We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wellesley on the Lake Taupo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 315: English reviews
Taupo
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

Doesn't seem that there are separate staff for restaurant and accommodation and we had to wait at front desk for sometime before someone came to check us in as the restaurant was busy. We had a similar experience when trying to contact reception by phone from our room, called 3 times before someone phoned back. Restaurant also took priority with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
Corinne C, Manager at Wellesley on the Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to place a review. I am sorry that the hotel was particularly busy when you checked in. Whilst we offer a fair amount of free parking for our hotel and restaurant guests, it is not able to be reserved so is on a first in first served...

Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

We had one night here and price $99 was very good , The hotel Is very close to the Town and right on the lake , the rooms are small and old but was fine for us for one night , had a small fridge in the room and big TV , Breakfast was very good and the staff very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
corinne561, Manager at Wellesley on the Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to place a review on your recent stay. We agree $99 is tremendous value. We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and finished it off with a lovely meal in our popular restaurant.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 9 February 2016

the location is just beside the lake. there is free parking. after checking in and have free time, can just walk along the lake to enjoy the views. food is available at the hotel. my room (king bed) was not bad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjamint2411
corinne561, Manager at Wellesley on the Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review on our property. I am pleased to hear that you appreciated all the wonderful attributes our hotel has to offer. Do come back and stay again!

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Close enough to town, looks nice from the road, lovely walk along the lake front with views to the mountains but thats pretty much the positives! Room very small, no air conditioning. Pool very small and hotel seems to be undergoing some renovations but nothing was said about this. If you are out after 8pm you have to get back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 4traceyh
corinne561, Manager at Wellesley on the Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Great to receive your feedback on your recent stay. Yes our location is superb isn't it! We are lucky to be able to offer a diverse range of room configurations - our smallest budget rooms are fine for a one night stay. Perhaps you would have been more happier in one of our larger rooms. We do not have air-conditioning...

Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

This place has a great location right on the lake and lots of potential to be very cute and unique. The hallway was being painted at the time of our stay, but the paint fumes weren't too bad. We planned to stay 2 nights. Upon arrival there was an error with our booking, but luckily there was a room available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
corinne561, Manager at Wellesley on the Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the mix-up with your room. Great to hear our front desk staff were quick at resolving the issues and you felt satisfied with the way there were handled. Good to hear you enjoyed your food in the restaurant....

Martinborough, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

The hotel itself is terrible. The lack of air conditioning and the paint fumes give you a headache. The only good thing is the Irish girl at the counter she's an absolute star. Brilliant customer service and a willingness to go above and beyond for customers. I hope she is rewarded for the effort she puts into this hotel she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ammo88
corinne561, Manager at Wellesley on the Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review on our hotel. We are sorry you felt the hotel is 'terrible'. We do not offer air-conditioning but provide fans for your comfort (most of the rooms have ceiling fans). Some rooms have recently been freshened up with a coat of paint. We do apologize this gave you a headache. I have passed on...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

We only stayed 1 night - wish it could have been longer. The location is perfect - right on the lake front and a very flat easy 15 min walk to the centre of town. The rooms we had were small, but very well equipped with plenty of hooks and hanging space. The bathroom was very clean with a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette H
corinne561, Manager at Wellesley on the Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Great to hear you had a fantastic stay at our hotel. We do agree with you - it's a fabulous location and well laid out. We look forward to hosting you again at our home away from home in Taupo.

Havelock North, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

We unexpectedly had to stay overnight in Taupo with a late 10pm check in. The receptionist was very helpful and waited for our arrival to show us upstairs to our room. The bed was very very comfortable and the room was very clean. A most unexpected surprise for a rather bizarre looking hotel with its amusingly African decor. It's clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beebrief
corinne561, Manager at Wellesley on the Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you for providing a review on your recent stay at our hotel. Great to hear you had a great sleep and you were very satisfied with our product and our service. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Stayed here two nights with my Fiance, was his first time to NZ pretty dissapointed room was clean but old tv didnt work in the room we were given. Got given another which was the same. Bed was horrible sqeaked when you sat down or turned so not a great sleep. Booked because of its location to the lake however...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christine2918
corinne561, Manager at Wellesley on the Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time provide a review on your stay at our hotel . We are pleased to hear that your room was nice and clean but sorry to hear that you had issues with the television. Some of our rooms do not have lake views - some rooms have to be on the other side of the...

Reviewed 18 January 2016

The ladies at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The room was small but was clean and orderly although it did not have a fridge. The bathroom was an excellent size and appeared to be wheelchair friendly. It is about a fifteen minute walk into the main part of town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty T
corinne561, Manager at Wellesley on the Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review on our hotel. Great to hear that you had a nice stay with us and it met with your approval. We look forward to your next visit!

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.9 km away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#35 of 71 in Taupo
205 reviews
0.4 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
201 reviews
1.0 km away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#16 of 71 in Taupo
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
0.2 km away
Courtney Motel
Courtney Motel
#48 of 71 in Taupo
71 reviews
0.6 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#30 of 71 in Taupo
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wellesley Hotel on Lake Taupo is perfectly positioned on the lakefront, with spectacular views across the lake to the three volcanic cones of Ruapehu, Tongariro and Ngauruhoe. Taupo is home to New Zealand's largest lake, more trout than you can shake a stick at and some of the country's most stunning scenery. Whether you are in Taupo on business or for a holiday, Wellesley Hotel on Lake Taupo offers an ideal setting. Our Lake Taupo accommodation offers great value and is proudly NZ family owned and operated, and is located within minutes of the Lake Taupo town centre and airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wellesley on the Lake Taupo

Address: 100 Lake Terrace | PO Box 54, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: ₹ 4,999 - ₹ 8,028 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellesley on the Lake Taupo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wellesley on the Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wellesley on the Lake Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try to avoid the back rooms”
 of 5 bubbles ErylAnn, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pick a room that is upstairs, hopefully with a view of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles 415lawrencec, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Very close to other restaurants, main street shops and walking track around the Lake”
 of 5 bubbles LisaWalker, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“do not taky view to the courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles Dejv94, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles G4455XJannem, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5