We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Redwood

    340 Main North Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
    Hotel website
    Best prices for your stay
    04/06/2017 05/06/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (14)
          Room & Suite (3)
          Hotel & Grounds (21)
          • Excellent6%
          • Very good6%
          • Average13%
          • Poor20%
          • Terrible52%
          27 Jun 2016
          “Cheap affordable stay”
          12 Mar 2017
          “All right for a night”
          Free Wifi
          Free Parking
          Fitness centre
          Wheelchair Access
          Business Centre
          Self-Serve Laundry
          All hotel details
          {"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
          Write a Review
          Turn Your Opinions into Points!
          Turn your opinions into JPMiles
          Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
          *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
          JPMiles / Payback Arrow
          JPMiles / PAYBACK
          Reviews (44)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year

          1 - 5 of 44 reviews

          Reviewed 12 March 2017

          The good point: the staff is friendly and helpful; the bad point: the place has definitely seen better days. Wifi is kind of weak, parking is o.k., rooms are clean and spacious. The location is good if you have to reach the airport on time.

          Thank Wolfgang M
          Response from SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at The Redwood

          Thanks for your feedback. We agree our team are really helpful. All rooms have been freshly painted with new beds and joinery. We think our rooms are really clean too. Thanks.

          Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

          Stepping back in time when walking in the public bar looking at the Stucko roof and although it looks like it has had some renovations it is not all about what it looks like as the beer was cold and many jugs flowing around me...More

          Thank Cam P
          Response from SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at The Redwood

          Thank you for your feedback

          Reviewed 22 July 2016

          Stayed here this week and thought it was great. Staff were very friendly and incredibly helpful. Room was warm and comfortable and very spacious with all that I needed, including free and reliable wi-fi. Happy to recommend and I will be staying there again.

          Thank simonhamley
          Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

          The place was unfortunately very run down and needs some TLC. Both the toilet and the taps dripped all night. The bed we slept in was incredibly hard and uncomfortable to the point that I am in pain several hours after getting out of bed....More

          Thank 265tessar
          Response from SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at The Redwood

          People have a choice in units at The Redwood. You chose one of our cheaper units at a cost of $99 per night. These good value units are affordable, warm, clean and comfortable. This is how we market our units. If you wish to pay...More

          Reviewed 19 March 2016

          customer service was topnotch. everyone was friendly and accomodating. the room was big and spacious, the kids had room to play. there were extra pillows and bedding already available in the room. Bonus is that the best buffet Sequoia is also located in the hotel.

          Thank endurocapra
          • Top amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
          • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Meeting Rooms
          • Concierge
          • Banquet Room
          • Multilingual Staff
          • Self-Serve Laundry
          • Conference Facilities
          • Business Centre with Internet Access
          • Room amenities
          • Refrigerator in room
          • Things to do
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
          • Price range
          • US$ 67 - US$ 86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Room types
          • Suites ,
          • Family Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 27
          • Reservation Options
          • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Redwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
          • Location
          • New Zealand >
          • South Island >
          • Canterbury Region >
          • Christchurch
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (14)
          Room & Suite (3)
          Hotel & Grounds (21)
          Bathroom (1)
          Garden City Motel
          94 reviews
          .76 km away
          Abbella Lodge Motel
          58 reviews
          1.27 km away
          Papanui Court Motel
          51 reviews
          1.65 km away
          Northcote Motor Lodge
          40 reviews
          .56 km away
          AAA Northlands Motel
          30 reviews
          .86 km away
          Nearby Restaurants
          Coasters Tavern Redwood
          47 reviews
          .44 km away
          Curry Time
          44 reviews
          .56 km away
          Sequoia 88 Restaurant
          119 reviews
          .00 km away
          Redwood Souvlaki
          6 reviews
          .15 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Willowbank Wildlife Reserve
          753 reviews
          2.20 km away
          46 reviews
          2.46 km away
          Northlands Mall
          17 reviews
          2.32 km away
          Styx Mill Conservation Reserve
          13 reviews
          1.85 km away
          Questions & Answers
          Get quick answers from The Redwood staff and past guests.
          Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
          Posting guidelines
          Room Tips
          "Ask to stay in one of the newly refurbished rooms"
          Read review
          "Pay an extra $10.00 and stay elsewhere"
          Read review
          "All rooms are ice boxes. The rooms on the southern side are even colder"
          Read review
          "Keep driving, keep driving........"
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing