come back to Novotel and you wish to contact me I will make sure that the room allocated meets your needs and that you are well looked after. Regards Jim Moore General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
most of the view is the hotel rooms
Vista do Hotel
Photo provided by managementNovotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Lakeside Room
view from our room
PreviousNext
12345652
Dear Anthony A Thanks for your questions. Most of the rooms themselves in the Hotel are the same - the difference is that of the views from the room. The Alpine Views tend to be the higher floors of our 4 storey building - looking over the town and to the Queenstown Gondola. They are not looking into parking lot however the rooms that are on the Earl Street side of the building do overlook the street but being on the higher floors are not directly looking at the cars parked there. We do not market lakeview rooms - we do have lakeside rooms that look out to the lake overlooking the park to the foreshore of the lake - in Summer these rooms have much of the view of the lake obscured by trees - but they are still popular - being on the front of the Hotel they over look the grassed area to the lake and are a good place to watch the world go by. In winter these rooms have a great view of the lake. In regards to upgrades we try hard to look after our Loyalty Members and as a Gold or Platinum member we will try to upgrade - but the Hotel stays busy most of the year and as we do not have that many Lakeside rooms they are often booked with people paying for the upgrade. Our suggestion is always that you book the room you will be happy with and if you get an upgrade that is a bonus. Regardless our team is here to try to look after you and we will do what we can to make sure this happens. I hope that this helps - regards Jim Moore General Manager
0 votes
We stayed in a room facing the Bob Peak , we could see the gandola going up and down and the top of the peak. Our room was not at the front so not sure if rooms up front would have to face the parking. We could see the open sitting area between their 2 wings below our room. The lake is a few meters across the hotel property. So I assume that lake view rooms would have a good view. However, I don’t think it’s worth spending a fortune, because Queenstown is so beautiful that you would probably be outdoors more than indoors if the weather is good and if you are not on your honeymoon 😜
1 vote
Show all answers
Dear Danglesg2 Apologies for a slow response to this - having been away on annual leave it appears that you did not get a response so I am sorry this is the case. The Hotel recommends a couple of options - self parking at Wilsons carpark where we can sell exclusive 24 hour access cards for $18. The alternative in the same park is $4/hour for the public and allows only 1 entry where ours is multi entry. The other option is a full valet service which is $25 per day - this allows you to drop the car to us at any time and for us to return it any time that you would want it. The parking meters in front of the Hotel are free after 9pm and until 8am - but if you happen to leave your car outside of these times without paying you will get a fine. These options are the best - there are other car parks around the town but for security and convenience we believe these are the best options for our guests. Regards Jim Moore General Manager
1 vote
Show all answers
Yes that is correct - apologies for the delay in responding. We do have a commercial service as well.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345610
"Not a lake view party area is outside. High floor over road surprisingly quiet"
"For good views lakeside is best but may be noisy"
"Ask for a quiet room if you need to (although you might sacrifice a lake view)."
"Splurge for a room facing the lake, with a balcony. You won't regret it!"
"If you are not happy with your room, simply advise management."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$ 152 - US$ 312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
novotel queenstown lakeside hotel queenstownnovotel gardens queenstownqueenstown novotel
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionQueenstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
273
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing