We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ohtel

Booking.comUS$ 165*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 165*
US$ 165*
US$ 165*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Ohtel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ohtel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 369: English reviews
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 August 2014

What a great place this is! Right across the from the water on Oriental Parade this boutique hotel plays above its weight. With only ten rooms it has a very intimate feel. All of the staff are very professional and well briefed in the art of service. We had a room on the 3rd floor, not a suite but close....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey B
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Geoffrey B, Thanks for your Royal review ! Our aim is for our guests to enjoy a home away from home. Little touches like under floor heating in the bathrooms help create that sense of comfort. Hope to see you back soon. Alan

Wellington
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This small boutique hotel in Wellington is close to the nightlife area and has beautiful views. I have stayed here several times before and am always greeted by very friendly helpful staff. I stayed in room 4 which was very well appointed. I prefer the studio though as it has a huge bath (no view though). Ohtel is always my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sampdog
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Thanks Sampdog for being a regular. Some guests like to try a different room each time, others discover a favourite and stick with it. See you again soon ! Alan

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Ohtel promised a fantastic night away and certainly delivered! My girlfriend and I were celebrating our one month anniversary and our room (room 2) provided a secluded, romantic and charming night away in the 'big' city. We were both treated to a lovely morning breakfast, featuring french toast and banana which was to die for. I'd recommend this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Braden297
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Braden, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others, and congratulations on your 1 month anniversary ! I have just been filling out an on-line request for a government congratulatory message for my parents' upcoming 50th wedding anniversary.. A long way to go to match that for both of us ! Alan

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Location great, walk away from bars. Great staff, clean rooms that are very spacious. Few points the ground floor room had a tiny window in the corner that doesn't open... would have liked bigger windows. Sure there are nicer rooms in the hotel. Also TV was not opposite bed but at a strange angle on the wall and was quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James K
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review James, and good advice reminding guests to confirm room location before finalising your booking as they all offer something slightly different. There are pdf floor plans of the hotel on our website, or if you are not good with pictures, please give us a call with any queries you may have. Alan

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The place to stay in Wellington, OHETL ....This small boutique hotel is awesome from the location, view, decor, design to the service and cleanliness. I stayed in the junior suite which has views of the harbour and park which was nice. The decor was perfect,will stay there again ... 5 stars

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tan E
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Tan E, Glad you enjoyed your stay, and the view from your room. Hope to see you again soon ! Alan

Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 15 June 2014

In our recent trip around NZ I have got to say this was the worst part. We stayed here for two nights and quite frankly I would have left but we had paid in advance and there was no refund. Wellington is not going to be on my agenda again. NZ is lovely but this place was a definite low...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Noggy1957
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Niall and Marian, I'm really disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy Wellington and Ohtel - both are generally well regarded by visitors. I'm a bit puzzled by a couple of your comments and your expectations referencing '5 star'. We are a 4.5 star self-rated, owner-run, boutique hotel with just 10 rooms. As you have pointed out, our small lobby...

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We did and loved it! Very helpful staff, and a quiet intimate feel to the place. Rooms were well appointed and we had a fantastic roomy bathroom. Loved the cafe at reception (good breakfast!), and loved the location. If you are a Kiwi you'll get the cultural references, if your not then its a great chance to break from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yellow_Eyed
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Yellow_Eyed, I hope the kids were well behaved while you got some well-earned time out with each other. Ohtel is the perfect place to escape from life's daily commitments ! Thanks Alan

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Checked into the deluxe room for the night with my wife, now kicking myself for not staying longer. Let me sum up my stay in a few words or the best I possibly can - great location, clean, quite, spacious, secluded and beautifully decorated with rustic furniture which is rather refreshing compared to all the other places I've checked-in previously......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zealnz
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Zealnz, I'm glad you found us and enjoyed tucking into the minibar.. Being only 4 hours drive away, I'm sure you'll have reason to come back some time soon ! Alan

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Wonderful hotel that does everything really well. Great staff, great coffee, great food, great location, great decor. Ohtel just nails it. 10 rooms makes this an intimate experience, you are respected, remembered and obviously valued. Stop looking elsewhere!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ado3361
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Ado ! Thanks for the high praise ! We really love it when people 'get' our place. Appreciate your review - hope to see you back soon. Alan

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Beautifully decorated unique boutique hotel on the waterfront. Rooms and bathrooms are huge in size and would highly recommend this accommodation. The staff where very friendly and go that extra mile to make your stay great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BJC1234
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Nice to hear from you BJC - and great that you enjoyed your stay ! It's policy here, (well with all 3 of us), that we are committed to making your time not just inside the hotel, but in our great little city, the best it can be. We like to get to know our guests and what they are...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,542 reviews
1.7 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,361 reviews
0.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.6 km away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ohtel's exclusive seaside location provides stunning views over Waitangi Park, Te Papa and the Inner harbour. Run by the owner and a select group of friendly, unpretentious staff, Ohtel provides convenience and luxury with an eco-friendly conscience. Experience contemporary New Zealand design, coupled with original "mid-century" furnishings throughout the lobby and ten spacious suites. Enjoy regionally sourced, gourmet food and beverages in room, or in our intimate lobby. Ohtel, sophisticated urban chic. Free Wi-Fi & local calls, King-sized beds, 55+ Sky channels, air-con, solar hot water... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ohtel

Address: 66 oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: ₹ 10,349 - ₹ 21,980 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ohtel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ohtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohtel Hotel Wellington
Design Hotel Wellington
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wellington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Family Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ohtel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ohtel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a Hot-Tub!”
, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms facing the street are amazing - great views of a bustling city, the sea, and Te Papa, the iconic national museum.”
paulanz, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get one that faces the front!”
JJLuvsHotels, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of the building have wonderful sunshine and view to the park, the harbour.”
Sjal68, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great from what I could see.”
j9herathome, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 165* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 165
Expedia.comUS$ 165
TripAdvisorUS$ 166
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates