We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
27/8/2017 28/8/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Kiwis Nest

    597 George St., Dunedin, New Zealand
    Hotel website
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    27/8/2017 28/8/2017
    Savings alert: 21% below average rate

    The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 52/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    US$ 55
    US$ 41
    SAVE US$ 14
    US$ 55
    US$ 41
    Traveller (41)
    Room & Suite (26)
    Storyboard
    Overview
    • Excellent62%
    • Very good30%
    • Average6%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Family Rooms
    Kitchenette
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Kiwis Nest
    Deals (11)
    27 Aug28 Aug
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • 2xBed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room - Non-refundable
      US$ 55US$ 41
      View Deal
    • Standard Double Room, Shared Bathroom
      US$ 55
      View Deal
    • Basic 4 Bed Mixed Dorm
      US$ 55US$ 41
      View Deal
    View all 11 deals from US$ 41
    Amross Motel
    288 reviews
    #3 of 61 hotels in Dunedin
     
    Owens Motel
    42 reviews
    #54 of 61 hotels in Dunedin
     
    Roslyn Apartments
    332 reviews
    #8 of 61 hotels in Dunedin
     
    The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
    242 reviews
    #20 of 61 hotels in Dunedin
     
    Write a Review
    Turn Your Opinions into Points!
    Turn your opinions into JPMiles
    Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
    *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    50
    Reviews (423)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 395 reviews

    Reviewed 2 days ago

    The welcome was friendly and I felt being a solo traveler and of vintage age , comfortable and relaxed with my choice of booking. The premises were clean,handy to the cbd area of Dunedin,good bathroom facilities,quiet,nice soft bed,warm ,and good lounge tv room and kitchen...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    1  Thank paullT5615BP
    Hotel's Favourite
    Reviewed 22 June 2017

    My son first found the Kiwis Nest looking for a backpacker stay in Dunedin. He fell in love with the place. The dorm rooms are great and the staff is great. It is conveniently located to the Octagon on George Street. My wife and I...More

    1  Thank Flowerprof
    Response from Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis NestResponded 2 weeks ago

    Thank you so much for your great review I was so pleased to meet you all what a great family I see you are back home now but if ever back in Dunedin there is always a bed for you all Kind Regards Wendy &...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    I warmly recommend ! The staff is extremely kind and helpful. We even were upgraded without asking anything ! And to make laundry : cheaper than in any other hostels I've been ! 10-15 min walking to the center,and to a real supermarket. Really great...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    2  Thank Audrey H
    Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

    Stayed at the kiwis nest but although nice it was very cold. The fire was definitely not sufficient . I was freezing. This time of year another log on the fire was needed! Kind of ruined the nice atmosphere unfortunately.More

    Thank Tracey S
    Response from Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis NestResponded 2 weeks ago

    Thank You for your taking the time to write a review on kiwis nest We have had some very cold weather lately We have our big ben fire that goes all day & all night so there are always logs on the fire because it...More

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Had a lovely stay at the Kiwinest, people were friendly and the whole place was quiet which was what we were looking for after making the mistake of staying near the octogan the year before. Splurged for a twin room which was nice as it...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    2  Thank 1elainev
    Response from Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis NestResponded 2 weeks ago

    Thank you so much for your lovely review It is always a pleasure to have such nice guests stay with us Yes we have had some very cold nights lately i think this would be one of our colder winters yet Kind Regards Wendy &...More

    Amross Motel
    288 reviews
    #3 of 61 hotels in Dunedin
     
    Owens Motel
    42 reviews
    #54 of 61 hotels in Dunedin
     
    Roslyn Apartments
    332 reviews
    #8 of 61 hotels in Dunedin
     
    The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
    242 reviews
    #20 of 61 hotels in Dunedin
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Travellers' Choice2017 Winner
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$ 40 - US$ 69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Hotel Style
    • #1 Best Value Hotel in Dunedin
    • #7 Family Hotel in Dunedin
    • #9 Business Hotel in Dunedin
    • #10 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 20
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Kiwis Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • South Island >
    • Otago Region >
    • Dunedin
    • Also Known As
    • Kiwis Nest Hotel Dunedin
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (41)
    Room & Suite (26)
    Dining (4)
    Hotel & Grounds (36)
    Bathroom (5)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Owens Motel
    42 reviews
    .33 km away
     
    Amross Motel
    288 reviews
    .14 km away
     
    The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
    242 reviews
    .91 km away
     
    Roslyn Apartments
    332 reviews
    1.54 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Lone Star Cafe & Bar
    351 reviews
    .24 km away
    Capers Cafe
    279 reviews
    .39 km away
    The Good Earth Cafe
    173 reviews
    .35 km away
    Everyday Gourmet
    129 reviews
    .29 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Otago Museum
    840 reviews
    .24 km away
    Olveston Historic Home
    711 reviews
    .53 km away
    The Octagon
    171 reviews
    1.15 km away
    Otago Farmers Market
    211 reviews
    1.11 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Kate M
    19 January 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Woe1 | Property representative |
    Hi No sorry only airport shuttles Regards Wendy
    0
    Votes
    teckeong
    16 October 2014|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Woe1 | Property representative |
    Hi Yes the ensuite comes with Bathroom T`V Tea Coffee Milk & Sugar Regards Wendy
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "go for the double bed offer even if you don,t need one."
    Read review
    "Ask for room 19"
    Read review
    "I think for someone like me, the trick is getting "en suite" where you have your own bathroom. I..."
    Read review
    "I had a corner room on the 2nd floor with large windows and lots of sunshine."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing