We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
I stayed here on 2 separate occasions. The first time I stayed in a 6 bed dorm with ensuite & the ceiling leaked during a particularly rainy night soaking two girls beds & bags. Not exactly great for what you pay, however the staff were...More
Response from Karry W, Manager at Taupo Urban RetreatResponded 6 April 2017
Thank you for your kind review Ayla, we are so happy you enjoyed both your nights with us. We appreciate your understanding with the leak and that our staff dealt with the situation promptly and professionally. The chilli meal is a backpacker favourite and its...More
Staying here was a true nightmare. A few beds (!) had bed bugs in them, including mine. I've had bites all over my body that lasted for over a week. Completely ruined the ending of my trip in NZ. Apart from the bed bugs: the...More
Response from Karry W, Owner at Taupo Urban RetreatResponded 3 April 2017
Thank you for highlighting that our staff were nice. Each day we come to work with the hope of making sure that our guests have the best possible experience of Taupo and our hostel that we can offer. We none of us bring bed bugs...More
We stayed here to try and save a bit of money on our NZ trip. It was the first backpackers I have stayed at and it was totally fine. We had a room to ourselves for $80 a night which came with our own bathroom...More
Three of us paid for a 4 bed room to have some privacy. We locked our door, but despite this staff entered our room whilst we were out to search for & remove alcohol. They have a bar and don't allow BYO. Fair enough for...More
Thank Marlis H
Response from Karry W, Manager at Taupo Urban RetreatResponded 16 March 2017
Thank you for your comments Marlis, I'm sorry you feel we invaded your privacy, this is not our intention. We have to comply with NZ Licensing laws and having a bar on-site we are allowed to perform evening room checks to ensure guests are complying...More
The staff were friendly, the drinks were definitely great and the living space was tidy and cozy. The only down side was the bathroom space, and just how the toilet roll dispenser was broken; needs a little fixing up and it's good 😊More
Thank Kandinani M
Response from Karry W, Manager at Taupo Urban RetreatResponded 12 March 2017
Thank you very much for your review, we are happy you enjoyed the bar area and the staff were helpful during your stay with us! We have noted the facilities comments and do hope you return for another stay here. Enjoy your travels in New...More
US$ 31 - US$ 71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Star rating provided by Expedia.
Number of rooms
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Taupo Urban Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hi Kitty, Reception hours are from 8am - 9pm, however we also have a night porter who can let you into the hostel after reception is closed. All you need to do is let us know the date and time and then call the night porter... More
Hi Kitty, Reception hours are from 8am - 9pm, however we also have a night porter who can let you into the hostel after reception is closed. All you need to do is let us know the date and time and then call the night porter once you are outside the hostel so they can greet you and check you in. Thanks, Sarah