We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,921 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,806: English reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in superior partial lake view room. Good value for money. we had a great view and a very large bed. Short walk to the centre. Only bad point is the shower: my partner is 6ft4in and I'm 5ft9in we both had to crouch down to get under the shower! The shower head only moved left to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beccadeca
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Beccadeca, I was pleased to read your stay with us was an overall positive one, I do apologise for the discomfort you and your partner experienced and have passed on your comments to our maintenance team Regards, Vince

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 14 February 2015

Sadly this hotel has seen its best, the staff were very un-attentive and our luggage did not arrive to our rooms until 5 minutes before we were due to leave for dinner. Not happy to go out with the same clothes we had been in all day. The rooms were the smallest in town and the bathroom practically non existent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Heather D, I thank you for your honest feedback, and my apologies for the standard of hotel and services not meeting your expectations, I have taken your comments on board for discussion with our team to further improve our product. Regards, Vince

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 February 2015

We recently stayed at the Rydges hotel in Queenstown and experienced both positives and negatives. The location and views from the room and the restaurant are excellent. The rooms and most public areas are tired, and the rooms lack air-conditioning with the hotel providing a fan on request. The standard of housekeeping and outside maintenance was not great. On the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller195
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear avidtraveller195, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and for the housekeeping detail our team failed to pickup, please note I have passed on your comments to our team and to ensure our standards are kept consistently high. Regards, Vince

Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2015

We stayed here for one night on arrival from the UK just to crash and get some sleep. The reception was business like and we were pointed in the direction of our room. It was on the third floor. Quiet it was not, noise from the corridor, room service staff knocking on the door, noise from the road outside. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dbonners
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Dbonners, Thank for your feedback and for highlighting the issues you experienced during your stay which I have passed on to our team for action, in regards to CC surcharge, unfortunately most hotels in NZ apply the charge. Regards, Vince

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 February 2015

The decor and furniture are a little jaded but the room was spacious, clean and comfortable, we were on the 10th floor and had a great view of the lake. The staff were very friendly and helpful and parking on the 7th floor wasn't a problem for us. Breakfast was very good and we had a table by the window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank p0mmygirl
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear p0mmygirl, Thanks for posting you review, I was delighted to read you enjoyed the stunning views of Lake Wakatipu and the mountains, also happy to hear our hospitality met with your approval. Regards, Vince

Bangalore
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Rooms are spacious and have a jaded look. It seems like a big hotel and very inviting. Be careful - Google Maps leads you to a parking lot that is on the 7th floor and not the front of the hotel. Of course, their staff are not caring as mentioned by others and they did not help with luggage. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DNPRAHLAD
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear DNPRAHLAD, Thanking you for your feedback and I was pleased to read you enjoyed the fantastic views from your room, I do apologise for the fact that we were not able to meet your expectations in relation to the age and condition of the hotel and the rooms which are not self contained units, However we have taken your...

Radolfzell am Bodensee, Germany
Reviewed 8 February 2015

The hotel looks very inviting from the outside so you expect a minimum of good service,the housekeeping is friendly and helpful unfortunately the same can not be said about the breakfast staff,when asked on the behalf of a fellow traveller who happens to be a vegatarian if there was some cheese available for breakfast the reply was not a simple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ledoute
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear ledoute, Thanks for your review of our hotel, I apologise for the issues you highlighted and I have passed on your comments to our food & beverage manager and our maintenance manager to follow up. Regards, Vince

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2015

We stayed here twice during our recent trip to NZ. The first time in the cheaper back rooms (perfectly functional) and the second time in one of their superior suites, overlooking the lake. The staff were consistently helpful. Our plans were changed last minute before we arrived due to a tour cancelling, and the staff were incredibly helpful - storing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taezar
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Taezar, Thanking you for taking the time out to post your positive review, I was delighted to read our concierge team were more than happy to assist and that your stay was overall perfect! I will certainly pass on your kind words to the team! We hope to see you back in stunning Queenstown Regards, Vince

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 February 2015

Hotel is very tired in 70/80's way - and others have comments on lifts n carpets etc. And now after two days of hoped for R&R I leave here tired due to lack of sleep. Beds are comfortable - but noisy guests (out of control of hotel) put paid to good nights sleep. There is NO soundproofing in the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amr100
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear amr100, Thanks for your feedback, disapointed to read your stay with us was below your expectations, I apologise for the noise issues you encountered, your comments have been passed on and discussed with our night team for action. Regards, Vince

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 6 February 2015

There was very limited parking. We arrived the hotel from Dunedin (which is around 200 km drive). At the check-in counter, we were told to look for the public parking before returning to check-in. Front desk staff was not helpful at all. He kept saying first in first serve parking. The hotel should have stated this limitation in hotel agent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Tina, Thanks for your brief review, I apologise for any miscomunication regarding parking issues from our team and via our booking agents, our websites state 'free parking is possible on site', However I do appreciate your comments regarding the wording, which will be looked into further. Regards, Vince

590 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (577)
Viewed
View from Room (114)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (129)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
3:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (176)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
2,935 reviews
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 57 in Queenstown
1,351 reviews
1.1 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
6.1 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: ₹ 7,980 - ₹ 20,190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here. Ever.”
 of 5 bubbles R8384IAmatthews, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to get the corner unit, views will be much better and the exit door is right outside which takes you onto a large rooftop.”
 of 5 bubbles Narra72, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lake view rooms are lovely, though it does sound as if some have not yet been renovated.”
 of 5 bubbles Nijamape, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Perhaps ask if there are any renovated rooms?? Or more modern rooms?”
 of 5 bubbles TruS_13, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for balcony you will not regret the view”
 of 5 bubbles 800annao, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay