We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Harbour City Motor Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Harbour City Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 148: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Have stayed at this motel many times over the years on business trips. It is quite central to town, so within easy walk to restaurants, the staff are friendly, rooms are quite large and clean, lots of power points, which is a often an issue these days given the number of devices people are carrying, laptops, tablets, phones, cameras etc.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ps257340
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do offer Free unlimited Fiber WiFi and it did make a huge difference for our guests. It's has been a pleasure to have you again, and we do look forward to your next visit. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The unit was spacious, well furnished and equipped with a heat pump (nice seating and the latest magazines provided). Modern kitchen and bathroom. Huge spa bath. A nice extra was another small TV in the bedroom. The best feature is the short walking distance to everything in central Tauranga.

Helpful?
Thank NZTraveller242
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about us. Our Family Room is set up in a way the parents can have an evening when the kids are in bed... so all can enjoy... We look forward to having you again. More 

Rotorua District, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying at this inn was very easy. My mother and I only stayed for one night and left early in the morning but our experience was very good. Good service, great location (directly opposite the theater which is why we were staying in Tauranga), neat, clean, and very comfortable. We would definitely recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank racheljH4891NI
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Rachel. Baycourt do have some great shows, and you can check on our website about what's coming up. A dinner to any restaurant downtown, a short stroll away, before a great show, adds to a very pleasant night. See you again. More 

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of the better places I have stayed at in recent years. The closeness to central tauranga, cleanliness, great fittings, lovely hosts, sky TV, comfy. What more could you want. I will be back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 605jocelyn
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Jocelyn for taking the time to do a review on Harbour City. It has been a pleasure to meet you, and we are looking forward to your next visit. More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Centrally located in the CBD, & extremely handy to the expressway this is an easy option for me when I travel to Tauranga. Friendly hosts, free fiber wifi and well appointed units are the offer here, & as I travel a lot for business I appreciate all this motel has to offer.

Helpful?
Thank hbbloke
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about us. Our team is always working their best to make our guests's stay an enjoyable experience. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Awakeri, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed here more than a dozen times. Has a great location and has always been clean. Generally everything we look for while looking for accommodation. On our last stay we booked 5 rooms as we had a wedding nearby, All good so far until the male host/manager had a major meltdown. He was abusive and horrible, was completely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As I remember the night your party returned from the wedding in the early hours of the morning , made a disturbance and woke us and probably half the other guests. One of the males was very aggressive, loud and needed 2 of you to keep in check. I was at the stage to call... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We had a great stay, staff were lovely and the room was really nice. Location was perfect as it was walking distance from the city. Room was big and clean and it had a spa aswel. Highly recommend and we will be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank faz174
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We will pass on your comments to our Team who is always striving to ensure an enjoyable stay. We look forward to your next visit. More 

1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

My daughter and I got out of Auckland for a long weekend, so booked a Twin Room here. It had everything we needed, was very clean, tidy and quiet. Great location being so close to eateries on The Strand, and the shops. Hosts were lovely as well, making sure we had what we needed. Would definitely stay again :)

Helpful?
Thank Eve S
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about us. It has been a pleasure to have you and your daughter, and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Manukau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2016

stayed for a night with the kids ,clean well presented and had everything we wanted.so close to town and easy 2 min walk to shops and around,couldnt want anything more for a motel close to town and all restaurants .great spa and shower and very quiet.would stay again no problem at all.

Helpful?
1 Thank kboosdad
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Harbour City. A playground is also just 1 minute away, with an outstanding view on the waterfront. We look forward to having you and your family again. More 

1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2016

For our wedding anniversary, we left our rugrat with her grandparents, and came for a night out in Tauranga. The hotel was really well priced, and very close to town (3 minute walk down to our chosen Restaurant for the night). What sold it for us was the spa bath in the unit. We were a little concerned about noise... More 

Helpful?
Thank John T
Harbours, Owner at Harbour City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you John for writing about us. Great to take time out from a busy life and enjoy the moment. We look forward to your next visit. More 

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
472 reviews
0.3 km away
City Suites
City Suites
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
276 reviews
0.9 km away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
218 reviews
0.2 km away
Quest Tauranga
Quest Tauranga
#20 of 57 in Tauranga
113 reviews
3.2 km away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 star plus upmarket motel in CBD. Opposite Baycourt Theatre. Close to Cafes & Restaurants. FREE wi-fi. 20 air-con units with spa baths, cooking facilities, LCD TVs, Electric Blankets, SKY TV, latest magazines . Complimentary Car parking. 14 studio rooms, 2 access rooms & 4 1 bedroom units. Conference Facilities on site. Management on site. Fluent French speaking host. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbour City Motor Inn

Address: 50 Wharf Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Price Range: ₹ 7,841 - ₹ 10,910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour City Motor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Harbour City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour City Motor Inn Tauranga, South Pacific
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#3 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#4 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harbour City Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Harbour City Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“downstairs at rear”
 of 5 bubbles getedh, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask fro a room away for the plant room it will be a bit quieter (ie not 1 or 2)”
 of 5 bubbles michaela707, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“we used the conference room only”
 of 5 bubbles Mykara, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Loved rooms 15 and 16 in the corner”
 of 5 bubbles g0withj0, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great. I prefer ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles Catzz67, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay