We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,676 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,639: English reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

Rydges staff are fantastic, nothing is to much trouble for them. This hotel is located near Queens wharf close to the Beehive. The rooms are clean, quiet and there is a spa, sauna and lap pool available for guests. They have a good restaurant and bar with a barrista who makes a perfect espresso, conference facilities are available too. Wellington...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margie G
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Margie, Thank you for the positive review! Our apologies for the delayed response - we're currently catching up on reviews from over the Christmas break. It's great to hear you enjoyed our convenient location as well as our facilities such as the pool and spa. We hope you enjoyed your time in Wellington and look forward to your next...

Terrigal, Australia
Reviewed 17 December 2015

I stayed at the Rydges Wellington due its proximity to the TSB Arena where I was attending a conference. What I had not realised was how central to the CBD and waterfront the hotel was, or how pleasant the actual hotel was to stay in. The food was great, the staff extremely friendly and helpful and I would thoroughly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael_J_Walton
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Michael, 5/5 stars and thoroughly recommended - our favourite things to hear! Thank you very much for the positive review Michael, we really appreciate it and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you had a great conference and that we see you again on your next visit to Wellington! Kind regards, - Catherine H

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 16 December 2015

The hotel is located within walking distance to many downtown attractions and shopping streets. The hotel itself is nothing special, though the rooms and bathrooms were a decent size and the staff was very helpful in booking tours, etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessie810
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Jessie. Thank you for the positive review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of our central location to see all the sights of Wellington. We hope to see you again so we can make sure your next stay is extra special! Kind regards, ^CH

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Great place if you are Heading to Westpac Stadium as it is very close and is close to the ferry and train station, You can pretty much walk to most places eg: The cable car and te papa and all the markets etc

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Andrew, Thank you for the positive review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and made the most of our central location, definitely handy to see all Wellington's sights on-foot without the hassle of parking a car! We hope to see you again on your next visit to Welly. Kind regards, ^CH

Terrigal, Australia
Reviewed 14 December 2015 via mobile

A two night stay to attend a team conference with NZ & Australian colleagues. The hotel was in a handy location for what we had to do over that period. Weather was cool so remained in doors for the majority of the conference but the hotel's location was close to our activities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Robert, Thank you for your review! It's great to read that our convenient location was handy for your conference, and you were able to avoid being out in Wellington's notorious weather for too long! We hope you had a great conference and look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, - CH

New South Wales
Reviewed 14 December 2015

As a Priority Awards member I was disappointed with my "Harbour View" room which could have been so much better. Most of my view was of the Post Office buiilding next door which looked as though it was in the process of being demolished or maybe it was refurbishment - it was hard to tell. Yes I could see part...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank counterpoint
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Though unfortunately you did not have a satisfactory stay this time, we do appreciate all feedback, good and bad, so we can work to correct any issues. Regarding the problems you experienced during your stay, please do accept our apologies. We aim to give every Guest...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

Our room was on the city side with a view to local businesses we were on level 7. The room had a sink, hob and microwave. The balcony door whistles in the wind and was drafty however the heat pump makes the room cosy.The bath/shower door had scum build up around the bottom of it but the rest of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OllyGirlCanterbury
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for the positive review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and made the most of our convenient facilities and location. We're glad you chose to go with room service too, the seafood is delicious if we do say so ourselves! Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to...

Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

The Good Handy location in CBD, flat walk to everything. Good breakfast buffet and nicely done rooms. Reasonable price for the whole package. The Bad Possibly located on the windiest corner of the city. Not the hotels fault. But if there's any wind blowing you will know about it at Rydges. Hard to stand up sometimes as you exit. Top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ham M
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts. We're happy to read that overall, you enjoyed your stay at Rydges. It does get fairly windy on the Featherston and Whitmore corner, we hope this wasn't too much of an issue but as you said, there's not much we can do about it unfortunately! We like to...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 12 December 2015

I was impressed by the friendly and professional staff - I arrived without my suitcase and everyone was sympathetic and tried to help. Special thanks to Phil Shearer, Chief Concierge, who went out of his way to help me sort things out, including contacting the airline on my behalf.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U9497UKhelenh
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you very much for the 5/5 star review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our service exemplary, though not so great about the lost suitcase! We hope you and Phil were able to track it down, and I will pass on your thanks to him personally. We hope to see you again...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 December 2015 via mobile

Stay here regularly. Good amenities with adequate gym and pool. Excellent bar and restaurant. Rooms perfect. Even got to short sheet the boss and set his alarm to 4am lol. Central to hospitality precinct which is an easy walk away. Plenty to do in Wgtn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilBSpy
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Phil, Thanks so much for the 5/5 star review - short and sweet, we like it! We're very happy that you continue to enjoy your stays with us, and play the odd prank on the boss! Thank you for your support of Rydges - looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, ^CH

289 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (259)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,286 reviews
1.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
664 reviews
0.4 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
1,985 reviews
1.3 km away
Museum Art Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: ₹ 8,865 - ₹ 15,501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Wellington staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Brevard, North Carolina
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
Auckland Region, New Zealand

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view room is nice, although there appears to be a new building which may eventually obstruct some of the views from the lower floors.”
 of 5 bubbles 210ChrisB, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A room with a water view is nice but both sides offer some view. Ask for a high floor too.”
 of 5 bubbles burtfp, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had two different rooms and both were brilliant.”
 of 5 bubbles adrienneb2017, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the 4th floor. No problems re street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles diannab989, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Big saving on the room rates”
 of 5 bubbles Odessa4me, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay