We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,612 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,567: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Although it's in a great location, I found it very much a chain hotel, and slightly impersonal. Eating in the restaurant at dinner, even though it was 3/4 empty I was placed right next to 2 families having a meal, though when I asked to be moved I was. The lifts take a bit to get used to as some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ali444211
Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 November 2016

The staff of this hotel was very adequate and gave clear information of the siituation during the aerthquacke. Rooms may be a little oldfashiioned but they are clean. The buffet in the restaurant of this hotel was very good

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Geerten W
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Great location matches the great hotel. Absolutely accessible to all of Wellington City. Short walk to Westpac Stadium. My barometer is "Would I stay thee again?" Answer is yes. A nice little bar for a late night cap with great coffee

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrissW8644CD
Auckland
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Really disappointed to find blood stained sheets in my room. Found the stain when I woke in the morning. Took a picture on my phone and showed it to reception when checking out. They did nothing and no apology. Very disappointing

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DaveANZ
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review

Hello DaveANZ I'm sorry that you have not found the time to return our calls. I suspect a quick telephone conversation would very quickly clear this matter up. Regards Steve Martin General Manager

Sydney
Reviewed 17 November 2016

The foyer is new and modern, the lifts are old and clunky, we had a room with a city view - the room fittings seemed pretty old, but everything was clean and well presented. Concierge service to park the car was a nice touch after a long day driving.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owingee
Auckland
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

A very good option based in the Wellington CBD. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Service is very good; including concierge, front desk, room service, house keeping, & to-room laundry/dry cleaning service. Checkout is 11am. Convenient parking available on site incl. valet. Wifi available at no cost. Basic television available; movies cost extra. Two restaurant options available on site: Whitbys...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AaronNz
Greytown, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 November 2016

The James Cook Hotel is our choice hotel when staying in Wellington. It is an excellent location that suits our needs and is generally well priced for weekend stays. I find the staff friendly and very helpful and the bar and restaurant a relaxing place to meet up with friends.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcjagray
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 November 2016

23 of us Older people stayed one night during a visit to the War museums. Pre-booking worked well, reception was on the ball with room allocation & keys ready on arrival. Restaurant served a wide range of tasty food, service was quite good. Rooms comfortable & quiet, check-out was as efficient as check-in. Hotel in only a minute from main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reg C
Taumarunui
Reviewed 16 November 2016

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights for a weekend away. We found the location really handy and enjoyed being able to walk to most things. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Check in was easy and our vehicle was parked for us with no issues during the stay. We were here the night of the Kaikoura earthquake...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwiPeachy
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 November 2016

The staff are what made out visit to this hotel so special. We were visiting for a very special occasion and the staff acknowledged this at every opportunity, including the delivery of a special selection of chocolates and fruit. The hotel is well positioned for shopping, walking along the waterfront, transport etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne J

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,051 reviews
0.6 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,340 reviews
0.1 km away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 46 in Wellington
1,945 reviews
0.2 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: ₹ 6,937 - ₹ 15,380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#13 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in tHe wing across the high rise connecting walkway are recommended.”
 of 5 bubbles PerryB137, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you have a street map of central Wellington so you don't get lost.”
 of 5 bubbles harold783, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“nothing in particular”
 of 5 bubbles reichers59, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Use the basement elevators to take you right out into the main CBD”
 of 5 bubbles stuartmJ2570AV, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't get 1610, it is opposite the gym and noisy”
 of 5 bubbles tenby50, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5