We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

674 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 646: English reviews
Bombay, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 January 2017

We really fell in love with the place and will definitely recommend to others and return next time in Taupo. We were welcomed on arrival and personally escorted to our rooms where the location of extra pillows, blankets etc were pointed out. The added personal touches and attention to detail were much appreciated and ensured that we were made to...

Thank kccme
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

The Cottage Mews is one of the best Motels i have stayed in so far. My partner and i really enjoyed our 3 night stay. The Cottage is decorated with lots of love and offers everything one can wish for. The location is excellent right by the lake and just a few minutes from Taupo center. Sonia the owner is...

Thank Fintan S
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We stayed at Cottage Mews for two weeks in December 2016 and very much enjoyed it. Our room was “The Nook”, which I believe is the smallest room at the property, so if you’re staying for an extended period of time, you might want to book a larger room. However, this room suited us very well. The bed was comfortable...

Thank Joppe84
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

The couple who run the motel are very nice and very welcoming. Unfortunately that's the only real upside to this place. We were told on check in to help ourselves to towels and make our own beds as it's New Year's Day tomorrow, not a major but just added to the averageness of the place. Only one pillow on each...

2Thank bridgetwood87
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your stay. It's true that we had a staff shortage on New Years day, but we proudly did all the services ourselves. We replaced towels and tea, coffee and sugar, wiped out the bathroom and kitchen. However, we are careful not...

Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

It was one of the greatest experiences I ever had in my trips. The location was great and the staff were wonderful and friendly. You could fine leisure facilities at a very good price and the rooms were fabulously clean and beautiful. Simply flawless.

Thank aras520
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Me and my mother stayed a few nights here on our way through Taupo. We originally were meant to stay one night, but we instantly fell in love with Cottage Mews! We had booked other accomodation elsewhere but Sonya who works at reception and owns the Motel went out of her way to help us to help us cancel our...

Thank DanicaBird
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Totally amazing experience... Rooms were clean & bright with cheerful linen which made the in-room stay uplifting. Heaters were available for warming things up when the wind got a tad chill.. & The upstairs jacuzzi & ensuite added to the convenience !!! The staff was very very attentive & helpful.. Sonja was full of tips on the no-miss experiences around...

Thank suissunaifu
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 December 2016

Upon arrival we were greeted with a big friendly welcome by Sonya and then shown to our unit. We stayed two nights and were very comfortable and very well looked after.The unit was very clean and well presented with a lovely big spa bath upstairs. As this property is on the lake's edge we spent a lot of time walking...

Thank Stuart P
Reviewed 17 December 2016

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon, and it couldn't have been more perfect. The host (Sonia, I think) was very friendly and helpful. Our room was amazing, comfortable, and I'd even say luxurious given the reasonable price. We had a hot tub, which worked great. We had a car, but the location of the...

Thank Rob K
Orewa, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Great spot - have stayed here before. Very welcoming, easy place to stay. Owners go out of their way to make it work for you. Will return again. Rooms are great - hot spar bath - all very clean and tidy. Easy access to lake shore for a quick walk around the coast and back to the motel in the...

Thank bsemaj_New_Zealand

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (121)
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Room/Suite (26)
Family/Play Areas (1)
View from Room (5)
Bathroom (9)
Dining (3)
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (20)
Room/Suite (6)
View from Room (3)
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Dining (1)
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.6 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 km away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#2 of 71 in Taupo
468 reviews
1.5 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
1,878 reviews
1.5 km away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#8 of 71 in Taupo
276 reviews
0.4 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: ₹ 6,519 - ₹ 8,670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taupo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#3 Family Hotel in Taupo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#11 Business Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good and walkable distance from the beautiful lake”
 of 5 bubbles Ushasivadas, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All excellent”
 of 5 bubbles PaulineTAntrum, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No bad rooms, we stayed in a single level room (without the chalet style upper room) and it was still lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles SteveC5R, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The family suites are lovely as the parents have an upstairs retreat”
 of 5 bubbles 275leac, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Private lake access for people staying at Cottage Mews”
 of 5 bubbles rachaeldavids0n, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5