We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

QT Museum Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
QT Museum Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,538 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,471: English reviews
Start your review of QT Museum Wellington
 Click to rate
Nz
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed one night in a standard room, but it did boast a fabulous black bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable and these two travellers had a great night's sleep. We returned for one more night later the same week and found ourselves in a larger room with a fine bathroom but without the theatricality of the first experience. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
Battle, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

A really nicely done out hotel with character in a great location. The executive twin studio was very well equipped and comfortable. The bar is nice with friendly staff and I found the gym and swimming pool to be satisfactory. We would probably stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColinO11
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Fisbis12, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stylish apartment and our convenient location. Thank you too for passing on the tiling issue, please be assured this has since been scheduled for repair. Warm regards, Chris

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had an apartment in the building. Hotel rooms are to the front of the building, I sum with a sea view. We looked out over the road behind and on to a restaurant and small supermarket. The chairs in the room had, we felt, erred on the side of style over comfort. One of the chairs was wire mesh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fisbis12
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Starting with an iffy check in experience this hotel promised much but ultimately failed to hit the spot. The room was spacious enough and had a washing machine which was useful for us to catch up with our washing, however the room was a bit tired and could have done with freshing up. Breakfast was definitely sub standard with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FandDD
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review

Dear FandDD, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience with us, thrilled you enjoyed the location! We're disappointed to hear your stay missed the mark though, please be assured this is not our usually standard. We'll be following up in the areas raised. Best regards, Chris

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a 5 Star hotel should be. From the beautifully fitted out bedroom and stunning black and gold marble bathroom, to service where anything was possible and was delivered with aplomb. You must dine at their restaurant Hippopotamus (and have the 400gm steak for 2 calved at your table), or at least have a drink at their amazing bar, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt Y
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Matt Y, Thank you for your knock out 5 STAR review! That’s what QT Life is all about and we’re ecstatic to hear our quirky ways are to your taste! Sounds like you really get us, we look forward to having you stay again soon. Best regards, Chris

Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved our stay here - and not just because we were upgraded to the Penthouse! Comfortable beds, great showers, everywhere spotlessly clean just as you would expect from a hotel of this standing. The staff were friendly and attentive and we loved all of the quirky art everywhere. The location is brilliant - we were able to explore everywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SDW8
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review

Dear SDW8, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your fabulous review! Our friendly and attentive team will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your upgrade to our luxurious Wellington Suite. Great you were able to immerse yourself in our eclectic Art Collection too. Warm regards, Chris

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything about this hotel and our dining experience at the Hippopotamus Restaurant was amazing. The dessert "creme brûlée" was the best I have ever eaten! Oh and the bed was so comfortable.. memory foam!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruthhenderson13
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review

Dear ruthhenderson13, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, what a fabulous review! We’re really are spoilt with all the sweet treats coming out of our award winning Hippopotamus Restaurant. So pleased you enjoyed the comfort of our QT Gel beds too, makes it harder to get up in the morning! See you again soon, Chris

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a fantastic two nights at the Museum Hotel. The staff we great, the room was just what we needed and the bath was divine! The bride and bridesmaids stayed the night before and we stayed the night of the wedding. The beds were super comfortable and the fully fitted out kitchen was great. We would definitely recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _ruthtv75
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review

Dear _ruthtv75, Thank you so much for leaving your amazing review. We’re absolutely delighted you chose to stay with us on your special day! And what a lovely idea to have the beautiful bride and bridesmaids enjoy a lush QT night before the main event. We look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary! Warmest regards, Chris

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A fantastic boutique hotel with its own zesty style. Well appointed and definitely non traditional. I stayed in the apartments not the hotel, and enjoyed immersing myself in its eclectic collection of history and art. Bed was superbly comfortable and the room was quiet. Definitely a recommended hotel close the the waterfront and city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TimTheHermit
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review

Dear TimTheHermit, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We're thrilled to hear we were right up your alley! We hope you had fun immersing yourself is QT Life! Until next time, Chris

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The QT was gorgeous and the location was very popular. Situated across from the meusam and the Sunday farmers market. Aditionaly the cable car and beach are both within reasonable walking distance. The rooms are well dressed (sometimes more beautiful than functional) and the staff was friendly and helpful. Highly recommended for couples.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander W
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Alexander W, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at QT Museum Wellington. We hope you made the most of our fab location. We look forward to welcoming you back for further romantic stays soon! Warmest, Chris

523 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (500)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (120)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (199)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.9 km away
InterContinental Wellington
1.5 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
1,360 reviews
0.2 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.3 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,786 reviews
0.3 km away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: ₹ 8,856 - ₹ 16,613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from QT Museum Wellington staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Longmont
4 months ago
Canberra, Australia
9 months ago
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Amelia Island, FL
5 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from QT Museum Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with a view - you know you are in Wellington”
T852GNchristines, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Executive suite - step less shower & laundry facilities”
lauramJ6992RB, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Recommend booking on the Apartment Side of the Hotel, as the rooms can be a little small if going for the suites in the hotel”
oliviak751, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose an apartment if you want self catering .”
Chillywasps, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Hotel fairly Central - near free museum, harbour bars, theaters and restaurants within walking distance to high street shops and cable car”
AndyB1250, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5