We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Base Wellington Backpackers

Hostelworld.comUS$ 37*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 64*
US$ 37*
Great Deal
US$ 62*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Base Wellington Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Base Wellington Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 280: English reviews
Havelock, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 February 2016

Stayed overnight in a mixed bed dorm, room was a little stuffy with only a fan and dehumidifier going but linen very clean, room clean, beds comfortable, wash facilities close by. Staff were friendly and helpful. It was central and easy to walk to shops etc. Good value for a couple of nights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora Yvonne, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. We aim to improve our ventilation situation in the near future. Thanks again for your feedback.

Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

It might be Base, but its for sure the worst Base i've been to. Sure, the staff is super friendly, the location is pretty much unbeatable, the facilities are somewhat decent and theres a nice bar at the bottom floor, but it has too many cons. The carpet is filled with stains, the hostel itself is quite run down, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron A
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora Ron, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. The Hostel is going through refurbishments since 2 years and several floors have been upgraded and refurbished so far including our lifts. We continue with the upgrades every winter but some problems we cannot...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

Good atmosphere!!! Clean hostel, loved it!!! Staff are great and bar downstairs is fun. Stayed a few weeks here and really enjoyed it, definitely recommend for anyone wanting to stay in the city and explore nearby, Mount Victoria is a short walk and you can watch the sunset over the city. Rooms in base were good and secure

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your kind feedback, Timo Hummel

Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

I spend 2 weeks in that backpacker and it's a very cool place, on the center of the city. Bedrooms are comfy and washrooms very clean. The wifi is quite fast even if you take the standard one.The bar of the hostel is cool and cheap; I recommend this hostel !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mickaël D
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the great feedback, we aim to have the cheapest drinks in town. Thanks again, Timo Hummel

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Carpet in the room was not clean and had stains all over the place, bathroom could also have been a little cleaner. Given its price, the value is okay but there is definitely room for improvement I would say. Also due to its nature, the hallways tend to get very noisy so be careful if you are a light sleeper.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paniek
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the honest feedback, we also aim to improve our facilities and appreciate your feedback. Timo Hummel

Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

On the 8th of Feb, a group of us from the Kiwi Experience left the base, absolutely horrified. By horrified we mean we experienced the worst 2 days in a hostel that we had NEVER experienced before. Our room was filthy, the floorboards had fallen through in a certain area which was covered by carpet. If the carpet wasn't there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola J
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the great feedback although surprised you did not reply to our email to get some more information about this apparent bed bugs incident. We actually had Rentokil check your room the morning you...

Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

Well first of all, the place aint that good. They have a 256kb for sale and a 10mb none of the above is worth their cost. I had a 6bed dorm and we were seven in there. I did not get a bed as I payed for. But luckily my girlfriend did so we shared. I did not get a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darth W
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. I am not surprised to get this feedback after I personally advised you that we wont be refunding your nights stay. You confirmed that you had a bed available when you checked in but your...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 25 January 2016

This place was fantastic for me travelling solo because they made a real effort to make sure everyone knew about all the pub crawls and other social nights they had going on. The staff were very friendly and made sure you didnt feel out of place. I had some great nights out here and met some very cool people. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra A
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora Alexandra, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your kind feedback, great to hear you enjoyed our hospitality and met many of our legendary residents. Enjoy the rest of your travels, Timo Hummel

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights when we were on the kiwi experience bus. Free food every night in the bar downstairs was good for backpackers. The room we stayed in was far too small, there were 6 beds crammed in with next to no floor space, so it was very crammed as we didn't have much room for our luggage....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the feedback, I assume you didn't notice the very large metal drawers underneath the bed to store all your belongings ? Enjoy the rest of your travels, Timo Hummel

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2016

I was glad I was only here for one night. The bathrooms were dirty and room just felt grotty as well. This was the only BASE I stayed in where I felt they lived up to their reputation of being a bit naff, the others had been ok, shame.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora Elizabeth, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Would be great to get some more feedback about being " grotty " and when you stayed with us, we clean our bathrooms up to 5 times per day which is unheard in most...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
651 reviews
0.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
718 reviews
0.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 km away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#2 of 47 in Wellington
564 reviews
0.8 km away
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Base Wellington Backpackers

Address: 21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: ₹ 2,327 - ₹ 6,012 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Wellington Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Wellington Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Wellington Backpackers Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Base Wellington Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
New Plymouth, New Zealand

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Base Wellington Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room which doesn't face the main road outside”
katieb131, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The higher the room, the better the sleep”
974jaccip, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for harbor view.”
avram22, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“It's noisy on every floor, especially near the kitchen, and the top floor.”
G4933PPmeganw, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would say though, go the private rooms. The view of the city was spectacular from the eighth floor!”
Barbary_Skipper, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$ 37* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.comUS$ 62
HotelQuicklyUS$ 64
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates