We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pavilions Hotel

Save
Traveller (94)
Room & Suite (83)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good32%
  • Average15%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“jimmy's bar”(15 reviews)
“family history”(8 reviews)
“papanui road”(17 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Pavilions Hotel
Special Deal: Free Breakfast
Offers from Pavilions Hotel
Special Deal: Free Breakfast
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (779)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveller rating
333
249
117
41
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
333
249
117
41
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjimmy's barfamily historypapanui roadmain buildingnew zealandspa bathvictoria streetfantastic staybuffet breakfastwould stay againcity centreroom was largethe ground floorgreat place to staycomfortable roomsgreat roomhagley park
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 765 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

A delightful place to stay. Beautifully presented and set out. I was as comfortable as could be and the staff were friendly, courteous and professional. The central location incredibly handy for getting to/from meetings and coffee dates. The restaurant meals are first class - a...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank suzyq2018
Response from Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions HotelResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to post feedback on your stay. Our aim of the entire team here at Pavilions is always to make our customers feel welcome and comfortable. Our location is perfect just a 20 minute walk to town, short...More

Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Convenient location when travelling by road from north or south; good parking. Comfortable rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Quirky bar. Close to range of excellent restaurants. Close to Square, art gallery and many other places of interest.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David C
Response from Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions HotelResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you very much for your comments on our consistency. We do have a good luxury of plenty of free onsite parking. Our staff are all fantastic and most have been here for well over 5 years so if you are returning guest they will...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

had no heater ( air con not working ) plus we had not a lot of hot water ended up putting a fan heater in room LoL got a room swap the next night staff are all ways help full. could do with more car...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 850sales
Response from Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions HotelResponded 4 days ago

Sorry to hear you had problems with the air conditioning. I am aware of the room you stayed in and we had checked after you reporting to this. The air conditioners/heaters sometimes take 5 minutes to run the heat through it was more a matter...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Location great, very central, staff helpful and friendly. Reception area very smart. Bedroom however was extremely tired and shabby - nothing whatsoever like website photos- bathroom paintwork peeling, tiles cracked and broken. Bed hard and small ( double) - very cramped cluttered room - another...More

Thank Sterling-Stoke
Response from Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions HotelResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay. Sadly this is the worst review we have had for sometime, we are always receiving fantastic feedback. I am glad you enjoyed our location and our friendly staff. It is extremely disappointing...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I really cannot speak highly of the Pavilions and the team there. I have been coming here for nearly 25 years. They are always upgrading and keep everything new and clean. The place ouzes character and the staff are fantastic. The rooms, service, food and...More

Thank Thorpee237
Response from Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. We love our customers and those who have been with us many years are just like family to us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay this time and what a bonus to enjoy the World...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wheelchair Access
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hot Tub
Details
Price range
US$ 83 - US$ 164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#23 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#25 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 83 - US$ 164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#23 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#25 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (94)
Room & Suite (83)
Dining (26)
Pool & Beach (5)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
PennyW
11 December 2017|
Answer
Response from karenwQ4319KS | Reviewed this property |
Yes there is one. Look in a drawer if you don't see it out.
1
Vote
Renei D
21 July 2017|
Answer
Response from nomadmattm | Reviewed this property |
Yes, spa is able to be used year round just during specific hours. It is outdoors
0
Votes
803shivk
9 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Horncastle | Property representative |
Sorry for the delay in responding to this I was not aware of this section in Trip Advisor. We do not have Air Conditioning, we do have natural open windows. We do have heating in all the rooms and they are nice and warm... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Not on the ground floor. Not an original, non renovated room. Not near back door to Jimmy’s Bar."
Read review
"Rooms vary and some are walk-ups so check your configuration in advance."
Read review
"Newly refurbished room could not be faulted."
Read review
"Best to keep away from the courtyard for less noise"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing