We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wains Hotel Dunedin

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Wains Hotel Dunedin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 231: English reviews
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed several nights at Wains Hotel. The hotel is old and quaint but our room was lovely and clean and the bed very comfortable. The reception staff were generally helpful and responsive, but other staff seemed oblivious to guests. We did not dine at the hotel so cannot comment - although we did try to go to the Relish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fruit_Tart
Norfolk
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our three day stay here started badly. After an all day drive, we arrived in the city with a lot of traffic, having to manage the unfamiliar one way system. We could not find the car park entrance, drove around the block and pulled up outside the front door. Only then we learned that the hotel doesn't have an on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jolyon O
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is centrally located walking distance to city center. Enjoyed the stay will certainly stay here again. Customer service was alright nothing to complaint and neither outstanding. Request for late check out seemed expensive at 20 dollars for half an hour apart from that checkout was smooth.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fauzan M
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Fauzan M, Thank you for your review- we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would stay again. The next time you return to Dunedin, please email reservations direct and we will be happy to extend the same rate to you as last time depending on availability. I would like to take this opportunity to...

New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

A wonderful heritage building right in the middle of Dunedin. We had a lovely room (112) overlooking Princess Street and with a small balcony. Noise level from street was minimal. Reasonable sized room with fridge, tea making facilities, nice en-suite. Clean and tidy with high ceiling. Good housekeeping and front-of-desk service. Questions we asked were all answered promptly and reliably....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandCarver
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear NewZealandCarver, Thank you for your lovely review- we are delighted that your stay with us was so pleasurable and it is always nice to share positive feedback with the team. We do hope you choose to stay with us again, if you bring a vehicle next time we will be pleased to explain our parking facilities and reserve a...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good comfortable accommodation in Central Dunedin close to the Casino and café/ bar area around the Octagon. Our room contained two large double beds and an ensuite which was very clean and tidy. Large TV and tea making facilities. The Hotel underwent extensive renovations some 10 years ago and is nowof good quality for the average traveller with double rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugh418
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Hugh418, Thank you for sharing your experience of your time with us at Wains Hotel Dunedin. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay. With regard to our old fashioned manual lift, it is certainly an interesting feature of the building. Although the lift may not be to everyone's taste it is very reliable-...

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The best thing about Wains Hotel is the Victorian facade (and the central location). From there, it went downhill fast. We arrived in the early afternoon on a driving holiday to find there was no hotel car parking space available. Very inconvenient when you're on a four week holiday and have a lot of luggage to unload. The receptionist wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anonguest2013
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear anonguest2013, Thank for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I was disappointed to read your comments about the hotel's front desk being "hopeless" as we do take pride in the customer service we provide- you may have seen positive feedback in other reviews- unfortunately it seems that we fell short on this occasion....

Cairns Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Wains is quite close to the Octagon in the centre of town, so close to the casino, eateries and pubs. It is also only a short walk to the train station and the Cadbury site if you are seeing those. While the rooms are not huge they have adequate space and I found mine comfortable and reasonably quiet, even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisinCairns
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you for your feedback- it is always nice to share positive comments with the team. We are very glad you had such a comfortable stay and found your room to be quiet and warm, even though Dunedin is certainly few degrees cooler than Cairns! I hope that the rest of your time in New Zealand was as...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good - comfortable bed, quiet room, big television, walking distance into the town centre, affordable. Improvements - mould in corner of bath, cleaner left fridge door open (contained in a cupboard so didn't see until next day, causing the fridge to overheat. Upon opening the cupboard I was met with a gust of hot air. Happy that the overheating didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimsue100
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Kimsue, Thank you for for your review. It is good to know that you did enjoy your stay overall- please accept my apologies for the oversight with your fridge. I had never come across such an incident before but did share it with the Housekeeping team after you checked out as something to look out for in future. Thanks...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms and hotel are ready to be renevated. There is indeed a lot of noise and cold in the rooms due to single glass-isolation. You notice the poor maintenance of the hotel. However when we told the staff we were disappointed after a night of noisy sleep (we really asked for a quiet room) the staff really understood our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Steven P, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that your stay with us did not live up to expectations, we do have renovation plans in the pipeline for next season and cannot be more excited about this, it would be great if you could return to experience the improvements. It is a shame you were cold in...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly, the staff were lovely and the lobby of the hotel is beautiful. But that's where it ends. When we arrived in our room there was dirt on the floor. The carpets were covered in filthy marks and could do with commercial cleaning or replacing. The back of the chair had a disgusting mark on it. The wall next to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Parker_clan555
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Parker_clan555, Thank you for your review of your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I am pleased to hear that you found the staff to be so lovely, we sincerely care a great deal about our guests and their experience of the hotel which is why it was so disturbing to read about the unacceptable standards of cleanliness in your...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 km away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#53 of 58 in Dunedin
94 reviews
0.5 km away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#14 of 58 in Dunedin
665 reviews
0.9 km away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.6 km away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#46 of 58 in Dunedin
84 reviews
0.1 km away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Heritage listed Wains Hotel Dunedin is located in the heart of Dunedin offering easy access to Dunedin's many attractions. The Octagon, Town Hall, Forsyth Barr Stadium are in walking distance. Otago University & Peninsula are also only a short drive away. Wains Dunedin offers 48 boutique-style rooms and 2 function rooms suitable for conferences, weddings and events. Facilities include broadband Internet access; secure offsite valet parking at NZD$ 15.00 per night and Relish Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wains Hotel Dunedin

Address: 310 Princess Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Park Regis Dunedin)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: ₹ 5,789 - ₹ 9,195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wains Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Wains Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wains Hotel Dunedin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are flights of stairs even after accessing your floor by elevator. Princes Street can be noisy. Take ear plugs.”
 of 5 bubbles j0ly0n0, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Would think most rooms are ok. We particularly wanted one with a street view.”
 of 5 bubbles NewZealandCarver, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors may have less traffic noise.”
  • Looking in the direction of the Octagon
 of 5 bubbles ChrisinCairns, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think all rooms were quite. We were facing the main street and had no problem with noise”
 of 5 bubbles Rongopai, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the 5th floor or lower (higher floors have no elevator access)”
  • Great selection of complimentary tea, coffee, and hot chocolate
 of 5 bubbles CK_IU, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay