We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wains Hotel Dunedin

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wains Hotel Dunedin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 251: English reviews
Start your review of Wains Hotel Dunedin
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A great welcome but then things went from bad to worse. Unfriendly service from room services. Bed was ting and rolled around like crazy. Two EXCELLENT staff let down by their co workers. Food delivered missing what was advertised on the menu. A real let down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elliotf485
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is ideally located in the centre of town. They have secure parking available, would help to book parking when booking accommodation. The rooms and hotel are a bit dated. Im not a fan of shower baths, and the shower splashed all over the bathroom. Without a fan in the bathroom the towels didnt dry easily, however housekeeping did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ainslee R
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is well located for all the main tourist attractions. Car Parking is in a cellar a few minutes walk away. Staff were friendly, breakfast was a bit basic. Rooms are a bit dated, rooms at the back can get a bit noisy in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graham l
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife love the Retro but I love the Modern, this hotel you get both. The old with the new. Great place friendly service and helpful staff. Would stay here again, very close to city shops very handy, fell for Dunedin.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Awesumcuple
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Awesumcuple, Thank you for sharing your impressions of your stay with us at Wains Hotel Dunedin. It is great to hear that you both enjoyed your stay despite your different preferences in style of accommodation. We hope to be able to welcome you back the next time you have an opportunity to further explore Dunedin and all that there...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is on the slightly tired end of the main street in Dunedin, very convenient for a walk around the town centre, and though the staff were very helpful, the room had seen better days (curtains had tears, carpets & windows would welcome a good clean). Our room involved 2 lift journeys and a half flight of stairs -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John G
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay with us at Wains Hotel Dunedin. It is nice to know that you found our location to be suitable for having a look around the city and accessing its vast array of eateries, attractions and interesting architecture. Moreover it is pleasing that your room was comfortable and warm. As...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We had a very comfortable stay at Wains Hotel. We weren't happy with the first room we stayed in and the hotel manager was more than happy to provide us with a complimentary upgrade. The room we were upgraded to was lovely and spacious, with all the basic amenities you need for a short stay. All the staff at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexis H
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Alexis, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at Wains Hotel. I am delighted that everything turned out well in the end and that you enjoyed your new room. The team at our hotel do try to go out of their way for our guests, therefore it is a pleasure to...

Longueuil
Reviewed 17 January 2017

About 15 minutes to the Octagon, museums and food stores. Elevator is a bit old and cranky . Staff very friendly and helpful. Parking is a little distance and rather tight. Good beds and services. Internet works very well, stable and speedy. No password

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith L
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Judith, Thank you for sharing your bright and breezy review with us, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took time to mention our wireless internet connection, it is very reliable indeed and handy for our guests who like to stay in close contact with friends and family overseas. I hope you enjoyed the rest of...

California
Reviewed 16 January 2017

The Wains is in a great location right outside the Octagon - plenty of restaurants and shopping places in the area as well as the train station. Buses run right in front of the hotel. About a 30 minute walk to the botanical gardens. Great breakfast. This is an old property so it's not comfortable like a new hotel would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oyeah2015
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear oyeah2015, Thank you for your colourful review! I am very happy that you enjoyed the location of the Wains Hotel Dunedin as a base to explore our interesting city, that your room was a good size and that your days started with a tasty breakfast. In six years at the hotel I have only had one noise complaint about...

Auckland
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Nicely presented hotel and friendly staff. Parking is available a little walk away for $15. Don't leave it until later for breakfast (after 8.30). Rooms near elevator can be noisy. Kept some of the older elements of the hotel which gives a nice feel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GinagAuckland
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear GinagAuckland, Thank you for posting a review of your stay. It is great to hear that you found the hotel to be reasonably priced and the staff friendly- hopefully your experience of breakfast later in the morning was an isolated experience- I am unsure what may have happened there? We are very pleased you felt at home with us...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

This was one of the most disappointing pre booked hotels during my 26 night tour of New Zealand. Secure car parking was some distance away from the hotel so heavy suitcases had to be wheeled along the city pavement. The parking fee was $15 per night and its approach wasn't entirely reassuring so that I wouldn't have felt comfortable if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kayhel2011
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear kayhel2011, Please accept my apologies for your disappointing stay. As I am originally from the UK myself, I can understand that you did not feel entirely comfortable in our car park however this is such a safe part of town and I have not encountered any security issues at all with it. I can also assure you that the...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 km away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#53 of 58 in Dunedin
98 reviews
0.5 km away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
1.7 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.9 km away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.1 km away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Heritage listed Wains Hotel Dunedin is located in the heart of Dunedin offering easy access to Dunedin's many attractions. The Octagon, Town Hall, Forsyth Barr Stadium are in walking distance. Otago University & Peninsula are also only a short drive away. Wains Dunedin offers 48 boutique-style rooms and 2 function rooms suitable for conferences, weddings and events. Facilities include broadband Internet access; secure offsite valet parking at NZD$ 15.00 per night and Relish Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wains Hotel Dunedin

Address: 310 Princess Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Park Regis Dunedin)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: ₹ 6,911 - ₹ 9,125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wains Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wains Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wains Hotel Dunedin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid rooms at the back”
 of 5 bubbles 194grahaml, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are flights of stairs even after accessing your floor by elevator. Princes Street can be noisy. Take ear plugs.”
 of 5 bubbles j0ly0n0, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Would think most rooms are ok. We particularly wanted one with a street view.”
 of 5 bubbles NewZealandCarver, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors may have less traffic noise.”
  • Looking in the direction of the Octagon
 of 5 bubbles ChrisinCairns, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think all rooms were quite. We were facing the main street and had no problem with noise”
 of 5 bubbles Rongopai, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5