We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Cambridge Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Cambridge Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

605 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Cambridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 564: English reviews
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

The Cambridge was great clean, tidy, reasonable prices the staff that I dealt with were friendly & helpful. I had 2 granddaughters with me & the only thing that we could on the tv were a couple of sport channels not good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raewyn1960
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Raewyn, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you and your granddaughters enjoyed your recent stay with us, and found the team to be friendly and helpful. I am sorry that we were experiencing issues with our TV channels during...

Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

To start off, the place wouldn't let us check in to our room until 2pm, even though the room was ready (I know this is common for most places but for a hostel it seems ridiculous). Once we were granted access to our room we were appalled. Stained, dirty carpet, one single sheet on the bed despite the room having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HTSchuyler
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I wish we had been given the chance to discuss this in more detail during your stay, and been given the chance to resolve some of these issues. Our guaranteed...

Umea, Sweden
Reviewed 20 November 2016

We had a fine stay apart from a very shaky earthquake. The staff were calm and collected. And helpful. We had a good stay despite the many after quakes which we slowly got used to. The hotel is very central.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swedishsatish
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you found the staff to be helpful and calm during the recent earthquakes in Wellington. We take both guest and the team's safety very seriously, so it is great to hear that you...

Reviewed 19 November 2016

Very nice living place, a bit noisy on the week end but i met a lot of people in there which is quit good for me as i just arrived in New Zealand. The siutation in Wellington is just perfect (less than 15 min walk from almost everything the city have to offer), perfect place for someone who want to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sébastien T
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sebastien, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that the Cambridge Hotel was a great base for you to discover all that Wellington has to offer, upon your recent arrival. Thank you for posting your reassuring comments after the recent earthquake....

Golden Bay, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 November 2016

A group of 10 of us stayed at the Cambridge for the weekend and loved it. The staff looked after us so well and we had everything we needed in one spot. Will definetly be staying again next time we go to Wellington.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanbruning
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jean, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay, and our team were able look after you. I will definitely pass on your lovely comments. We hope if you return to Wellington you choose again...

Reviewed 7 November 2016

I stayed two nights (Friday & Saturday) in room 124 and right outside my window was the roof of a bar or nightclub. Music and noisy people singing and partying well into the night. It was after 2am before I fell sleep, exhausted, on the Saturday night. They were still partying. I recommend ear plugs if you want to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joy H
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Joy, Thank you for taking the time leave feedback for the Cambridge Hotel on Trip Advisor. We’re glad to read that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, and enjoyed the central location during your recent stay with us. It’s unfortunate that the carry over noise from the bar affected your stay with us. We are aware...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2nights at this hotel. The staff are friendly helpful and happy. The breakfast is so good. Bacon eggs and hash browns I had. Was really nice. Shower is great pressure. Rooms are good. Only thing is noisy. I was on first floor and can hear music from bar. And outside noise really clearly. I was facing Cambridge Terrace....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank funchick37
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi funchick37, Thank you for taking the time to leave review the Cambridge Hotel, and for your lovely comments.We’re glad to read that you enjoyed the facilities, and found the staff to be friendly and helpful during your recent stay with us. It’s unfortunate that the outside noise affected your stay with us. We have a great central location, which...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The Cambridge has a wide range of rooms and a top location, just up the road from Te Papa, with the Embassy opposite. Shops & restaurants are within easy walking distance as well. I stayed in a very comfortable single room on the second floor, with lovely high ceilings & a big sash window. The centrally located Bistro had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynz316
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lyn, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed our great central location and the facilities of the hotel. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the staff. We pride ourselves on...

Reviewed 1 November 2016

Right at the top of Courtney Place and close to Te Papa, the waterfront and dozens of amazing restaurants this is one of the nicest and probably cheapest hotels I have stayed in when visiting Wellington. I chose this hotel purely on price as I figure you are only sleeping there so why pay the earth? and I was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Simon, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Cambridge Hotel. We’re glad to read that you enjoyed the services provided by our team. I will pass on your lovely comments. We have a great central location, which makes the Cambridge Hotel a perfect base for exploring the attractions....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a good centrally located hotel / pub in Wellington look no further. The rooms are very reasonably priced, always cleaned by a fantastic staff. The bistro offers good food available all day and there are always specials on offer. I have stayed here many times and will always come back when I need to visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alienzoo
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, First of all we’d like to extend a very warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your lovely comments about our housekeeping staff, I will be sure to pass this on to Rose and the team. They take great pride in the their work, and will be delighted to hear...

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.3 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
1,978 reviews
1.2 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 46 in Wellington
2,316 reviews
1.7 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#27 of 46 in Wellington
460 reviews
0.5 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
663 reviews
1.9 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful heritage building.Immensely popular for our value accommodation and our central location in the heart of the city. From traditional rooms upstairs, to state of the art backpacker facilities.Come, join us in the bar for a free kiwi BBQ every Wednesday,or our fab menus with breaky starting from only $3 for eggs on toast! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cambridge Hotel

Address: 28 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: ₹ 1,775 - ₹ 5,529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cambridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Wellington
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#15 Business Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cambridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Cambridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Amazing rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 196jacka, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“check out its rooms on its website then decide from there”
 of 5 bubbles TonyM431, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“My room was away from the street, but very noisy with partying past 2am in the morning on nights I was there.”
 of 5 bubbles joyh671, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“They are all noisy sorry. I did ask but they did not have an ensuite rooms away from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are both ensuite or shared bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles t0nyb36, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay