We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Speciality Lodging in Taupo

BoBs Hostel (formerly Finns Global Backpackers)

13 reviews
Save
Traveller (5)
Dining (1)
Room & Suite (1)
Overview
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good23%
  • Average23%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible39%
2 weeks ago
“Good hostel, but...”
2 weeks ago
“new management”
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast included
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (13)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
2
3
3
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
2
3
3
0
4
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Check-in was easy and staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and had an ensuite! There was a kitchen, equipped with everything and decent recycling stations. The communal area was comfortable and there was a huge rooftop terrace! The hostel was under...More

Thank George F
Response from Steve G, General Manager at BoBs Hostel (formerly Finns Global Backpackers)Responded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your time at BoBs. We have lots more renovations planned, so hope to see you in the future for another stay! Many Thanks

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel has great facilities and is super clean. Staff is amongst the nicest I've met and they've got a HUGE rooftop terrace that's super cool to hang out on. However, there is a bar underneath that is extremely loud and unless you use earplugs...More

Thank BenHa97
Response from Steve G, General Manager at BoBs Hostel (formerly Finns Global Backpackers)Responded 1 week ago

Kia Ora, Thanks for your review we are proud of our facilities and staff, we do hope you took advantage of the free earplugs and hope to see you again. Many thanks.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

new owner just took over not long ago. place quite messy with renovation as it really needs a make over. some noise from pub next door till 12.30am. staff was friendly. location was good. wifi works well

Thank platinumSingapore
Response from Steve G, General Manager at BoBs Hostel (formerly Finns Global Backpackers)Responded 1 week ago

Kia Ora, Thanks for your review, we are still working on the renovations and hope to see you again when complete. Kind Regards Bobs

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After driving from wellington we needed a place to have a rest. The town was fully booked as expected for this time of year. Managed to book the last available bed. It only cost us $15. Can't complain about that. Friendly guy at the front...More

Thank Kel F
Response from Steve G, General Manager at BoBs Hostel (formerly Finns Global Backpackers)Responded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Kel F for your review we are glad that we were able to get a bed for you. Hope to see you again next time you are in town.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my husband stayed in for a night on our way to Auckland. Great location, few steps to the lake, on site bar and restaurants however the room smells awful, dirty place specially the bathroom. Needs serious refurbishment and deep clean.

Thank Uniceshellamae M
Response from Steve G, General Manager at BoBs Hostel (formerly Finns Global Backpackers)Responded 2 weeks ago

Kia Ora, Thank you for your comments, since your stay we have a new housekeeping team in place. Many thanks

View more reviews
PreviousNext
123
About
Amenities
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$ 29 - US$ 67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 29 - US$ 67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (5)
Dining (1)
Room & Suite (1)
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from BoBs Hostel (formerly Finns Global Backpackers) staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Never stay this place"
Read review
"another place"
Read review
"Go for a double room rather than a single, as the staff told me that it was in the quieter section of the..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite