We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Base Wellington Backpackers

Hostelworld.comUS$ 36*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 63*
US$ 36*
Great Deal
US$ 61*
US$ 61*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Base Wellington Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Base Wellington Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 282: English reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

Hey the only one tip from this backpacker is the location. About the room was awful, dirty, bad smell, too noisy and very cold. You must pay if you want to use the wifi. You can find 2 elevator (6 floor). Big kitchen but very messy and dirty. It's close to the stores, restaurants and pub.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Casyomosa C
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. I am sorry you had such a bad stay with us, we always aim to keep the tidiness and smell down in the shared dormitory rooms, in the future just let us know if you...

Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Base for 2 weeks and I can definitely recommend it to everyone! Great location close to the supermarket and cafes. The staff is always friendly and helpful. You can get breakfast/ dinner for a cheap price too. Had a good time there and the best thing is the building is safe for earthquakes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Lisa, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Our old Lady is solid build and a former government building, it has a few heritage flaws but safe for all our travelers. Enjoy the rest of your travels and hopefully you wont feel to...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Came down to visit Te Papa war exhibition stayed 2 days at base. I found the staff friendly & helpful. The accomodation 4 bedroom female dorm was average but good value for amount paid. The condition of the entrance when you arrive needs a overhaul not very inviting on arrival tired appearance. The communal kitchen definitely needed an update make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teariid
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the great feedback, we are already looking at our entrance although have still to find a good solution to make it wind proof as we get pretty bad & damaging winds down Cambridge terrace....

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2016

This hostel has everything that base hostels have except the rooms were more spacious than usual the showers were better than usual and the beds were comfier. Very good location for Courtney Place (the main party street). The hostel offered a free dinner with a drink purchase

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally-Ann D
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Sally-Ann, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the great feedback. Timo Hummel

New Ross, Ireland
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a week and it was lovely. There is a real family feel to the hostel, everyone was so nice and helpful. From the delightful English lady behind reception to the German girl in the bar. It was getting done up as I visited and it looked very fresh. Well worth the stay :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Declan B
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora Declan, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your feedback. I will pass on your compliments to the girls on reception & bar, enjoy the rest of your travels. Timo Hummel

Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

The Hostel is in the middle of the City, close to Cuba Street and Te Papa Museum. For a Hostel this big its really clean, the facilities are good (also enough showers and toilets on every floor) and it has comfy places (tv lounge). I met very nice People here and can only recommend staying here :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LenaMariaNZ
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your feedback. Great to hear you had a good stay, enjoy the rest of your time in wonderful New Zealand. Timo Hummel

Reviewed 9 May 2016

Big, clean and very well mantained hostel in the heart of Wellington, close to most of the bars, the waterfront and atrractions like Te Papa Museum, and a few minutes walk to Mount Victoria. Friendly staff, good amenities and quiet for those travellers who want to sleep. 100% reccomended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucca Q
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your feedback. Thanks for your kind feedback. Timo Hummel

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Great hostel with lovely staff and good facilities! Great bar attached to the hostel with pretty cheap drinks (especially for a capital city!) good common areas and a TV with movies you can borrow from reception!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank messagesforsarah
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your feedback. Great to hear you had such a good time here, enjoy the rest of your trip. Timo Hummel

Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Probably the worset hostel base has to offer in NZ. Stuffy HOT and smelly rooms. Beds were not clean upon arrival (blood stains). However we stayed there twice because we were travelling with kiwiexp and it was cheap. The downstairs bar was fun. Location is central.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ilor1
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your feedback. Thanks for the good feedback about the food, we always aim to give the Kiwi Experience customers a good plate of food when arriving after a long day in the Bus....

Kep, Cambodia
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Base has a great location right by Courtney place where a lot of night life happens. The hostel is nice and clean and the staff very friendly. There is also a bar downstair that has good prices and every night there's something happening there- pub crawls, pool competitions. You won't get bored :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank we_die_young
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you very much for your kind feedback. Timo Hummel

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
652 reviews
0.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
719 reviews
0.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 km away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#2 of 47 in Wellington
564 reviews
0.8 km away
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Base Wellington Backpackers

Address: 21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: ₹ 2,312 - ₹ 5,907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Wellington Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Wellington Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Wellington Backpackers Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Base Wellington Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
New Plymouth, New Zealand

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Base Wellington Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room which doesn't face the main road outside”
katieb131, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The higher the room, the better the sleep”
974jaccip, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for harbor view.”
avram22, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“It's noisy on every floor, especially near the kitchen, and the top floor.”
G4933PPmeganw, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would say though, go the private rooms. The view of the city was spectacular from the eighth floor!”
Barbary_Skipper, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$ 36* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 61
Orbitz.comUS$ 61
HotelQuicklyUS$ 63
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates