We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,918 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,803: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Queenstown, New Zealand must be amongst the top five most beautiful tourist resorts in the world and the view from the lakeview rooms of the Rydges Hotel in Queenstown is truly phenomenal. Although this hotel is now old and tired, the view and the proximity to the village makes staying there an absolute pleasure. Our rooms were large and comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan S, Thank you for sharing your positive review, I was very pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of our hospitality and the stunning outlook of our hotel. I will certainly pass on your comments to the entire team! Regards, Vince

Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 March 2015

We had to have three goes at rooms when we checked in and stayed one night instead of two. Carpets and curtains were ripped, heavy smoking odour prevailed. The staff were very nice but it showed they were embarrassed by the comments of guests. The pricing should be halved to reflect the quality as I booked on line and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rodkpage
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear rodkpage, Thank you for your honest review, I was disappointed to read the room you were allocated did not meet your expectations, the issues you highlighted have been discussed with our housekeeping and maintenance teams for immediate action, Regards, Vince

Maclean, Australia
Reviewed 16 March 2015

having stayed in many Rydges , we know what to expect, and booked a suite, 9 months in advance. On arrival, we were allocated our room. It has been flooded and had a huge fan drying the room out, and smelt pretty bad. We were shown alternative room after alternative room for an hour, to be told that there was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bruce_and_Megan
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Bruce_and_Megan, Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you have raised during your stay. Disappointed to read you left our hotel with a sour taste, I would be happy to discuss further should you wish to contact myself. Regards, Vince

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 16 March 2015 via mobile

We arrived at Rydges and found the rooms to be small, but adequate. Our view of the lake from the fourth floor was lovely !! The bed is also very comfortable !! An easy walk into town means no hills to climb after dinner when you have had one too many glasses of wine !!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel I
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Rachel I, Thank you for sharing your positive experience, it was great to hear you enjoyed our hospitality and also our hotels stunning outlook over Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables. Hope to see you back soon! Regards, Vince

Campbelltown, Australia
Reviewed 15 March 2015

Super comfortable and really close to town, 15 minutes walking distance at most I'd say. Beautiful view from the normal room. Wifi was expensive when I went which was probably the only downside. Bed was super comfortable. 9/10 would do again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelDan93
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear TravelDan93, Thanking you for sharing your positive feedback, Happy to read you enjoyed the stunning views, I apologise for the WiFi, however since your last stay we have introduced free WiFi for hotel guests across all our hotels. Hope to see you back in Queenstown! Regards, Vince

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 March 2015

- As the 'normal " rooms were booked out we stayed in a room with two bunk beds. The rooms although clean were very dated and the bathroom small, although ok for one night. It was a trek to get to the room ....... 2 lifts and a walk between buildings. The best thing about this hotel was the location......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Sue B, Thanks for your feedback, great to hear you enjoyed our hotels stunning location overlooking Lake Wakapitu and the Remarkables, hopefully next time you can experience our spacious deluxe Lakeview rooms. Regards, Vince

Ocean Grove, Australia
Reviewed 13 March 2015

The location was great with only a few minutes flat walk to town. The views were beautiful. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and we had good sleep for the 4 nights we were there. The hotel is very much in need of updating. Our room was very dated and we paid for a suite which was just one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa F
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Lisa F, Thanking you for your review, I was pleased to read you enjoyed the stunning outlook from our hotel. In relation to check in times, standard hotel policiy check in times are 2pm and checkouts are 11am, however, should we have the rooms available and ready, we would be able to fulfil the early check in requests. Regards...

braidwood
Reviewed 12 March 2015

We had a wonderful view from our room however it did take a one hundred metre walk and two lifts to get there. Room very comfortable and beds very comfy. Bathroom quiet dated. There was a fan on in the bathroom that did not turn off, but ok if door kept closed. The room service was ok. Shane the concierge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gaysie2013
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Dear gaysie2013, Thanking you for your feedback, I apologise for the minor inconveniences you encountered during your stay, re expensive drinks prices, our prices are in line with local venues and we also run daily happy hours from 5pm – 7pm Regards Vince

england
Reviewed 12 March 2015

booked this hotel after reading reviews. All I can say is that people's idea of a good hotel are not like what I would call a good hotel. We were given a room that was akin to a large shoe box, I know I paid for a bigger one online but I was told we are fully booked !. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Agbami
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Agbami, Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you have raised during your stay. Please be assured that I will be following with our housekeeping department and we do appreciate your feedback. Regards Vince

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Stayed here with my wife and parents in two adjoining rooms with great lake views. Was really impressed. The location is great. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the room was clean and spacious. Had breakfast the next morning in the restaurant which again was very nice and had great views out towards Queenstown and the lake. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex_C55555
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Alex_C55555, Thank you for sharing your positive experience, it was great to hear you enjoyed all aspects of our hospitality and also our hotels stunning outlook over Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables. I will definitely pass on your comments to our team. Regards, Vince

590 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (577)
Viewed
View from Room (114)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (129)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
3:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (176)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
2,929 reviews
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 57 in Queenstown
1,349 reviews
1.1 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
6.1 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: ₹ 7,965 - ₹ 20,218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lake view rooms are lovely, though it does sound as if some have not yet been renovated.”
 of 5 bubbles Nijamape, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Perhaps ask if there are any renovated rooms?? Or more modern rooms?”
 of 5 bubbles TruS_13, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for balcony you will not regret the view”
 of 5 bubbles 800annao, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If traveling soon request a room towards the front so you have a view, we looked at a concrete verandah.”
 of 5 bubbles courtneyw377, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the lake view rooms have a great of the mountains and the lake, but higher level rooms give you a better view”
 of 5 bubbles steveonz44, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay