We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

895 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Showing 818: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As the Double Tree Hilton has taken over from the Chateau on the Park it has changed dramatically with Staff having to learn a corporate way of thinking. In a good way the old girl is flat out with business and coming with that is a price outside the average hoteliers. A great place to stay and unless you don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cam P
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is built to resemble a medieval castle on the outside but incorporates flower gardens and pools with fountains on the inside, it is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are light and airy and many look out over the gardens and swimming pool. It is close to a large public park and is walking distance from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenapring
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. Our room on the ground floor didn't have much of a view other than of a bush, but it was super quiet and very comfortable. We ate in as we were tired from the flight. The food was really very good and we had a lovely waitress. We also had breakfast which was delicious although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
David W, General Manager at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Sheila H, Thank you for choosing to stay at Chateau on the Park Christchurch a DoubleTree by Hilton. I'm delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, in particular your positive experience in our GCB Restaurant. We do receive many great comments about our team members and if you do recall the name of your server...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms are average in size and have very good view of swimming pool. The staff is very helpful. The breakfast was average as very few varieties for Vegetarian people. Dint find much varieties in fruits also. Ample space for parking in hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kunal g
David W, General Manager at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear kunal g, Thank you very much for sharing your complimentary review on TripAdvisor detailing your experience at Chateau on the Park Christchurch a DoubleTree by Hilton. I am delighted to read your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am sorry you did not find the vegetarian options at breakfast were limited and I will pass this feedback through...

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived Christchurch after frustrating 700km round trip due to bush fires at 9pm to find hotel had a water leak, and we were relocated to Parkview Hotel on Hagley. It was just as well that staff escorted us there, as Parkview had only reserved one room rather than two. Room was ok, and we had option of returning to chateau...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
David W, General Manager at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Andy S, Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations 100% and apologise that we were not able to accommodate you for your recent stay. I am very glad to hear that you are returning to us and ask that you contact me directly on david.wain@hilton.com...

Woodstock, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a large property that manages always to look smaller than it actually is. The buildings are surrounded by gardens and enclose an interior garden court, so the view in any direction is always full of shrubs, flower beds, trees, or lawns. There are several wings with guest rooms, connected by glass-enclosed corridors through the interior court, but with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenny0654
David W, General Manager at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Kenny0654, Thank you very much for sharing a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of the hotel’s spectacular Deluxe balcony rooms with wonderful garden and courtyard views. It was our pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and to have the opportunity to showcase the award wining gardens and popular GCB restaurant. Thank...

uk
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very pleasant hotel, nice comfortable rooms, friendly helpful staff, lovely gardens to wander and sit with a tiny pool (but only four sun beds). It's well situated - not very far to walk into the centre of Christchurch and plenty of parking. Food is plentiful rather than superb (restaurant/bar area lacks any character) but more than adequate and there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank severus
David W, General Manager at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear severus, Thank you for choosing to stay at Chateau on the Park Christchurch a DoubleTree by Hilton. It is wonderful to welcome you to the hotel and I am very pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry you experienced poor wifi signal and we will endevour to rectify this in the future....

Da Nang, Vietnam
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

upon arriving the staff made us feel very welcome.The next morning we ate a delicious breakfast outside in the restaurant courtyard , we had 3 staff members serve us and they were all bright cheerful and engaging . on departure again the reception staff were very helpful and friendly . This is a very comfortable place to stay ( which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack66177
David W, General Manager at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Jack66177, Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we shall look forward to welcoming you back again in 2017. It is always wonderful receiving feedback about the team and their efforts to go above and beyond in ensuring your stay is an...

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There are some very good things about the Chateau on the Park. And there are some things that could be better. First, the room was very nice and the bed one of the most comfortable I've slept in at a Hotel. The flowers in the grounds are superb. The location is good, a 25 minute walk across the park to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rthomp
David W, General Manager at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear rthomp, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Chateau on the Park Christchurch a DoubleTree by Hilton. It is disappointing to read that you have mixed reviews from your recent time with us. With regards to WiFi, we are pleased to offer this on a complimentary basis to Hilton Honors members when booking direct and therefore encourage...

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked our accommodation five months in advance, the location of the hotel was crucial for our visit to Christchurch and the only consideration we had when booking. Two days before we were due to fly they emailed to say they were overbooked and we had been moved to the Sudima right by the airport! Despite many emails and phone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QTSarah
David W, General Manager at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review

Dear QTSarah, Thank you for posting a detailed review on TripAdvisor. I sincerely apologize that you were not able to stay with us on the night of your booking. I understand how frustrating this would have been when you had been looking forward to staying at the property for so long. I am very sorry for the inconvenience caused. QTSarah,...

289 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (227)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (82)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.2 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
2.3 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
602 reviews
2.3 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
1,230 reviews
1.6 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
557 reviews
5.5 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Christchurch 8440, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: ₹ 7,673 - ₹ 15,759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You definitely deserve a room with a park view!”
 of 5 bubbles PerryB137, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I have only stayed in 2 rooms both were excellent i suppose a room overlooking the pool is good”
 of 5 bubbles andypavey, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ours at the rear- very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 545carens, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Hilton h honors floor is the best ...”
 of 5 bubbles databasep, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the flower gardens as the outlook is very pleasant.”
 of 5 bubbles karenapring, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5