We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Comfort Inn Riccarton

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Comfort Inn Riccarton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of Comfort Inn Riccarton
 Click to rate
Reviewed 15 December 2016

The staff here where some of the best I've ever dealt with. The motel itself was well situated and a clean, welcoming place to stay. The area was close to plenty of interesting parts of the city and the staff helped direct me to some great local areas.

Thank Jessie H
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for wonderful review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoy staying at our motel as a regular guest. We're happy that you find our rooms to be clean and comfortable, thank you also for commenting on our exceptional staff who will go out of their way to make our guest's stay rememberable. We appreciate your loyalty...

Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We stayed 2 nights at Comfort Inn Riccarton at the end of a 16 days ride through North and South Island that started in Auckland all the way down south to Milford ending in Christchurch I have to say that this was the most disappointing place we stayed all the time in NZ. The motel rooms are pretty spacious and...

1Thank JayRockStar
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear JayRockStar, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. With regards to our free WiFi. We have a contract with Liveport to offer 24 hour a day service to ensure all guest have great Internet. Their number is on the Internet card in the room. We note that you did not contact them nor...

Reviewed 5 November 2016

The rooms are simple but very clean and are serviced perfectly each day. Staff are very friendly and quick to offer travel tips. Close to city centre - Riccarton road is the perfect location in Christchurch. Would definitely recommend.

Thank Mim23G
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our property and that you found our location convenient. We agree that our rooms are generous in size and offer great all-round value. Many of our regular guests also appreciate our fast, free WiFi, friendly staff and kitchenette facilities. Thank you for your praise of our Management and housekeeping staff. We...

Reviewed 12 October 2016

The host at this property is very welcoming and helpful and the service was great. However, the first room I was given I walked into and there were someone else's suitcases on the bed, which was a concern. There was no problem in being given another room, (an upgrade) which fortunately for me moved me to the back of the...

Thank Vicky J
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond. We corrected the mistake of allocating you a room that a guest had stayed on unbeknown to the office. We hope you enjoyed your upgrade to an extremely quiet a one bedroom to put things right. For which we apologised for. We do have enough car parks to ensure all room have...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Myself & my partner had only planned to stay one night, but with the amazing price, great service and clean room we extended it to 3 Nights. Couple were so friendly and offered me umbrella so I didn't get wet. Room was big and spacious, shower dome was amazing.

Thank Oliviapaige126
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Hi Oliviapaige126, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. It's fabulous to read that you loved your stay so much that you extended it for an extra 2 nights! Thanks for mentioning the service received from our team. We are incredibly lucky to have staff who love what they do and they gain a lot of...

Reviewed 8 September 2016

I would recommend the Comfort inn as a convienent and clean stay near the CBD. Free, Wifi, easy parking, great cooked & delivered breakfasts right to your room, owner operated who do a good job. One let down was the compendium although stating free spa for guest use "ask for the key at reception" is incorrect as they only have...

Thank TJ-NZL
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Hi TJ-NZL, Thanks so much for taking the time out to write a review. We love our location too! A short walk to Riccarton's best cafes and a short ride to the CBD. Great place to stay to explore Christchurch. It's fabulous to read that our brekky exceeded your expectations, the Kitchen team will be pleased to read this. We...

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Easily one of the best accommodation services available in Christchurch. Modern and spacious room, clean bathroom, fully functioning kitchen area (microwaveable), fast internet, Satellite TV, easily accessible from major shopping areas and friendly/supportive reception. (Many special thanks to the staff again) I would love to stay here again when I visit the city. Definitely recommended.

Thank Alex P
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Alex P, Wow, thank you very much for leaving a fantastic review and for awarding us full marks! Our team simply love what they do and it's reviews like this one that make it all worthwhile. We are incredibly lucky to have staff working with us that simply love taking care of people. They gain a lot of satisfaction...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 August 2016

I spent one night here on business. I was in a ground floor room with parking right outside, which was convenient. The room was smaller than I expected. It was also cold so I cranked up the heater. The next morning there was more condensation than I have ever seen, there were puddles of it on the window sills.

Thank NicoleDann
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear NicoleDann, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor. Great to hear that you found the car parking convenient during your business stay. We are disappointed to read that you found our Queen Studio room to be small. We have a great choice of rooms types. Our Studio Queen rooms are popular for those who...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We stayed two nights in this motel. We required a simple unit but, although the motel boasts 28 units, we were told when we booked that we could not have the same unit two nights in a row but would have to vacate between 10 am and 2 pm. We then decided to pay extra and upgrade to a unit...

Thank Noyeraie
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Dear Noyeraie, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Comfort Inn Riccarton. We are disappointed to read that you were not totally satisfied with your experience while staying with us. We are sorry that the room you requested was not available for two consecutive nights. Given the circumstances, we believe we went above and beyond...

Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a night and from the outside it wasn't super appealing but the rooms were great! The lady at reception was super helpful with everything, she made the experience much better! The rooms are a good size, nice big bathroom and a comfy bed! Good wifi is a huge plus also :)

Thank Kyle V
ComfortRiccarton, Manager at Comfort Inn Riccarton, responded to this review

Hello Kyle V Thank you for your time in leaving us a great review! We're excited to hear that you found our staff very helpful, with in our clean and tidy rooms as well as our excellent service. We're delighted to hear about your enjoyable experience during your stay, thank you again for leaving your feedback. We hope to have...

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (9)
Room/Suite (2)
View from Room (2)
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (14)
Room/Suite (8)
Bathroom (1)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 km away
Athena Motel & Apartments
Athena Motel & Apartments
#87 of 148 in Christchurch
35 reviews
3.8 km away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#62 of 148 in Christchurch
64 reviews
0.3 km away
ASURE 306 On Riccarton Motel
ASURE 306 On Riccarton Motel
#44 of 148 in Christchurch
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
298 Westside Motor Lodge
298 Westside Motor Lodge
#61 of 148 in Christchurch
71 reviews
0.5 km away
FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge
FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge
#43 of 148 in Christchurch
126 reviews
0.4 km away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#84 of 148 in Christchurch
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Christchurch motel offering you affordable accommodation with a true Rural Southern Hospitality welcome to an Urban in Christchurch New Zealand. Being Kiwi owned and operated your hosts Bob & Zeta Pringle extend a very warm welcome to Best Western Clyde on Riccarton Motel.Your first choice for exceptional, affordable Christchurch accommodation offering 23 quiet, luxury, self-contained units, all with fully equipped kitchenettes, Sky TV, wireless broadband and some with spa baths. Ample off-street parking, BBQ/play area in garden setting. For your convenience we offer in every unit,Wireless high-speed broadband internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Riccarton

Address: 280 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Clyde on Riccarton)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: ₹ 6,682 - ₹ 10,546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Riccarton 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Riccarton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Christchurch
Christchurch Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Comfort Inn Riccarton staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Inn Riccarton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms at the building at the back are good if you want more privacy”
 of 5 bubbles JayRockStar, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back to avoid the road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles VickyJ573, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Comfy beds”
 of 5 bubbles Oliviapaige126, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose an upstairs room away from the road if you can. Do not dare complain!”
 of 5 bubbles Noyeraie, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“Enjoyed ground floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles Mysistahgirl, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5