We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pounamu Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

1,337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pounamu Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,311: English reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife in 2008. Place was absolutely beautiful and luxurious. From the comfortable beds to the nice full kitchen to the gas fired fireplace, we loved it. The only disappoint by was that we had to leave the room. Seriously we could have not left the room and looked out the from window to the Remarkables!!

4Thank Brian D
Siebe, Marketing Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Brian D. Thank you for your wonderful review and we are thrilled we were able to welcome you once again to Pounamu. The views from our 1 and 2 bedroom Apartments really are stunning, ones which even we who work here are constantly in awe of. With all of our amenities – from our comfy beds to luxurious appointments,...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 November 2014

Lovely apartment, spacious clean and well appointed. Very close to centre of Queenstown and parking a good benefit The views of the lake were just stunning Whilst not the cheapest option for staying here I would return, was lovely to treat your self a little Staff were very friendly, helpful and obliging

3Thank AlisonKilvaree
Siebe, Marketing Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Alison: We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Pounamu. We take great pride in our 5 star Apartments which do have incredible views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables. Our team continually strives to make each of our Guests have amazing experiences at Pounamu and in creating lifetime memories of Queenstown. I'm sure our luxurious...

Bonny Hills, Australia
Reviewed 27 November 2014

Well appointed apartment with great views. Nice and close to the hub of activity without being right amongst it. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. If you can put up with the odd flickering downlights then this place is well worth a stay. Good value for money.

Thank susikur
Siebe, Marketing Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Susikur: Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience here at Pounamu. Our team is always available to create great memories of Queenstown and make certain you have an amazing experience in our beautiful place. We pride ourselves in our 5 star rating and our efforts at achieving an eco-friendly environment. As part of reducing our carbon footprint, we have...

Reviewed 25 November 2014

We were warmly greeted by the staff and showed to our room. After a 3 day hike on the Routeburne, we greatly enjoyed the luxurious feel of the Pounamu apartments. While it was a bit fancier than most of the places we stayed during our travels, it proved a great place to splurge a bit. We rented a studio which...

3Thank abroadtraveler
Siebe, Marketing Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Abroadtraveler: We are so delighted by your review of Pounamu and reading about your experience with us after hiking the Routeburn! The Routeburn is amazing and we are so pleased you were able to stay with us after and enjoy our comfy beds (our down toppers must have seemed even more luxurious after your tramp!). We offer many great...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the way to Dunedin. Easy to find from the airport and very friendly staff. Staff were very useful at making sure we settled in and took us to our rooms. They showed us how everything worked. The view from my studio was limited (better than expected). The room itself is very comfortable and clean with a super...

1Thank Leisuretraveller11
Siebe, Marketing Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Leisuretraveller11 We are delighted to read your review and recommendation for Pounamu. Guests are particular fond of our comfy down toppers (although these can be removed upon request for a more firm bed). The staff at Pounamu is really amazing and continues to seek ways of pleasing all who stay here. We very much enjoy creating lifetime memories for...

Reviewed 19 November 2014

the views could be a postcard and all the staff I met (Priscilla, Ro and Liz ) have fantastic customer service skills.My apartment was spotlessly clean and everything was very comfortable. Internet is free and unlimited . They do a great job at organising tours and outings on your behalf and answer all emails very quickly. (That rates highly in...

2Thank bronmelb
Siebe, Marketing Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Dear BronMelB Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Pounamu. Our staff really does an amazing job of assisting our Guests in making lifetime memories… from reserving your room to booking any and all activities that you might want to experience here in Queenstown. In addition if you want to book any activities before you come, we have...

Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 November 2014

A spacious, well appointed, clean apartment to relax in, handy to the buzzing town and a view out the window that would be hard to match. Good WIFI and the gym down town provided a great way to start the day.

2Thank Snokist
Siebe, Marketing Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Snokist: I was delighted to read your review about Pounamu and the beautiful views from our well-appointed Apartments. Our unlimited fast internet can be accessed by up to 4 devices in each Apartment. We continually strive to exceed our Guests expectations. We hope you are able to come and visit us again soon. Please check out our Facebook page...

Reviewed 16 November 2014

Clean, modern , pretty and a FANTASTIC view sums up our stay at these apartments. Sure they costs more to rent but they are value for money and we had a very nice stay. My only beef was that the studio apartment was too small to open my mid size suitcases.

2Thank lbtlee
Siebe, Marketing Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Dear lbtlee: I was delighted to read your review about Pounamu and the beautiful views from our well-appointed Apartments. Thank you! The Studio Rooms are our entry level and are like a small hotel room with a small kitchenette. They are perfect for short stays or if the Guests are out and about enjoying the activities that Queenstown has to...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 16 November 2014

We knew we wouldn't be in the room much and opted for a room without a view, but it was easy to see that the views could've been quite lovely. The twin room we had was tiny, but clean and modern and they even managed to jam a little kitchenette in there. The wifi was free and solid. We were...

Thank mauinoel
Siebe, Marketing Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Mauinoel: Thank for your review. We are so thrilled that you were able to enjoy our beautiful views and Apartments. And yes Fergburger is a must! The Pounamu staff is very eager to help in lots of ways, from suggestions for activities to giving easy walking directions to town…everything to make your stay unforgettable. We hope you had a...

Reviewed 15 November 2014

Nice place but not worth the money because it lacked the basics you'd expect at a hotel. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with a beautiful view which we thought was serviced however it wasn't, they expected us to clean our own sheets and towels but for more than $300 per night (off peak) they were having a laugh....

1Thank Stiosti
Siebe, Marketing Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Stiosti: Pounamu offers free, unlimited fast internet with 4 connections available per room which is designed to support our local Activity Operators that require us to restrict some sites. We are one of many locally owned businesses in Queenstown and we try and do our part to support these other local small businesses. We apologise...

533 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (363)
Hotel & Grounds (30)
View from Room (95)
Room/Suite (81)
Bathroom (13)
Dining (22)
Family/Play Areas (3)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Other (116)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (125)
2 Bedroom Premier Apartment (100)
Amenities (8)
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (45)
Room/Suite (13)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Dining (2)
View from Room (1)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.3 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
4.3 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.6 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
2,999 reviews
2.8 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
1,306 reviews
1.2 km away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: ₹ 9,359 - ₹ 23,102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pounamu Apartments staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Pounamu Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Units above the road do get traffic noise. there is another block farther up the hill.”
 of 5 bubbles antoniosT9775FP, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A room/ flat with light. A corner flat”
 of 5 bubbles Bubbles190, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a rear facing room, but apartments on the front must have lovely views.”
 of 5 bubbles KateE006, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The one bedroom apartments are best. The studios do not have a view.With the glass doors at the front closed the traffic noise is cut off”
 of 5 bubbles 506russellm, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The apartments are all self contained.”
 of 5 bubbles cyberlion, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5