We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ibis Christchurch

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibis Christchurch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

883 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 803: English reviews
Start your review of Ibis Christchurch
 Click to rate
Auckland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a great view from the 7th floor! Bed was very comfortable, room tastefully decorated and we ate at the in-house restaurant every night! Staff were more than accommodating. A very short walk to the shops and it was easy to get around by foot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LisaBrickell
Jonathan5983, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear LisaBrickell, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at ibis Christchurch. Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the New Menu in the Restaurant so much, that you ate there each night, our Head Chef will be particularly happy about this too!! Thank you again, Alison and the team at ibis Christchurch

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Work put me up here for three nights. Never again! Small, cramped and stuffy rooms. Small bathroom and both in the Ibis template. I had to secure the bed in place with the ironing board (which was torn and therefore hopeless) as minor movements had it rolling on its wheels. The ac was dodgy making the room really stuffy. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rick M
Jonathan5983, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Rick M, Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor, We always appreciate feedback, in both a positive light as well as areas where we can make improvements. I am sorry that you have experienced some concerns with your room, and I will have our housekeeping team, make it a focus to review the ironing facilities and replace items...

Deganwy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a comfortable IBIS in the centre of (the now being rebuilt) Christchurch. My room had two double beds, and a smallish shower room with an easy to use shower. The hairdryer was reasonable. There was an iron, ironing board and fridge – but no safe. The buffet dinner and breakfast were very good. There was a happy hour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pielle2015
Jonathan5983, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Pielle2015, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at ibis Christchurch, I am glad you have had the opportunity to enjoy the Restaurant and Bar area during your stay, along with all the other experiences you have while in Christchurch and during your travels throughout NZ. Thank you again, and we hope to see you...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great position for walking round Christchurch. My husband and I flew in, caught the purple bus to the city and walked a couple of blocks - so easy - and cheap. I am a Platinum Accor club member and we had a great room, and a lovely note of welcome in the room. I asked for a late checkout and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
Jonathan5983, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Judy P, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, It's great to see that you and your husband have enjoyed your stay in Christchurch, and have had the opportunity to enjoy all the nearby sights. The Purple bus, is certainly a great option to make your way in to the city, and as you have found, an easy walk...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Like other reviews you may have read, the prices that the Ibis charges for you to stay at the hotel is not cheap, around the mid level $250-$270 per night. I feel most people wouldn't complain if the hotel lived up to it's promise and expectations of the guests but I can understand why the ratings are as they are....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirinlager007
Jonathan5983, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear kirinlager007, Thankyou for your recent TripAdvisor review, I am glad you have taken the opportunity to experience both the hotel amenities, and whats available in the immediate area. The feedback you have provided is fantastic, and I have advised the Maintenance and Housekeeping team or areas where they can make some improvements to ensure our guests have a more...

Scotland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Decent sized room with a beautiful view looking out at a concrete wall! 6th floor. Food overpriced for what it was. There is parking in the basement for cars but not big vehicles suggest booking and again very expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank astroman042000
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Expensive rooms but no space in them. The food is awful and ended up skipping my free breakfast.... better to go without. Room service were a bit rude and abrupt when i returned to my room and they were cleaning. The rooms were airless. Facing a brick wall. Air con took ages to work. Felt quite claustrophobic and suffocating! Just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irabaimatova
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Functional but dreary hotel devoid of any charm or style. This was the only place we could book in Christchurch due to a number of functions on at the time (Springsteen concert, Quake memorial etc). The pricing was predatory and quite out of context with the mediocre quality of the hotel. Wouldn't stay there again,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bipod
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel was very comfortable and clean. The location was right in the centre of the CBD which was OK the only downside was the road repairs that were being completed with a large number of roads been one way or closed. Had to pay for parking Two blocks way from the hotel which was quite difficult due to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevevicki13
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 12 February 2017

I enjoyed my three night stay at this hotel. Upon arrival, the folks at the reception desk were friendly and helpful and I most appreciated that they loaned me a charger for my phone for the length of my stay. Also handy was that there were computers in the lobby for use as well. I will note that WI FI...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
Jonathan5983, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Patricia S, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, I am happy to see that you have had an enjoyable stay, and the team were able assist you during your visit. The ibis is certainly in a great location to visit the sights of Christchurch, and also the Tram is a fantastic option plus the commentary they give is...

222 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.3 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#28 of 148 in Christchurch
1,403 reviews
0.3 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#17 of 148 in Christchurch
374 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#44 of 148 in Christchurch
336 reviews
0.7 km away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: ₹ 5,563 - ₹ 11,584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Christchurch staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Christchurch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrade & pre pay online for breakfast if it isn't part of your package. Cheaper.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisB529, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to ask about directions to hotel due to the construction”
 of 5 bubbles MrBrovold, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher room facing the Cathedral”
 of 5 bubbles nirvikary, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher up is best from my point-of-view!”
 of 5 bubbles PerryB137, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for room with no view of the concrete wall”
 of 5 bubbles Jussiluukkonen, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5