We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dunedin Palms Motel

Show Prices
#10 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dunedin Palms Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 334: English reviews
Start your review of Dunedin Palms Motel
 Click to rate
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Recently and tastefully refurbed, this is a comfortable choice for a place to stay while in Dunedin. Parking on site and an easy walk to the city. Clean bathrooms with lots of hot water - would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
Devon
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Situated close to the Octagon and several restaurants. Good sized room with large comfortable bed, small kitchenette with microwave fridge toaster and kettle and good sized bathroom. Very clean and modern fittings. Complimentary newspaper and carton of milk daily. Exceptionally friendly and helpful reception staff. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oneandapenny
Albuquerque
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Palms is reasonably close to the central areas of Dunedin. The rooms were spacious, very clean, well-equipped, and comfortable. Normally, that would be more than enough to give a good rating. More importantly, though, the motel went far out of their way to help us during a vehicle emergency. I won't go into detail, but suffice it to say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vectorvictor
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice large room. Very modern. Clean. Easy free Parking, easy walk to town centre. Good motel choice. Good water pressure in shower, even though next to road, could not hear the traffic at night so slept well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FullTime_traveller9
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was quite large and all of the furnishings were new and quite nice. The room was very clean and comfortable. They were having a promotion and we received two free beers in our frig. Shirley was very friendly and quite helpful with activities around the city and restaurants in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosieox
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Close to City centre and nearby attractions. Motel unit seemed quite new and modern. Pristine clean and ensuite was larger than your usual. Basic necessities in tea and coffee with some complimentary beer in the fridge. Would stay again but did feel was a bit on the pricey side (for Dunedin). We ate breakfast here. Was sufficient, but cold on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwiR0byn
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed in this motel a number of times during the previous years. While it has changed ownership, standards, value and customer service all remain. It is my motel of choice every time I visit for work purposes. The main restaurants are slightly further away but the Speights Ale House is a very short walk. There is a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy A
DunedinPalms, Owner at Dunedin Palms Motel, responded to this review

Hi Andy, thanks for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Hindhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the most expensive motel we stayed in during almost 4 weeks touring New Zealand and also the most disappointing…. We arrived to find they put us in a room that was near the end, near the road and had very little light. Even during the day, the lights needed to be on. The room was small compared to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
DunedinPalms, Owner at Dunedin Palms Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review which we had discussed personally, and through a real time review. The BBQ mentioned was taken off Hotel.com – thank you for bringing this to our attention. You had booked a studio with no cooking facilities accept a microwave, and you were provided with a hot plate and everything required to cook a meal. I...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

I have stayed about 10 plus times at Dunedin Palms Motel and the experience is always the same. The rooms are comfortable, always very clean and inviting. The reception is welcoming and help if needed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChChLovelife
DunedinPalms, Owner at Dunedin Palms Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the brilliant review, it is much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon :)

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Room was recently updated and was both very clean and well equipped. Staff was excellent, helpful switch every question and great with walking directions. Motel is within walking distance of most center city stores, restaurants and attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William N
DunedinPalms, Owner at Dunedin Palms Motel, responded to this review

Hi William, we are very happy you enjoyed your time in Dunedin at especially your stay at our motel. Hope we see you soon again in Dunedin :)

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 km away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.7 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
694 reviews
1.4 km away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.6 km away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 58 in Dunedin
692 reviews
1.9 km away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 58 in Dunedin
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Dunedin Palms Motel

Address: 185-195 High Street, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: ₹ 7,580 - ₹ 9,995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dunedin Palms Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Dunedin Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Palms Hotel Dunedin
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dunedin Palms Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dunedin Palms Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a much more expensive top floor room for the better accommodation it seems”
 of 5 bubbles FrankG800, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Room 224”
 of 5 bubbles williamn117, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book a Room which is right straight in front of the Entry of the Motel, Around # 214 to 218 . They got large front with direct views”
 of 5 bubbles GouravNZ, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for quiet room away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles jel172, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a down stairs room if you have lots of luggage.”
 of 5 bubbles spagyhon, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5