We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 47 hotels in Wellington

Grand Mercure Wellington

104 reviews
Save
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (9)
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good26%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“valet parking”(9 reviews)
“accor members”(3 reviews)
“main downtown”(2 reviews)
Wifi
Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Indoor pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
3.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Grand Mercure Wellington
Special Offer: FUEL YOUR FUN
Hotel deals
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (104)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
50
28
13
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
50
28
13
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingaccor membersmain downtowntastefully decorated roomextremely friendly helpful staffsmith streetcomplementary roommain bardelicious buffet breakfastgreat comfortshort walk to cuba streetmajor renovationblack out curtainsbeautiful hotellovely roomsshower doorwonderful stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

This hotel has a great view from its hilltop location and is walking distance from Cuba St (although there is an uphill walk after dinner). There was a good buffet selection at breakfast, and espresso coffee was available with breakfast at no extra cost (although...More

Thank Graham W
Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Stayed Executive Suite: Was a very good and welcoming stay, plenty of space and the furnishings were comfortable. Although not high luxury it had a very new look and pleasant style to it. Pros: Spacious and comfortable, good service, good value for money. 15 walk...More

1  Thank Andrew_888_K
Response from Fr0ntOfficeManager, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure WellingtonResponded 16 October 2017

Kia Ora Andrew_888_K, Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed our King Suite, it indeed is spacious with great views of the city and the harbour beyond. We are looking into your feedback regarding...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was very nice and the people were very friendly and helpful. Room was very small but modern and clean. Was just what we needed for the 1 night we were staying but wouldn't want to stay too long as there is no room....More

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Wealle
Response from JadeStunden, Manager at Grand Mercure WellingtonResponded 1 week ago

Kia Ora Wealle I am so glad to hear you found our hotel nice and our team friendly. I am sorry though that you found the room hot, we definitely do have air conditioning in all rooms so if this was not working I hope...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Welly is often a tricky city to find accommodation in a handy location and what you think is very close in may not actually be so. The Grand Mercure is a revamped hotel...I can recall staying in this building ten years ago but can't recall...More

Thank Old V
Response from JadeStunden, Manager at Grand Mercure WellingtonResponded 1 week ago

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us Old V. I hope you will return however we are pleased to say our sister hotel Novotel has direct access onto Lambton Quay should you wish to try them next time. Thanks for the review Warm regards...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From ordinary to very, very nice. Much bigger and nicer bar area (a bit pricey). You might even be forgiven if you thought you were near a Sofitel, without the French pleasantries. The Restaurant has one of the nicest views of Wellington compared to some...More

Thank Allanh50
Response from JadeStunden, Manager at Grand Mercure WellingtonResponded 1 week ago

Kia Ora Allanh50 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, it was lovely to read you had a great stay and enjoyed our new hotel. Lucky you were here with us for the quake as we are proud to be...More

PreviousNext
12345620
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (9)
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Bathroom (4)
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenPartner
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Banquet Room
Babysitting
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$ 101 - US$ 183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 101 - US$ 183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite