We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

596 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 572: English reviews
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2016

This was our first accommodation in a month long trip around South Island and so was going to set the tone for the whole holiday. We were not disappointed. Nugget Point is a hotel which clearly has fallen on hard times recently and I believe is under new management who really are doing their best to get things back to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VenSir
NuggetPointHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear VenSir Thank you so much for your review - it's always fantastic to hear our team being complimented and the staff will be delighted to hear your feedback....our waiter is suitably embarrassed at the misunderstanding, but thanks you for letting him keep the more than generous tip! The artwork throughout our hotel is by celebrated local artist Deirdre Copland,...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 January 2016

You can't go wrong with Queenstown as a rule, but this place is just amazing for a stay. We stayed in two places on our trip there. We choose the popular touristy place for our first night and this for our second. The hotel is a 5 minute drive to CBD, and what an amazing drive it is! Yes some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faisal M
NuggetPointHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Faisal M Thank you for your fantastic review! We do firmly believe the unique character of Nugget Point is what makes it so memorable - I'm delighted to hear you also enjoyed all of its quirks and charms. We couldn't agree more - the drive into Queenstown is short, but spectacular - a particular highlight is the bridge across...

below the snow line, unfortunately
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Stopped for one night at the beginning of a bit of a road trip around the south of South Island, and as a bit of a treat I booked two executive river-view suites for my wife and me and our daughter and son-in-law. The two rooms were slightly different in layout, but had a couple of striking similarities. They were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank youspurs1
NuggetPointHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear youspurs1 Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments - they are very much appreciated! So pleased to hear our renovations did not intrude too much on your stay - we have tried our best to complete these necessary improvements with minimum disruption. It sounds like you stayed in our Executive River View Suites -...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

We spent our last night here at nugget point. Not a bad hotel, staff try very hard to make you happy. The room was with a view over the river & balcony. Spacious & comfortable, older style. The complaints I have read about the wifi are correct, it works intermittently if you are lucky in the room. The wifi in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbug64
NuggetPointHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jbug64 Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review - your comments regarding the high quality of service provided by the staff here are very much appreciated by the whole team, who work hard to ensure that our guests leave the hotel happy. The wi fi has recently been upgraded again to the highest speed available...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2016

The hotel is situated along Arthur’s point road (5 mins drive out of Queenstown) and overlooks the Shotover river. If you get a riverview room you will have a fantastic view of the river and the Shotover jets that regularly come hooning up and down the river (our room had two separate balconies with table and chairs with spectacular views)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JKEELAN
NuggetPointHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JKEELAN Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review! It sounds like you really enjoyed the unique style of the hotel, which is great to hear - it really is an unusual property, there's nowhere else quite like it in Queenstown. The beautiful artwork we display is by popular local artist Deirdre Copland -...

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 January 2016

My husband and I treated ourselves to a night away in Queenstown to be left quite disappointed by the hotel. An extremely important feature of any accommodation for us is wifi due to work commitments, which was advertised as 'free wifi in all rooms', perfect, so we booked. After checking in I went back to reception to ask how to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan912016
NuggetPointHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, which we do rely on to ensure our service is continually improving. Our hotel is, as you know, a fairly unique property in a remote location, which unfortunately makes it difficult for us to implement fast and effective wifi throughout the hotel. Wifi is free of charge and...

Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

We spent one night at this hotel. Were met by a young English lad who carried our huge suitcases to the room. He was good . Reddish hair and beard. We wanted a Coke - no mini bar.?very strange., Bought drinks from the bar only to find fridge not working. Later the wheels came off the bed!!! The shower was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mespey
NuggetPointHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mespey Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, which we always appreciate - I'm so disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your experience here with us at the hotel. I completely understand that the issues with your bed and the fridge negatively impacted your stay and I can only apologise. There were no pre-existing...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

........ That didn't sit well with me, the rooms were large but dated, the tea and coffee was hidden in an old TV cupboard from the 70's, the shower was great if you are under 1.2m and no shelves at all to keep your amenities in the bathroom had to put on the floor, but I think it was when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
NuggetPointHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review, we do very much appreciate the feedback. I'm sorry to hear the hotel wasn't for you. We are not a new property, and while we do believe this is very much part of the hotel's charm, our old world style is not for everyone. All of our showers and...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 January 2016

Conveniently located on the route between Arrowtown and Queenstown. Great views, lovely staff, excellent restaurant. Rooms are huge and well furnished. The many distractions of QT are about a $20 cab ride away, or there is a bus service from outside. Great if you want some peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of QT.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
NuggetPointHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard E Thank you so much for your review! We really do believe, as you say, our stunning location gives you the best of both worlds. A visit to beautiful historic Arrowtown is well worth the short drive. I'll be sure to pass your compliments along to the staff and our kitchen team. Thank you again and I do...

Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

For the deal we got we were not expecting a place so fancy! We stayed two nights. Beautiful pool and spa area with fantastic views. The room was clean and well presented. Room service was right on time and staff very helpful. We loved the place and hope to come back and see it in the winter time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maddison G
NuggetPointHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maddison G Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review, it was a pleasure to have you guys stay with us. Please do come back for a winter stay - the view is spectacular when the mountains are covered in snow...plus we have fires roaring 24/7 and mulled wine on demand! Kind...

568 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (297)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Other (99)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (253)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Garden View Room (46)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
River View Room (67)
Viewed
Superior River View Suite (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
7.4 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
1,331 reviews
6.3 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
7.1 km away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
6.4 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
6.0 km away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Bodhi Tree
The Bodhi Tree
Cuisines: Asian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled at the base of Coronet Peak and overlooking the stunning Shotover River, Nugget Point Hotel is the ultimate boutique hotel in Queenstown, just a stone's throw away from shops, restaurants, bars and nightlife of central Queenstown. To complete the perfect picture, Nugget Point is just 10 minutes by car or public transport to Coronet Peak Ski Area for that very special winter getaway. The hotel boasts 36 spacious boutique rooms, accommodating up to 74 guests, and all rooms have an open plan bedroom and lounge area, ensuite bathroom, and private balcony or patio. Nugget Point Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for our discerning guests. Unwind at The Spa at Nugget Point for a truly luxurious escape, indulge in beauty and massage treatments in our beautiful spa which resembles a modern version of Roman baths whilst taking in the views of the surrounding mountain ranges and Shotover River. Then relax in the Shotover Lounge Bar for a refreshing drink or enjoy an exquisite dining experience in Birches Restaurant surrounded by awe inspiring views of the rugged Queenstown landscape. Take advantage of our Home Theatre to enjoy a unique movie experience, with your own private viewing. For the more active guest, there is a well-equipped gym, or challenge your companions to a game of tennis or squash on a private court, and avail yourself of our drying room after an enjoyable day on the ski field. Bookings necessary for these facilities and they are subject to availability at the time of booking. Nugget Point Hotel is also the perfect venue for small conference retreats and incentive groups with our luxury boardroom catering for up to 30 people, with all the modern conveniences and with breakaway rooms available during the period of the conference. For each of our guests there is something special that appeals. It may be the prospect of stretching out in a spa bath with a glass of champagne at the end of the day, or a gourmet meal in our Birches Restaurant admiring the views, or simply curled up on a couch in front of an open fire in our lounge bar with your favourite bottle of wine. One thing's for sure, at Nugget Point we've got the mix just right. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel

Address: 146 Arthurs Point Road | 146 Arthur's Point Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Nugget Point)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: ₹ 7,768 - ₹ 18,806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel Queenstown
Distinction Queenstown, Nugget Point Boutique Hotel And Spa
Nugget Point Boutique Resort
Nugget Point Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#25 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River view worth premium”
shooz57, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Mountain views were fantastic even on a rainy day!”
  • View from patio & bed
FionaS881, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Insist on a river view room.”
483norberts, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Need a car - it's 4 Km out of town in the hills. Gorgeous location and views.”
Adeliegentoo, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Doesnt matter what room you ask for there is no guarantee you will get it. Confirmat by email your room rate and booking details.”
Judya54, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5