We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dorset House Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Dorset House Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 184: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

With hostels like this around I can't understand how others get away with being so poor. Dorset house has single beds (not bunk beds) which is a nice treat for a traveller! The rooms aren't that spacious but it could be a lot worse if they'd have opted for bunk beds. The beds themselves are comfy and I was sufficiently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macolo3
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Macolo3, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your lovely words! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We could indeed put three sets of bunks in (and sleep 6 people) which would give you more floor space, but we always think guests would rather have one person less...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed in Christchurch due to a course i was attending so last minute i found a we place in dorset street, dorset house backpackers, service was great, nothing was an issue, they changed rooms quickly when i wanted a room with an outside window, sure rooms relatively small, but clean. 1 shower up stairs was the boom! Best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle A
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Danielle, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are always happy to help whenever possible to ensure our guests enjoy their stay to the fullest :) One of our Single Rooms is indeed an internal room, but has a window opening into the hallway...

Paris, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Alter 13 days in a campervan, we enjoyed our stay there. This is a charming old house. The girls at the reception are nice. We stayed in a double room. The size was just correct for the price. I can't imagine staying in "small" one... The free wifi cannot be received correctly in all the rooms... Bathrooms are clean (despite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jade_Or14
DorsetHouseChch, Front Office Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Jade_Or14, Thank you for your feedback; we are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us after being in a camper for a couple of weeks. We feel lucky to have a charming old home with friendly staff to run it– we are always happy to help :) We are glad you found the size of...

San Mateo, California, United States
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Dorset house is very considerate. They have notice to notify that there is a day light saving the next day. If not , I will miss the bus. I reserve a single room, but they upgrade me to a double room. The room is comfortable with a heater. Location is good if travel to airport. But is a distance from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kangmin L
DorsetHouseChch, Front Office Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Kangmin L, Thank you so much for your lovely recommendation! We are happy to hear that you caught your bus at the correct time - daylight savings can be a confusing concept for travelers so we are glad to know that our sign helped :) That's wonderful that you enjoyed your upgrade from a Single room to the Double;...

Reviewed 19 September 2016

We booked a private double room, and the room was tiny but comfortable and clean. The shower and bathrooms had terrible water pressure, but were very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Great kitchen and common room facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin P
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jasmin, Thank you for taking to time to leave us a review. Our Small Double Rooms (double bed) are indeed smaller than our Double Rooms (queen bed) and have limited space around the bed for luggage or other items. I’m unsure whether all Online Travel Agents show the size of our rooms, but our own website also gives an...

Reviewed 30 August 2016

You never know with backpackers' hostels, do you? Well this is one of the best we've used. Warm, dry, comfortable and friendly. Good guest facilities, including reliable wifi and a large well equipped lounge which is far enough away from the bedrooms that you can make noise at night without disturbing those who want to sleep. Good location, right next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BobLackNZ
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Bob, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your lovely words. We are stoked to hear we have been one of the best hostels you have stayed at. Thank you also for your constructive feedback, we will take this on board. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about the location of the...

Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

I wandered up to this hostel after hours and without a booking. Lucky for me, the receptionist was around and she got me set up in a lovely little room. There are no bunk beds here, the dorm rooms have 5 single beds. It's pretty nice not to have another person sleeping above (or below) your head. The kitchen is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lauren B
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Lauren, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed sleeping in a single bed, rather than the usual bunk beds hostels usually have. Even though we can’t fit as many people in as we would with bunk beds, we think it adds a little bit of hostel...

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Often something isn't what it seemed to be online.... this time I wasn't disappointed at all as it was even better! The staff was helpful and friendly, from making the booking per email to picking up my luggage I stored with them for the day. Dorset was easy to find, $8.50 bus trip from the airport, 1 minute walk from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lydia B
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Lydia, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed and glowing review, we really appreciate it! We’re so glad to hear everything went smooth with your late check-in and you enjoyed your stay. We’re absolutely stoked to hear we managed to exceed your expectations and I’ll make sure to let the team know. In this...

Reviewed 26 July 2016

Dorset house is a "home from home" motel for me. The location is strategic and the beds are comfortable. Wifi signal is good. Washing machines are provided and I love their kitchen - big and utensils are provided.. there are few fridges in the kitchen rather than just one as what other backpacker hostels provide.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catherine L
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Catherine, Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us in Christchurch and for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear you liked our hostel facilities such as our kitchen, free unlimited WiFi and comfy beds. We indeed have three fridges in the kitchen, which allows for plenty of space for the number...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

The location of this hostel was perfect but I would only stay here again if I had too. I felt that the girl who checked me in was disinterested and just gave me my room key without even directing me to my room or pointing out any facilities which was odd. The bathrooms were adequate however were not very well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happy_traveller992
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi happy_traveller992, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the central location of our hostel, our large kitchen and the cleanliness of the hostel and overall had a comfortable stay. However, we are sorry to hear you did not find the bathrooms to be well kept. We...

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
4:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#28 of 145 in Christchurch
943 reviews
0.4 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 145 in Christchurch
1,081 reviews
2.5 km away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 103 in Christchurch
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 103 in Christchurch
166 reviews
1.1 km away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#14 of 103 in Christchurch
359 reviews
1.7 km away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#12 of 103 in Christchurch
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly located central city, boutique hostel in historic 1871 home, in a lovely quiet garden setting and next to beautiful Hagley Park. You will find everything needed including a guest lounge with pool table, internet, WiFi, DVD's, cable, kitchen, balcony, guest laundry and free off-street parking. A selection of single, double and twin rooms are available, with fully made beds. Enjoy a stroll to Cathedral Square, or indulge in cafes & shopping on Victoria St. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dorset House Backpackers

Address: 1 Dorset Street | PO Box 25350, Christchurch 8144, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: ₹ 1,685 - ₹ 5,122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dorset House Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dorset House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dorset House Backpackers staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Dorset House Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on the park pretty quiet , off street so i didn't notice noise”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was in room 2 - window looks out to Hagley park and right opposite kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles 799lydiab, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a private room w double bed”
 of 5 bubbles EddingtonTravel, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Double storey building with staircase to second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles paulwT4925LM, 17 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Be prepared to haul your luggage up one flight of stairs and choose a room which is away from the kitchen”
 of 5 bubbles ShailajaVora, 20 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay