We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stonehaven Homestay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Stonehaven Homestay
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 173: English reviews
Lincoln
Reviewed 13 May 2016

We were only in the area for one night but stayed at Stonehaven on the strength of a previous visit 12 years ago. So often return visits, especially after such a gap, are a disappointment, but this was just as we remembered, especially the most hospitable hosts, John & Paulette. We had booked dinner and Paulette happily adjusted the meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lemmus
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

It was so lovely to see you both again - you haven't changed a bit in the past 12 years!! We were delighted that you found us as we were the first time you were here, allbeit a bit greyer and slower!! It was lovely to have your company at dinner and appreciate your comments - it was a pleasure...

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Quality accommodation on this vineyard. John and Paulette were so friendly and helpful, they booked restaurant for our evening meal and provided the most fantastic breakfast in the summer house. Lovely garden and pool (which we unfortunately didn't have time to use). Enjoyed our stay, shame it was only 1 night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

Thank you, Barry, for taking the time to write a review of Stonehaven and your experience here. It was a pleasure to share our home with you and we enjoyed Jane's and your company very much. Hope your long trip home went well and you are enjoying the joys of spring in the UK. Thanks again for your comments -...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We stayed there for only 1 night but it was nice and refreshing different from a big hotel. The hosts and hostess was lovely and engaging. they are very helpful and great hosts. They helped us with directions and made reservations for dinner for us. The breakfast was really the highlight. It was one of the best we had on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

Thank you Jane for your review of your stay with us at Stonehaven. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time, short as it was, here in Marlborough. The free wifi reception is a problem in the Queen Room where you were and we apologise for that. Being out in the country means that it can be quite slow at...

Reviewed 9 March 2016

We only had one night with Paulette and John as part of our honeymoon trip to New Zealand, but they really helped us to make the most of it by providing us with bikes and helping with restaurant suggestions upon arrival. Stonehaven is a lovely house in a very good location within cycling distance of lots of wineries. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenniSwift
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

Hi Jenni, Thank you for your lovely comments! Recipe for the Muesli bircher is on its way this morning by email. Hope you and Edward have settled in back home after your trip to NZ and that you are both fully recovered from the long flight back. Fleeting visit but very enjoyable for us meeting you both. Take care and...

San Luis Obispo County, California
Reviewed 3 March 2016

If you want to spend some time touring the wonderful wineries in Marlborough, look no further. Paulette and John have the most lovely and welcoming accommodation one can find. I will admit, sometimes I am a bit intimidated by homestay or bed and breakfast....not knowing the innkeepers, etc. My husband convinced me this was the place we should stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suegj14
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of us, our homestay and the food. It was an absolute pleasure to have your company for 3 nights in February (and we miss you!). Please give our regards to Mark and hope the memory of the Kylix still lingers!! Being right in amongst the vineyards as a location, having 'top of...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Our stay here really is one of our favorite memories of our trip. John and Paulette are wonderful hosts and made us feel as though we were treasured friends. The room was very comfortable and the view from the window was so beautiful. After reading a few other reviews we opted to dine in John and Paulette and were so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

Hi Amy & Don, The summer has passed since your stay with us last November and tomorrow heralds the first day of autumn. We can't believe how quickly the time has passed since we had the pleasure of your company. Thank you for writing this review, Amy. Its so nice to think that you still remember your stay here so...

Reviewed 26 February 2016

I would highly recommend the Stonehaven Homestay. Paulette and John are excellent hosts. Their home is in an idyllic setting - in the Stoneleigh vineyard. The house is immaculate and has everything you would want. Paulette supplied us with information on local vineyards to visit and also dinner options in the area. The breakfast was delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie E
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

Hi Jackie, Lovely to read your review. Thanks for that. It was such a pleasure meeting you and Chris. Pity you couldn't have stayed longer but we realise there's a lot to see and do in this great country of ours!! Hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable and lived up to expectations. We have wonderful memories of you...

Waterloo, Canada
Reviewed 21 February 2016

A great B&B experience. Beautiful Home surrounded by vineyards, Very comfortable beds and well appointed rooms. Well located to visiting Marlborough wineries within easy driving or biking distance.,The hosts are delightful and we would recommend taking advantage of a wonderful diner accompanied by the host couple.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry296
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

Kia Ora Gerry. Thank you for the compliments!! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Stonehaven with us. Pity it was just a short one but nevertheless it was great to meet you both and to be able to enjoy your company. Thanks for taking the time and trouble to write a review on your experience here...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

We choose Stonehaven on tripadvisor to allow us to recover from a 28 hour journey. We could not have chosen better. As other reviewers have stated, all was as good as it gets - the welcome, the rooms and the home, hospitality, the dinner and breakfasts with Paulette, John and other guests. A perfect start to our New Zealand adventure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bob h
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

Thanks Bob! Glad you found Stonehaven a relaxing place to unwind after the long trip down-under. We appreciate your kind words and for taking the time to share your thoughts of your stay here with other travellers. We enjoyed having you join us for dinner not once but twice during your time here - great company and conversation at the...

Dana Point, California
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Paulette and John have a beautiful home and are exceptional at sharing it with their guests. Their gardens are beautiful and bountiful with fresh fruits, vegetables, and flowers than find their way onto the breakfast and dinner table. We stayed in the Nikau King room and it was wonderful. We were very comfortable and the room was amazing with doors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malibufan
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We do our best to provide guests with a generous, genuine 'Kiwi' experience. Its made so easy when we have such friendly, interesting guests such as you. We enjoyed your company very much and it was a delight to meet you. Thanks for choosing to stay here at Stonehaven during your time visiting Marlborough!...

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
6.3 km away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Heritage Boutique Collection
6.8 km away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#7 of 32 in Blenheim
521 reviews
3.8 km away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
The Peppertree Luxury Accommodation
4.9 km away
Antria Boutique Lodge
Antria Boutique Lodge
#1 of 42 in Blenheim
155 reviews
6.9 km away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 24 in Blenheim
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The property on which Stonehaven was located sold recently. Stonehaven is relocating to new, purpose-built premises at Fairhall, Blenheim, Marlborough and will be reopening on September 1st 2017. Come an experience the same generous Kiwi hospitality with the same hosts, Paulette and John, at a new loctaion with the same stunning vineyard and mountain views and close proximity to the region's most outstanding wineries. Stonehaven will be offering a 2 room guest suite catering for one or two couples. We look forward to welcoming you to our new home in the summer of 2017. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stonehaven Homestay

Address: 414 Rapaura Road | Fairhall, Blenheim 7272, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Price Range: ₹ 12,132 - ₹ 16,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stonehaven Homestay 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Stonehaven Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehaven Homestay Blenheim, Marlborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Stonehaven Homestay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Their deluxe Room has a lovely balcony overlooking the vineyards and roomier than the other room. Great view and really cozy:)”
 of 5 bubbles Leilei326, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“loved the king room”
 of 5 bubbles suegj14, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Nikau King room is wonderful”
 of 5 bubbles malibufan, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms are perfect and over look the gardens.”
 of 5 bubbles Marevan2, 31 Oct 2015 | Read review
“King room is the best with a balcony overlooking the lawn, but the queen room has a lovely view of the garden”
 of 5 bubbles MysteryMan6, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay