We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wellesley Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 235: English reviews
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 27 November 2015

The Wellesley is in an excellent location in the heart of Wellington. Easy access to everything and the rooms are nice in a "classic" way. The only negatives I would offer are, as a "Boutique" Hotel charging high rates for rooms, that they are not offing full value-for-money. Bar and restaurant close early (8 pm), rooms were less clean than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Acton K
happyfeert, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't feel you received value for money when staying at our hotel recently. Prices and vacancies were at a premium in Wellington at the time you stayed hence the increase in price. I also believe you had the last room available which is the smallest of our rooms. As the hotel is in the CBD where...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 November 2015

The hotel my boss usually stays in in Wellington was fully booked. I hoped that this was a good alternative when I booked it - she needed comfortable, warm and relaxing. Unfortunately it was so noisy she barely had any sleep - the noise was from the wind shaking and rattling the windows and the ceiling vent all night. Maybe...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Magwiki
happyfeert, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review on behalf of your boss. I am sorry she had a disturbed night with the wind. Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the weather. On the night she stayed we had super gale force winds which would rattle anything , even in a modern high rise building you would hear the wind howling. Our hotel...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

Not sure about this hotel, It's for sure old, the suite was nice, the left was classic for sure. Going there on a Sunday night near the CBD was not the wisest thing to do as its too far from everything that is open for business at night. The lady who let us in when we got there was very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sydney_White
happyfeert, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy some of the aspects of your stay. I think it is fair to say that the CBD in any city is naturally very quiet in the evenings and at the weekend especially on a Sunday when you stayed with us. We actually have many guests who stay with...

Toronto
Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

This is a heritage hotel and as such had great atmosphere to match the vaguely victorian/Edwardian decor. Good sized room; bar looked fun with jazz on certain nights but didn't get a chance to experience this. The heating system was a little dodgy to operate and the night officer ( a wonderful lady ) brought up various heaters to supplement...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CAS52
happyfeert, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and maybe you will return on one of our Jazz nights. Because of the age of the building some things are a bit of a challenge but we usually manage to overcome them usually with the help of our great staff. We hope you will visit us again....

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Wellesley Boutique This little spot in the centre of Wellington's CBD started life as a gentlemen's club, and the handsome heritage building now houses a contemporary hotel which retains lots of the Club's fixtures, atmosphere and charm: dark wood panelling, richly patterned carpets and black and white marble floors, original brass message plates, quaint old-fashioned elevator, open staircase, grand piano,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MissAnd123
happyfeert, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comprehensive and positive review of our Hotel. We have recently embarked on an upgrade programme and have completed the entrance way and two meeting/function rooms just off the entrance and reception area which have proved very popular. The Grand dining room is on the list for refurbishment. It still looks pretty amazing when dressed...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 October 2015

I like the Wellesley. It's not modern, it's not brand new, it's not somewhere I'd want to live and I don't want to live in a home that felt the same. But it's worth a visit because it's good value and well located if you don't mind that old world feel and so I do come back from time to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
happyfeert, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. The old world feel you mention dates back to 1927 so there is a lot of history to preserve. We are trying to refurbish while "modernising" but maintaining the style and character of the building and hence it's charm. Also we are doing within the constraints of...

Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

If you want to try something different this establishment is superb. Located in the legal and parliamentary quarter of the CBD the Wellesley Hotel has been superbly renovated to provide the normal facilities you come to expect in any 4-5 star hotel but retains its bones of a former early 20th century Gentleman's Club. Astrid greeted us warmly on arrival...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Snouter
happyfeert, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

It was really nice to read such a review for our Hotel. We are very proud of our building, facilities and our staff and try to ensure that guests enjoy their stay. Thank you. We do appreciate your comments. Regards, Kathleen Brooker Guest Relations

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2015

A beautiful old building with large rooms in a great location being only a few minutes walk from the harbour, main shopping precinct, cable car entry etc etc. I like to stay in accommodation with history however it does need quite a lot of renovation (eg peeling paint, a lot of road noise and the plumbing was a challenge!) which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DBG65
happyfeert, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel. Our building was built in the 1920's and has a Heritage Category 1 listing. As with many historic buildings it is a challenge to upgrade and refurbish them especially within the constraints of the Heritage listing. However we have now completed and installed a new canopy, painted, wallpapered and upgraded the...

Raglan, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

Older classic style tastefully decorated very comfortable room for the period or modern comtempory man wonderful friendly service walking distant to conveniences and shopping Breakfast in the cafe was basic. would return. Managed to find an affordable room last minute Great wellington icon!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn W
happyfeert, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of our Heritage Boutique Hotel and all it has to offer. Our staff are very loyal and committed to make our guests stay the best it can be. We look forward to welcoming you again when you are in Wellington. Regards, Kathleen...

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2015

A truly gentleman's club atmosphere suffuses this boutique hotel, but both sexes are equally welcome. Attentive and informative staff ensured that every moment of our short stay in Wellington was put to best use . Its history and present usage for high level meetings will keep it going in Wellington's city centre for the foreseeable future , but I feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickcooper186414
happyfeert, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very proud of our Heritage Hotel and that our staff were very helpful. We are currently renovating the downstairs area and bar area. We are limited to what we can do by the requirements of the Category 1 Heritage listing. I am sure if you stay with us again in the future you...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,340 reviews
0.2 km away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#23 of 46 in Wellington
85 reviews
0.2 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
701 reviews
0.4 km away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#10 of 46 in Wellington
787 reviews
0.3 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1922 the Hotel is a category one Heritage building. It has 13 bedrooms each unique in character with generous bathrooms. It is nestled in central Wellington handy to the waterfront, railway station and ferries, government centre, parliament, the courts, business district, cable car, and Lambton Quay shopping and the stadium. All are within easy walking distance. Public transport is close by. Te Papa 20 minutes walk, Courtenay Place 30 minutes walk. The Hotel does not have it's own parking but there is parking available. Parking is free outside the Hotel from 6:00pm to 8:00am Monday to Thursday and after 8:00pm Friday and all weekend. Personal service and attention to detail is a priority and our "1815 Cafe and Bar" which is open from 7am until 8pm (Monday to Friday) for breakfast, lunch, light meals morning and afternoon teas and as a house bar . Coffee is a speciality. Free wiFi. Spoil yourself with a stay at Wellington's finest Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Address: 2-8 Maginnity St | (Central Business District), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: ₹ 7,542 - ₹ 11,267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellesley Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Wellesley Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellesley Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Wellington
Wellington Wellesley
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wellesley Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Wellesley Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Would try somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Holidays1217, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Front of the hotel for light but not the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 309christopherb, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“can be a wee bit noisy so back rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles bustedblonde, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 401 has a massive bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles AlanW221, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms face street so all the same but just different sizes and facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles adrienneo147, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5