We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pounamu Apartments

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,263: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We loved our stay at Pounamu Apartments. We rented a one bedroom with full kitchen and living room. Our view was so beautiful and the kitchen so well provisioned that we never went out for dinner. We could watch the sunset from the comfort of our couch.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yancey2014
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is the second time we've stayed here (first was a couple of years back) and we enjoyed it even more this time. The atompsophere is perfect for a holiday, quiet, relaxed, beautifully appointed rooms, no fuss but super friendly and helpful staff. We will definitely come back and stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise E
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Louise E, we are rapt to read that you enjoyed your second stay with us at Pounamu. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. Booking direct with Pounamu means that our Guests are offered some fantastic privileges including the choice between up and down stairs (depending on availability) and if booking for 2 or more nights in...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the one-bedroom apartment. The view was wonderful and the apartment was clean, spacious, and comfortable. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the centre of Queenstown. However, we think the bed was a bit too soft for us, and we think there should be a small changing room/area at the spa. A changing area made up...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelerhk2017
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and review “travelerhk2017”. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the wonderful views from your Apartment. Our mattresses are firm, and the luxurious toppers are feathers… like sleeping on a cloud, however they do need a shake the next day to puff them up ready for the next zzzz. Guests are particularly fond of our...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our studio room had virtually no view, was very cramped and at $300+ for one night represented very poor value. Room access from the car park was up two flights of stairs so this room is totally unsuited for the aged or mobility challenged. Entry to the shower is over a very large step into a rather crude tiled tub....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertbX5572PH
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review “robertbX5572PH”. The Studio Rooms are our entry level and are like a small hotel room (no lake views) with a small kitchenette. They are perfect for 1-2 people and for short stays or if Guests are out and about enjoying the activities that Queenstown has to offer and really just wanting somewhere to lay your...

Northwood, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked five nights at Pounamu Apartments not fully sure what to expect but on arrival all was good. The staff were friendly and helpful (we booked 3-4 activities through them with no problems and on reasonably short notice) and the apartment was very comfortable. We opted for the one bedroom apartment which, in terns of size, I would definitely...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Russell M
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Russel M. Our focus is to ensure our guests leave Pounamu and Queenstown with treasured lifetime memories. We thoroughly enjoy making recommendations, booking trips and restaurants for our Guests. It doesn’t matter what time of the year you come to Queenstown, there is always something to do. Spectacular views, beautiful walks along the lake...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The small apartments (facing back) are small, but okay when you consider the price level in Queenstown. Staff is really friendly, it's clean, and the location is good (10 min walk to downtown). We enjoyed it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ebben
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review “ebben”. We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Pounamu Apartments. The Studio Rooms are our entry level and are like a small hotel room (no lake views) with a small kitchenette (no stove) – great for those that are out and about all day enjoying Queenstown and just want somewhere to sleep. The...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

On arrival the staff were magnificent. We were walked to our studio apartment shown all the amenities and found the fittings to be modern and stylish. Studio apartments do not have any view , they are not serviced apartments. They DO contain everything you could want for a stay there particularly If you intend to spend your days doing long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zixo
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Dear zixo Thank you for your wonderful feedback from your recent stay with us at Pounamu. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the amenities on offer. It’s a pity regarding the Guests in the 1Bedroom Apartment not thinking about others, however at any time our Guests have any questions or concerns, we encourage Guests to...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very unhappy with the service provided. Overcharged by Pounamu for the taxi provided to the airport. One staff member could not supply us with an extra blanket but in our opinion she did not put much effort into our request. As for the apartment, it lived up to our expectations.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vivi9232017
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Dear vivi9232017 Thank you for your review and feedback on your recent stay with us at Pounamu Apartments. We are pleased to read that the Apartment lived up to your expectations, however disappointed with the service that you received. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you have raised. Be rest assured, this is not indicative of the service...

Albury
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not quite faultless but almost. Everything provided for in the two bedroom apartment, even a choice of three different pillows which was comvenient. Staff very helpful and pleasant. We loved our stay and would be back tomorrow. Being so active during the day and knowing your coming back to a wonderful apartment makes your holiday even more special.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank saultrys
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Pounamu Apartments “saultrys”. Your words sum up everything . . .“WOW great views” .. and yesterday we even had some snow on the mountains and The Remarkables – stunning! Thank you, for staying with us and for such a wonderful review. Don’t forget that as a returning guest, you will want to check out...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

The studio was below expectation - although modern and tidy, these rooms at the back of the property and situated right up against the wall hence no sunlight and during winter most likely won't be pleasant. Even in January it felt damp. Not good for NZ350 per night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sleepyash
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Pounamu Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback “sleepyash”. We are disappointed to read that Pounamu failed to meet your needs and expectations during your stay at Pounamu. The Studio Rooms are our entry level and are like a small hotel room (no lake views) with a small kitchenette. With year round air conditioning and in Winter under floor heating, the...

533 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (355)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
View from Room (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (112)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (125)
Viewed
2 Bedroom Premier Apartment (100)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
4.4 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.3 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.6 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
2,932 reviews
1.3 km away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
2.8 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 57 in Queenstown
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pounamu Apartments

Address: Pounamu Apartments 110 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: ₹ 10,144 - ₹ 34,450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pounamu Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Pounamu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pounamu Apartments Queenstown
Pounamu Apartments Hotel Queenstown
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pounamu Apartments staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Pounamu Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a one bedroom apartment. The extra room and views over the lake are worth the additional cost.”
 of 5 bubbles 639russellm, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best Views”
 of 5 bubbles spookyhart, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Two bedroom apartments had stunning views”
 of 5 bubbles petermO3482GJ, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The 2 bedroom is essentially a 1 bedroom + studio, if you book a 1 bedroom it will not be completely private.”
 of 5 bubbles elysydney, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had room/apartment 221 which had excellent views.”
 of 5 bubbles 114marees, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay