We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ibis Christchurch

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibis Christchurch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

877 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Christchurch
See the most recent reviews
Showing 798: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 March 2015

Check in disappointing. Need to upgrade the TV. Shower unacceptable. Not all people are 6ft tall. If 2 beds are to be pushed together make sure they are of even height. Need to adjust the doors so as not to slam by inconsiderate people late at night or early in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen902
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen902, Thank you for your review and for rating our cleanliness and service highly. Your review also certainly shows that we have work to do to improve our facilities. We are trying hard to make improvements where they are needed. We are upgrading our TVs and also replacing all of the beds with the new Ibis quality beds. These...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 March 2015 via mobile

This is my third visit to the IBIS Christhchurch. It is clean, tidy and modern decor. The bathroom and linen have always been clean. I have always missed a proper overnight room service when working late. The restaurant food is fair but not great. Breakfast has all the standards for a buffet again good but not great.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AdventuringKiwi
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Dan C, Thank you for posting your review and it is great to see that you have been a regular guest. We do work hard on keeping up our service standards so thank you for mentioning them. Our restaurant food is something that we are always trying to improve and to match our guest's expectations. We hope to see...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 March 2015

Unless you are a high end traveler Ibis is a good place to stay. We would have preferred a King bed but 2 Doubles were fine for one night. the standard room was on the smallish side but clean & tidy. Would have had a great view of central Christchurch except for the big building being constructed next door. But...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GrantHay
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear GrantHay, Thank you for posting your review and it is great to see that you enjoyed your stay. We do have King rooms as well as rooms with 2 double beds so be sure to book that room type if you come back again. I was also pleased to see you enjoyed the bar watching the cricket and also...

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2015

When we chose this as it was clear that it was one of only a few hotels still operating in what is left of the centre of Christchurch. We had a room with two double beds, which was modern and clean with a fridge and kettle. It was a busy and of a good standard that is expected from this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GJW1
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear GJW1, Thank you for posting your review and for complementing us for our rooms and service. You did travel during the peak season of February when the city experienced the highest occupancy for the whole year and thus the prices are also at their highest. Nevertheless, it was great to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope...

Jamshedpur, India
Reviewed 1 March 2015

The Ibis is typical of business hotels. Good location, small but well maintained rooms and efficient service. The area still has signs of rebuilding after the devastating earthquake of some years ago. The hotel is around the corner from Cathedral Square housing several eateries and shops. A large supermarket is a walk away as is the tourist Information centre (I....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BanditJamshedpur
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear BanditJamshedpur, Thank you for posting your review and for highlighting our central location and service. We trust that you enjoyed your visit to Christchurch and that you take some good memories back to India with you. Kind regards

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Stayed one night in January 2015. The hotel is comfortable and centrally located. The staff were friendly and efficient. Easy access to restaurants and the main sights of central Christchurch. Very good for short stays in Christchurch.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Seenabit1961
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Seenabit1961, Thank you for your extremely positive review and for complimenting our staff. We trust that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 February 2015

Ibis Christchurch is a clean, comfortable motel in a central part of Christchurch. Bear in mind that Christchurch is still in the process of rebuilding after earthquakes. We felt a bit ripped off we had to pay for parking - $18 to park in the vacant lot next door to the motel. Price of continental breakfast was exorbitant however we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Sue A, Thank you for posting your positive review. You mentioned about having to pay for parking. Can I point out that we lease that land from the land owner so we need to charge to recoup our costs. May I also point out that our breakfast charges compare favourably with other hotels in the city. We trust that...

Menai, Australia
Reviewed 23 February 2015

My wife and I flew into Christchurch for a three week NZ holiday and this was our first night's stay. I had no idea of the continuing state of devastation of the inner city region. The hotel I surrounded by open demolition sites and buildings waiting their turn. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was OK. This was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Gary L, Thank you for posting your review and we trust that you enjoy your New Zealand holiday. The rebuild of Christchurch is happening at a pace that is quite amazing considering how much damage was caused by the major earthquake but not fast enough to satisfy everyone. Meanwhile we will continue to offer the best service that we...

Napier
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Ibis Christchurch Great wee hotel on the back of the square, right on the verge of the rebuilding cbd and a block over from the ReStart container shopping mall. If you're wondering what that is, after the big 2011 February quake most of the cbd was in lock down, horribly damaged, a place of death and destruction. I was here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keri M
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Keri M, Thank you for your very extensive review of the Ibis Christchurch. You raised some really good points and the main one was the television sets in the rooms. I am pleased to advise that they are being replaced this year and this is definitely a positive for us. I really appreciate you mentioning our friendly and efficient...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 February 2015

I stayed at the IBIS as it was really one of the only hotels left in Christchurch, looked to me the build that after the 2011 Earthquake. If you have your own car, its a mess right now with streets blocked every day somewhere else. The hotel offers for a reasonable price ( 25$/night) underground parking, but its not much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rudi844
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Rudi844, Thank you for posting your review and for highlighting our very central location and service. Our restaurant prices are very similar to those in other city hotel restaurants and as the leading 3 Star + hotel in the city, Ibis is definitely priced at a lower level than the 4 star + hotel restaurants. Thank you for coming...

224 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.3 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 146 in Christchurch
1,253 reviews
0.3 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#17 of 146 in Christchurch
355 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#42 of 146 in Christchurch
322 reviews
0.7 km away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: ₹ 5,348 - ₹ 13,839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Christchurch staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Christchurch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrade & pre pay online for breakfast if it isn't part of your package. Cheaper.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisB529, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to ask about directions to hotel due to the construction”
 of 5 bubbles MrBrovold, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher room facing the Cathedral”
 of 5 bubbles nirvikary, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher up is best from my point-of-view!”
 of 5 bubbles PerryB137, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for room with no view of the concrete wall”
 of 5 bubbles Jussiluukkonen, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5