We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The George Christchurch

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The George Christchurch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The George Christchurch
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,098: English reviews
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 9 March 2016

The hotel is located somewhat away from the center of the city which was mostly destroyed after the earthquake. It is a comfortable hotel with basic rooms and amenities. Limited buffet breakfast. Across the street from the large park where you can stroll along the river and find some historic buildings about 10 to 15 minutes away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaime L
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Jamie L It is pleasing to hear you were able to walk and enjoy the many attractions nearby the hotel. We are also pleased your stay with us was a comfortable one. We do however apologise if you were disappointed with our buffet breakfast offering. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett...

Wales
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We had a very nice room with a balcony overlooking the hills. The room was large, and nicely, and recently, furnished. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town centre and also the park/botanical gardens and the excellent museum, so it is ideally situated to see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stwffin
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Stwffin We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that your room, the service you received from our team and your breakfast experience were all to your satisfaction. We are also pleased you appreciated our location and proximity to many nearby attractions. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kind regards...

Edinburgh, Scotland
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed a stay at The George 10 years ago, so with another visit to Christchurch & reading that the hotel had been renovated I decided to book another stay. It was pretty disappointing all round. I was given room 106 - which despite me requesting a room as high as possible - was on the ground floor. But it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TracyTangerine
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear TracyTangerine While we are pleased you chose to return following a previous enjoyable stay it is disappointing that the room you were allocated did not meet with your expectations, both for its location and facilities. This is an extremely busy time of year for us and unfortunately when you made your booking online the day before your arrival the...

Pismo Beach, California
Reviewed 4 March 2016

While planning our two-week vacation throughout New Zealand, this was one of the hotels that we were most looking forward to stay in. It did not disappoint! From arrival to departure, the staff was engaging and friendly. The rooms are well appointed, modern, and comfortable. Even though the large beds are actually two smaller mattresses pushed together, that did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RMIgolfer
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear RMIgolfer We are delighted to receive your review of your recent stay with us and to hear that everything from the comfort of your room to our location and nearby attractions met with your expectations. Thank you for your recommendation to others and for taking the time to post this review. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager

Surrey
Reviewed 4 March 2016

Opposite a huge and lovely park, this hotel is a real gem. The room and public areas are outstanding. The staff made were efficient, warm, courteous and helpful. Breakfast was top quality. Shame we could not have stayed longer. It added an extra special touch to find George the Bear waiting for us in our room when we arrived back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ingsaf
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Ingsaf Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay. We are delighted your time with us was so memorable and that you particularly appreciated your room, the warm and helpful service from all our team and our breakfast offering. We are also pleased to hear George Bear is enjoying his travels with you! Thank you for taking...

Diss, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2016

This hotel is well located and the staff are friendly, helpful and make your stay a very pleasant one. We had a 3 night stay followed later on by a 1 night stay during our tour of NZ. We had a problem arise during our stay which was dealt with very efficiently by Renata, the receptionist on duty who went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gilligrace
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear gilligrace We are thrilled to receive your positive feedback, both on our property and its facilities and particularly on the service you received from our team during both your stays with us recently. It is wonderful to hear the service you received was consistent on both stays and that you were welcomed and treated so warmly. This is exactly...

Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

I was initially disappointed when the taxi dropped us outside of the hotel as it is a pretty ugly building, but that all changed as we entered. The all male reception staff could not have been more polite, helpful and gracious, providing us with local information and helping us sort out hire car queries. Our bedroom was at the top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Emily S Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your room in our newly refurbished Residence and that you particularly appreciated all its amenities. We are also delighted that the service you received from our Front Office team left such an impression on you and that...

Bunbury, Australia
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Tonight we had our final stay with our tour. The Hotel was outstanding ,beautiful room with automated switches for everything. The bathroom had heated towel rail which was so lovely to hop out of the shower and have warm towels to dry with. George the bear and the chocolates were an extra special gift from the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank strathglen2
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear strathglen2 We are delighted to hear that the last night of your tour was spent with us and that you found everything in the hotel, especially your room and its amenities met with, and hopefully exceeded, all your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2016

We arrived at The George after 30 hours travelling from the UK, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating. The room was beautifully clean and comfortable, equipped with everything we needed, and after a quick freshen up, we had a drink in the bar and then ate in the hotel restaurant. The food was well cooked and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Tracey R We are so pleased your stay with us made such a positive impression, from the comfort of your room, the food you enjoyed and the service you received, particularly from our Front Office team, and that we were able to assist in ensuring your New Zealand holiday got off to such a good start. We do hope...

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

We stayed here for one night before flying back to Auckland. A little bit of luxury after 17 nights of travel staying in different hotels and self catering accommodation. The room was large and comfortable, the bed very comfortable, the bathroom large and modern. The staff are friendly and helpful - and the restaurant served good food with excellent service....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SJHDSH
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear SJHDSH We are thrilled to receive your positive review of your recent stay with us and to hear that you particularly appreciated the comfort of your room and its amenities, your bed, the food you enjoyed and the service you received from all our team. We hope George Bear has settled well into his new home! Thank you for...

244 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (188)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 145 in Christchurch
561 reviews
0.9 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.0 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 145 in Christchurch
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.2 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 145 in Christchurch
510 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#24 of 145 in Christchurch
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: ₹ 15,498 - ₹ 37,687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George Christchurch staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Connecticut
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The George Christchurch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a park view room.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterRL_12, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room over the front entrance overlooks the fountains”
 of 5 bubbles HelenS731, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a room overlooking the 'garden', not the best of views but the room was very comfortable and the amenities modern”
 of 5 bubbles mollynz2017, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Park Suite looking over looking Hagley Park”
  • Park Suite Settee
  • View of Hagley Park
 of 5 bubbles RogerLowestoft, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had room overlooking Hagley Park - great views and not noisy”
  • Soaking tub
  • Closets - well furnished with luxury towels, bathrobes, etc.
  • Seating area - conveniently closed off from bedroom
  • View from Hagley Park
  • Kitchenette
 of 5 bubbles BH136, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay