We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Booking.comUS$ 116*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,422 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,388: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 January 2016

A very very spacious room- a partition wall between the king bed and the two single beds! Definitely recommend to ask for an apartment facing the water as it is well worth waking up to the view. The room was very newly and nicely done. Not too far a walk into the city but take a jacket in the evenings!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaycurl10
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear Jaycurl10 Thank you for choosing to stay with us whilst in the capital and posting your review. Kind Regards Kenneth Orr General Manager

Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Everything was great at copthorne and we had a great time. Staff are excellent and do go out of there way to help. If im going to pick a fault it would be that there is no changing room by the pool and you have to stroll back past the restaurant dripping water everywhere on the way back to your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear Kerry H Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards Kenneth Orr General Manager

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 30 December 2015

Beautiful location, hotel has floor to ceiling windows with a view of the harbor and mountains. Hotel has high standards, room are good and the beds luxuriously comfortable. It's a great price, got much more than expected. Good location. Highly recommend. Only down side is Wifi - you have to pay, not good in these times when everyone offers it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janesharo88
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear janesharo88 Many thanks for your positive comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Kind Regards Kenneth Orr, General Manager

Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

In this day and age it really is not acceptable to be only able to access wifi in the lobby for 30 minutes. On the plus side our room was big and comfortable with good shower in the bathroom. Not so sure about the window fro the bathroom into the bedroom. Ok, there was a blind to maintain modesty but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cathy B
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear Cathy B Thank you for sharing your experience with both positive and negative feedback. Kind regards Kenneth Orr General Manager

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 December 2015

On our recent visit to Wellington we booked into the Copthorne Hotel because of being located on Oriental Parade. We upgraded to a room over looking the Harbour and were not disappointed with the size and the new refurbishments it offered. We were within walking distance to many restaurants ,Te Papa and the Wellington vibrant waterfront. As we had arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce_Lorraine
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear Bruce_Lorraine Thank you for providing feedback on your stay. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the harbour view room and our proximity to all the main attractions. Kind Regards Kenneth Orr General Manager

London
Reviewed 19 December 2015

Having stayed in a Copthorne Hotel in Bay of Islands which was average we weren't expecting much of this hotel. However we only stayed one night in the Copthorne Oriental but received exceptional service from the staff who were all extremely helpful and very courteous. For example our checkin was dealt with very efficiently but in a very friendly manner....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanjeanius
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear jeanjeanius I enjoyed your review and it is a shame you only had one day to enjoy our city. I hope you can return in the future for a longer stay. Kind Regards Kenneth Orr General Manager

New Zealand
Reviewed 18 December 2015

We recently stayed at the Copthorne Wellington in a double room with Harbour view. Ideally located on Oriental Parade, close to restaurants, Te Papa Museum and the city this hotel is one we will definitely return to. There is a great bar with sea and city views on the 7th floor and multiple options for breakfast both in the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwi2010uk
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear kiwi2010uk thank you for your positive review. It is great to read you had a wonderful time and plan to return in the future. Kind regards Kenneth Orr General Manager.

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 17 December 2015

We stayed at the Copthorne the nights of Sunday, November 22nd and 23rd, 2015. What really sells this hotel are the views of the city and harbor from the room. Be sure to request a harbor view room. We’d at first been assigned a room that just overlooked what seemed to be a back alley. When we requested a harbor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlobalExplorer
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear GlobalExplorer many thanks for your informative review. I am pleased you enjoyed your time in the capital. Kind regards Kenneth Orr General Manager

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 December 2015

I stay almost every week in Welling for work and was booked into the Copthorne. I was give big room with two double beds (!?!) with a sea view. This loooked great but the room was close to the noisy road and the lift... I was woken up several times during the night by noise in the hallway / lift...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Willem V
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear Willem V Thank you for posting your comments on your experience. It very disappointing to read that we did not meet your expectations in any way. If you are returning to Wellington please allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves as we have faith in our standard of service and the product we have on offer. Do not hesitate...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Heading down for the weekend, our first impressions were good until we began to look at small details. We stayed cheap which was just as well given at full price it wouldn't have been worth it. For a self claimed 4 star hotel, the lack of air conditioning in the room was surprising and so was the lack of free...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thronodor
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear Thronodor Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I was disappointed that we were a mix of good and bad during your stay. I have used your comments to review our operational standards and implement positive change. Kind regards Kenneth Orr General Manager

346 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (289)
Viewed
View from Room (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.2 km away
InterContinental Wellington
1.8 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
1,361 reviews
0.6 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,791 reviews
0.4 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,542 reviews
1.3 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Where location is everything! A $10 million refurbishment and its prime waterfront position overlooking one of the world'€™s most beautiful harbors makes the Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay one of the most luxurious accommodation experiences in Wellington. Contemporary decor, exceptional dining options, heated indoor swimming pool and state-of-the-art technology with all the convenient comforts you would expect from a modern city hotel such as broadband internet, modem points and a large wall-mounted LCD TV. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Address: 100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: ₹ 7,733 - ₹ 12,630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Wellington
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#6 Family Hotel in Wellington
#6 Business Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room, no. 603, had lovely views of the bay”
  • Sunrise at the Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
  • The beautiful view from our room, no. 603
KKGoldCoast, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with a view. Suites are huge but not in a good area of hotel.”
holiday888, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room on levels 4-7 only.”
dapper_jay66, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Harbour views if you can get”
leoniebarlow, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be lower then the seventh floor. As floors 8, 9 and 10. You need to get two separate lifts to..”
RuthVick, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 116* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 116
HotelQuicklyUS$ 129
Orbitz.comUS$ 116
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates