We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Highview Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Highview Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Highview Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 277: English reviews
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2016

They charge a good hotel price but not provide the same service hotel should provide, such as cleaning room and change towers. Basically they only help with check in and collect money upfront, not much afterwards and you could even hardly find them in office. For instance, I recently stay in this "4 star" apartment for 4 nights, they did... More 

1 Thank Bob W
ZQNtraveller, General Manager at Highview Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Apartment complex, can we please point out we are not a hotel, we are an Apartment complex our guests usually like to be left alone to their adventures and servicing is listed on the booking confirmation, from our experience over the past ten years we have found most guests do not... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed in a stunning one bedroom apartment with views across the lakes to the mountains. Queenstown was buzzing over the new year period- but the apartment was a good walking distance from the centre of town that it meant that it was quiet at night. The apartment was well set up with kitchen and laundry facilities. Breakfast on the balcony... More 

1 Thank Robert T
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

We booked a 1 bed lake facing room. Although not a separate bedroom (folding door can be pulled across to separate lounge) we quite enjoyed the open plan style. The apartment was spacious and has quality fittings. The kitchen was well equipped with hob,oven,dishwasher and microwave. The bathroom contained a washer dryer and washing powder was supplied. The best aspect... More 

1 Thank PatJoGong
ZQNtraveller, General Manager at Highview Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for a very descriptive review of our Apartment complex and for taking the time to write it, it is great to hear guests as excited over the view as we get, years in it still captures your breath. Thank you for your positive comments also about not having a bath as you were allocated a room that had... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2015

We had a very comfortable 2-night stay in this spacious, fully equipped suite with floor-to-ceiling windows and balcony facing Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables. Convenient to the heart of Queenstown (10-15 minute downhill walk - but moderate uphill coming back!).

1 Thank Giljay
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

Spent 2 comfortable nights in a 2 bedroom apt. The soft bed provided restful sleep. Gorgeous view of the lake and free wifi. However, the dryer runs on steam and not electricity. Was dismayed that the washed laundry didn't get very dry after taking them out of the dryer. Had to line dry them in the balcony overnight.

Thank Caroline T
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2015

Spent three nights at this establishments, and, except for the size, it was nice. Good internet, and location, but no sink.....you have to wash your things out in the bathroom. It is a bit of a hike to town....up hill coming back. Not for those who are not used to walking. Only saw the desk clerk, but very friendly, and... More 

Thank Ed J
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed at Highview for 5 nights during a 2 week trip to south island - we stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which was easily big enough for the 3 of us with a roll out bed. Ive seen a couple of reviews mention about the 1 bedroom apartment actually being one big open plan space with a partition that... More 

Thank Adam L
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

Spacious, clean and ultra modern apartment with heated tile floors, very large bathroom that also had a combined washing machine / dryer, very comfortable king sized bed, 2 TVs, large kitchen area, large balcony with table and chairs, fantastic close views over the lake and to the mountains, access to a shared gym and switched on and very courteous front... More 

Thank Marshyak
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2015

We have just had 4 great nights in a studio unit in these apartments close to town It was well laid out with a very comfortable bed, good wardrobe and excellent well appointed bathroom. We didn't have a lake view unfortunately but our balcony had plenty of sun for the early evening "wine o'clock". The staff helped with all our... More 

Thank Steve H
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights. Good location with stunning view of Lake Wakatipu. Spacious room and well equipped room facilities. Not enough parking space is the downside and connecting wifi is another hassle as the connection kept drop out, otherwise is fine. We had a great time at Queenstown. Will definitely come back for holiday again.

Thank Ryan R

200 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (185)
View from Room (52)
Room/Suite (47)
Bathroom (13)
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Dining (3)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (15)
View from Room (2)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Dining (1)
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.0 km away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#10 of 57 in Queenstown
1,242 reviews
1.1 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
2,865 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
1,217 reviews
1.4 km away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury One & Two Bedroom Apartments overlooking Lake Wakatipu, from Queenstown Bay across the Remarkables to Walter and Cecil Peaks, watch the TSS Earnslaw steam her way across your view. A short walk from the CBD, Cafes, Restaurants and many of the local activities (or collection points) but away from the busy roads and noise. Self contained to allow that home away from home feel. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highview Apartments

Address: 66 - 70 Thompson Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Clarion Suites Highview Apartments)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: ₹ 11,432 - ₹ 30,954 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highview Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Highview Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Highview Apartments staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Highview Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a lake view room. May be a bit dearer, but you will not regret it.”
  • Early morning, rainy day (but what a view!).
  • View from the balcony (Earnslaw passing below).
 of 5 bubbles blackdog47, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for the view if you have the money”
 of 5 bubbles babskerry2000, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Highest water view room available.”
 of 5 bubbles kimbL7909UF, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The view and location are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles angry31865, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“one bedroom are a great layout and order a lake view.”
  • Lake Wakatipu at dawn Highview Apartment balcony
 of 5 bubbles hspratt6, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay