We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

447 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 433: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

You take it for granted these days that all hotels have air conditioning. Unfortunately this one does not. None of the rooms offer it. It's in a great location and the decor and interiors are fine enough. Just be wary of the lack of AC in the summer. A 10cm diameter desk fan is included, however, and a heater. Neither...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tweewen
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

my room was clean, and had everything I required,bar fridge,tv,comfortable bed (a tad hard tho) spacious enough for me.. the restaurant was well received and busy.the bar was satisfactory ,And the motel was close to the cuba street mall

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellyfR8040IH
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were surprisingly able to check in early on the day of a family wedding, which was a huge bonus and allowed us to get our clothing ironed and sorted. Staff were exceptionally friendly - especially housekeeping who recognised us and greeted us each time we passed each other. Reception staff ordered our requested taxi efficiently. There was no fan...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ginny B
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear enjoyed your stay. We trust you had a great time at the wedding and hope to see you back next time you are in Wellington. YOur feedback is appreciated. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Woodland, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

booked by work travel office. has all the essentials, and most importantly a comfortable bed. a bit untidy in terms of wallpaper and paint. handy to some good eating places and handy enough to the waterfront (for walking/running).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluejack45
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback is helpful and greatly appreciated. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Basel
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms are a bit worn down. We had a junior suite which offered enough space, but the furniture is old and the sofa was heavily stained. Our room was facing the street and very noisy. The restaurant and bar was during our stay only open for breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shiketing
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your helpful feedback. Your feedback is appreciated and helps make a difference. We have an on-going refurbishment programme and will continue to make improvements. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very disappointing about this hotel as the staff there have no passion to engage with the guests or make them feel welcome. No assistance with luggage, no air-conditioning, restaurant lacks service quality or a price of meals that represent in quality. Welcome drinks were for one person, despite there being two of us.. no milk for coffee in room until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kwok320
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I was disappointed to hear about your experience. I have personally followed this up with the team. Our team work hard to ensure our guests have a good experience and you will see from other feedback that we normally achieve high standards of service. I sincerely apologise that we did not meet our normal...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great service checking in and out. Every other time I passed through reception all I saw was the top of head/s. Room was average. Unfortunately it wasn't until I checked in that I was told no restaurant or room service during my stay due to holidays ( 10 - 12 Jan ). A large part of my choosing this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WWDreamer
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I have noted your feedback regarding the restaurant and will look into ways we can better inform guests. Your feedback is helpful, valued and appreicated. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Whanganui, NZ
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is in a pretty good location and provides the essentials however it is an older building and has signs of wear. Facilities in the room were ok but overall the impression was of a fairly tired set-up that seems to me only just meets Mercure standard. Everything was clean and the suite I was in had a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RT-Whanganui
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We have an on-going refurbishment programme an your feedback helps make a difference. Your feedback is valued and appreciated. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everyone was very pleasant and the room was spacious and nice. The facilities were adequate and the bed was comfortable.We enjoyed the view from the 7th floor. We had a full breakfast, which was very enjoyable.. We would definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephenjp2017
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is great to hear you will stay with us again on your next visit. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 km away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
0.8 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,025 reviews
0.2 km away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#21 of 46 in Wellington
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.0 km away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#26 of 46 in Wellington
476 reviews
0.5 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman is perfectly positioned in the heart of Wellingtons, cultural, business and entertainment districts. 73 spacious guest rooms. Newly refurbished conference facilities are on site and offer a balance between style and practicability. All with natural light. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel

Address: 169 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand (Formerly Abel Tasman Hotel Accommodation Wellington)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: ₹ 5,712 - ₹ 15,504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abel Tasman Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was on the 6th floor..a bit of traffic noise.the room was on the south side,a good view”
 of 5 bubbles kellyfR8040IH, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles Kwok320, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“higher up are quieter - although its a noisy hotel they do supply ear plugs!”
 of 5 bubbles bustedblonde, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the rooms overlooking the Wilson Car Park if you are a light sleeper.”
 of 5 bubbles OzGypsy73, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room with kitchenette if you want one.”
 of 5 bubbles Christo99, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5