We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ascot Park Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Ascot Park Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ascot Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 296: English reviews
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 March 2016

Bedroom could be accessed from the hotel but also through a separate back entrance this had the advantage that you could drive your car right up to the room however the disadvantage was there was a small porch outside the main bedroom set up for smokers so when I entered the bedroom it did smell strongly of cigarettes. However room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMFPPF
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your comments and look forward to being of service gain in the future. Kind Regards Bryan and the Ascot Team

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Spent two nights in an Apartment with my Wife It was fantastic we will go again Perfect room clean modern and well appointed. We could not have asked for better. Although the main Hotel is aging it has a real atmosphere the staff in the bar and restaurant are great. I asked for a special favour before I arrived and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anneronnie
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your comments and trust we may be of service again in the future. Kind Regards Bryan & Ascot team

Esperance, Australia
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed there 24th and 25th February. Room was very spacious as was bathroom and it had a seperate toilet. Parking was not an issue. Room was quiet and able to sleep in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shirleywest
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for your post on Trip Advisor, really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards Bryan & Team

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2016

We chose this hotel because it had a sauna. When we checked in, we asked if the sauna needed turning on. No, was the answer. So, when we came round to using it at 8:45pm (it closes at 10pm) and we found it cold, we were not best pleased. We turned it on, but all New Zealand saunas appear to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neilbert
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review

It is with much disappointment that I read your review, Our Sauna rooms are set with temperature control thermostats and do need to be turned up to full heat prior to use, I regret you were given the incorrect information, and that you did not get to enjoy a relaxing sauna. Regards Bryan

Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We stayed in the Motel bit and like most people in previous reviews used the Ascot as a two day stop over en route from Dunedin to Milford Sound. Part of a much larger hotel complex, the motel room we had was of good size, was very clean and had all we needed. It also offered good value compared to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MStJB
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we sincerely hope you had a wonderful trip around the South Island. Kind Regards Bryan & the Team

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2016

We really weren't expecting anything as good, for the price we paid, as the external motel room we had for one night in our tour of the South Island. It had everything we could want. We were so impressed that we decided to eat in the restaurant in the evening and we weren’t disappointed. The staff were very attentive and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bacoms
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and dining experience. Best wishes Bryan & Ascot Park Hotel Team

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 4 February 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights on the motel side and it was very good in relation to the price, our room was spacious with a good kitchen. Location was a bit off from the city centre but this is a good alternative if you're just looking for a place to stay on route to Steward Island or further in Otago.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vranki
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your post, pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you made it to Stewart Island. Regards Bryan & team

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 January 2016

I don't know what me and my partner were expecting, but we were thoroughly impressed for the price we paid - we were almost disappointed we were just passing through Invercargill and only staying the night. The room was comfortable with handy outside parking, everything was clean and tidy and very welcoming. Hotel facilities also looked very good, we wish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morgan M
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review

HI Morgan, thank you for choosing the Ascot Park Hotel, we are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Kind Regards Bryan & the team.

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 January 2016

We stayed 2 night here in the motel units. The 2 nights were three days apart as we went to Stewart Island inbetween. The service was excellent. We had a shuttle pick us up from the Air Port and then we used the shuttle several times for trips back and forth from the I-Site for bus drop offs and pickups....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duncan R
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for posting your review, no doubt you would have enjoyed your Stewart Island experience, thank you for visiting the South. Regards Bryan & Ascot team.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2016

This is the first time I stayed here, late in December and I have to say the experience was very nice. We had a little motel room, quite a way from the reception area, and to demonstrate what great staff are like, a lady by the name of Amber checked me in very efficiently (we arrived about 9pm), drew a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwioverseasexperien
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Happy New Year and thank you for your Trip Advisor review. I will pass on your comments to Amber, she is a star! Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and trust we may be of service again next time you visit Invercargill. Kind Regards Bryan & the Team

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.6 km away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
264 reviews
3.6 km away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#12 of 33 in Invercargill
150 reviews
2.6 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#3 of 33 in Invercargill
85 reviews
3.0 km away
Queens Park Motels
Queens Park Motels
#7 of 33 in Invercargill
127 reviews
3.7 km away
Homestead Villa Motel
Homestead Villa Motel
#5 of 33 in Invercargill
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Invercargill's largest accommodation property, the Ascot Park Hotel is Qualmark rated 4 Star, comprising of 116 Hotel, Motel and Suite accommodation. Set in park like surrounds the Ascot Park Hotel is the ideal place to stay with ample car parking, indoor heated pool and fitness centre. The award winning Emberz Bar and Restaurant is the ideal place to dine or wind down after a busy day. A wide choice of Conference facilities are also offered for your business needs ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ascot Park Hotel

Address: Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road, Invercargill 9840, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Price Range: ₹ 4,612 - ₹ 8,641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ascot Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Park Invercargill
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#5 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ascot Park Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a corner suite, very quiet and large with a lounge suite and table and chairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 302christinem, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Motel units 14 to 23 comfortable and spacious. Interconnecting door so can easily be used as family unit.”
 of 5 bubbles waimarei, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Hotel rooms are better than the motel ones”
 of 5 bubbles 16CatherineG, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“suggest trying to get a motel room on the 'front row' 1-12.”
 of 5 bubbles 944JudithH, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Good stay and the rooms are well furnished”
  • Hotel room
 of 5 bubbles rosnanibrahim3, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay