We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Richmond Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Richmond Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Richmond Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 289: English reviews
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 28 April 2016

We stayed at the Richmond Guest House because it was the only hotel/B&B that we could find in Wellington that had free wifi, free parking, AND free breakfast and was still walking distance to the city center. We were pleasantly surprised with the location. It was great and was an easy walk to everything we wanted to do in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pwdrpinkprncess2
Taranaki
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Would not recommend it. The guest lounge was dominated by the owner who was extremely rude. As there was no TV in the room the opportunity to relax without the manager interrupting conversation would have been appreciated The room was clean and value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tarananki
johno116, Owner at Richmond Guest House, responded to this review

Well folks . i realize that this was your first bed and breakfast, but this is what they are all about folk stay here because they know that they will meet folk from all over the world and i am told that im a friendly talkative type and yes i realize that living way out in the country as you...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We had such a great stay at the Richmond Guest house. We turned up late in the evening and were provided a lovely furnished room, with en-suite and a cup of tea after a big day. John was fantastic, giving us a parking spot right outside the guesthouse, ensuring sure that we wouldn't get ticketed. The room looked like the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie T
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewed 25 March 2016

My friend and I, in our mid 50's and 60's, stayed here for two nights. It started upon arrival," I'm not talking to her (me) Manager said and said to my friend you translate". We looked at each other and thought that we missed something. He made a big fuss when I asked for brown bread toast and was most...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Wendy411
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Manager complained about his staff, other guests, and I also got first hand his rudeness. There was a better way to say what he wanted to say, yes it required a few more words and politeness. It would have had a better effect and not ruined the beginning of my day. I can only imagine how he complained about me...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Mar1g0ld
johno116, Owner at Richmond Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Marigold, well its' obvious why we have so many positive reviews from guests , because most people that come here are positive people they know basically what to expect Ie' that its a hundred plus year old restored house.not a trendy little 5 star boutique, I'm' really confused you obviously did-int like me or the house when you arrived...

Nelson
Reviewed 9 March 2016

I had a very joyful stay at Richmond Guest House. The guest house was thoughtfully furnished and displayed. I had my own en suite and access to basic amenity's such as a fully functioning kitchen, heater and haridryer. John was ever so friendly and provided me with all the information a tourist would need. The guest house was 5 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

This is a B&B - a guesthouse. It has no pretensions of being upmarket - it is what it is! And what that was, was $85 for a Tuesday night stay - about 1/2 the cost of any hotel available on that same night in Wellington central. My downstairs, below street level, room was basic however it was clean, had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albywon
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Richmond House is conveniently located close to the centre of town and one can get everywhere on foot or bus. All the basic amenities are clean and the owner allows full use of the kitchen when the staff do not need to be there. Only rooms 4 and 6 are upstairs and if you are a person who likes an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethTaiChiChih
Taupo
Reviewed 8 February 2016

This place is very handy to the waterfront and restaurants and bars, all within walking distance. John provides a parking coupon so there is limited parking available for guests. We stayed in room 4, which was spacious and very clean, but only a double bed which did sag a bit in the middle. The earlier party had stopped by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TaupoSheryll
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Comfortable, spacious room with morning paper. Not for late risers, as breakfast room must be vacated by 9.15. That was not a problem for me. Budget breakfast of cereal, toast and instant coffee, self -service. More suitable for business travellers than holiday makers.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cathy H

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
640 reviews
1.8 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,050 reviews
1.7 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
702 reviews
0.9 km away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#20 of 46 in Wellington
576 reviews
0.6 km away
Apollo Lodge Motel
Apollo Lodge Motel
#6 of 46 in Wellington
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Richmond Guest House is a lovely 19th century eleven room villa less than 1 km from Courtenay Place and Wellington City Business District (CBD). The Richmond has recently been refurbished and has all its' original features including beautiful ornate plaster ceilings and cornices throughout. Restored to it's former grandeur, we have eleven freshly renovated rooms, single, double, twin and triple all of which have there own bathrooms plus hairdryers, radio alarms and newspapers delivered to rooms daily. Free, varied, continental breakfast is included with all rooms. There is a communal kitchen where guests can prepare their own meals with a connecting dining room where complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate is always available. Plus we have a computer set up in the dining room for free internet use and there is free WiFi throughout the building as well. We also have a TV lounge where you can relax, and free laundry use is available. If you have a car, you can easily park for free in the street in front of the guest house (we will provide you a resident card). We are a 100% non-smoking property (and we don't encourage smokers !) and not suitable for children. Check in time is from 11 a.m. until 10 p.m. The bus number 2 stops up the street, and we are on the shuttle bus route and within a 10 minute drive to the Airport, Rail, and Inter-island Ferry (Approximately $25 for two from airport and ferry). To quote your host John Cairns, "We don't claim to be the Hilton, but if you are traveling to Wellington for business or pleasure, for one night or ten, we offer clean, well located and comfortable accommodation at an affordable price." So next time you are in Wellington pay us a visit - Your Home Away From Home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Richmond Guest House

Address: 116 Brougham Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: ₹ 4,185 - ₹ 6,347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Richmond Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Richmond Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Guest House Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Richmond Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Richmond Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I dont think that choice is an option here”
 of 5 bubbles Peter0620, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay out of the basement”
 of 5 bubbles stevebR2291HA, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms towards the back of the building are closer to the kitchen/dining room so may be woken up early-ish although we didn't mind.”
 of 5 bubbles 620venusv, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms away from room are quiter”
 of 5 bubbles , 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I did not choose the room, but i was totally surprised by the room I got. Feels like I am at home.”
 of 5 bubbles Deicidal, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5