We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Countryhouse

Save
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (2)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good26%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“country house”(14 reviews)
“spa pool”(9 reviews)
“free wifi”(14 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Accessible rooms
Laundry Service
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for The Old Countryhouse
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
115
54
19
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
115
54
19
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry housespa poolfree wifihomely feelbig kitchencity centrebus stationminute walksouth islandgreat facilitiestwo nightshostelbackpackersochbunkbedsloungeensuite
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
91 - 95 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and wouldn't stay again. We found it to be noisy and the double room which we payed $90 for was not much larger than the double bed it contained. We found that the single power point was frustrating given...More

Thank kiwi-yeti
Response from TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old CountryhouseResponded 13 June 2016

Hi there, Thankyou for your feedback of our hostel. It is dissapointing to hear you had problems with noise in your bedroom, all our rooms are fully insulated which does help to supress the noise of others. However I'm sure our reception team would have...More

Reviewed 26 December 2013

We only stayed at this place for one night. We had a private room with a bathroom. The vibe is pretty chilled, courtyard is nice, the bed is comfortable and the place is clean. However the room is very tiny and there is zero amenities....More

Thank thegoldenapple
Response from TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old CountryhouseResponded 13 June 2016

Hi there, Thankyou for your review of our hostel. We are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere here, and the general facilities. We are sorry that you found your room too small, we will definately consider adding some small amentities in to the rooms as you...More

Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 weeks with my fiancé and it was just an amazing chilled out place (most nights) with an added bonus of a hot tub and sauna to use FOR FREE! Not come across that at all anywhere. Impressively clean too in all...More

Thank Metallimaniac
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a small dorm and loved it. This hostel is impeccable clean and all the staff is really nice and friendly. They helped me organise my trip through NZ and all the recommendations turned out well (though I didn't get to...More

Thank Wendy G
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed in The Old Countryhouse twice while in Christchurch. A really pleasant experience from the start with exceptional service from all the staff. On my second trip when arriving after hours I had from them an email with clear instructions as to how to...More

Thank prraj
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Christchurch
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Hot Tub
Details
Price range
US$ 33 - US$ 77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 33 - US$ 77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (2)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Old Countryhouse staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"I choose a double room and it was great. Just what I needed."
Read review
"House 3 doesn't have a common room but is my favourite!"
Read review
"Great atmosphere and staff - very pleasant, clean, safe and comfortable."
Read review
"Just ask them, they will give you a corresponding offer"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing