We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clearwater Motor Lodge

Show Prices
#12 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clearwater Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 167: English reviews
Start your review of Clearwater Motor Lodge
 Click to rate
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice location and very friendly staff. Dated, but clean. Built on a volcanic plate, so rooms are warm and need to use the AC. Walking distance to a cafe. Only bad experience was that we ran out of hot water for morning shower. May be an isolated issue?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BobK55357
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

HI Bobk55357: thanks for your time to write the review for us. we gladed that you enjoyed our lake edge location. yes, we are on the thermal land which 6rooms has air condition for summer time, and under floor heating which is beautiful during the winter time. sorry about the hot water issue on that day, which happened unexpectedly. all...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was great - a lovely location. Clean, tidy and a beautiful spot. One of the features advertised is the spa in the room however there was no hot water for either the spa or for a hot shower. Wouldn't recommend staying on the ground floor as you can hear the people above you move around and you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanlie d
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

HI Hanlie: thanks for your time to write a review. we are sincerely sorry that you hadn't use the spa during your stay due to hot water issue. There was a technical issue happened on that time, however it has been fixed on the next morning. we are hoping to see you next time while you are in Taupo, and...

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We arrived fairly late in the afternoon but enjoyed being able to be so close to the lake. The sound of the water was wonderful. However, after coming back for dinner, it felt like the underfloor heating was on. Upon reading the manual, we realised that the motor lodge is situated on a thermal area and that this was what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

HI Mary: thanks for your time to write the review. we glad that you enjoyed the view. you are right, lake front upper level unit no air conditioning as it was not affect by the thermal heating, however it is nice to stay on the grand level during the winter time because of the natural heating. i am sorry to...

Hod Hasharon
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We visited lake Taupo area as a part of a long trip to New Zealand. We picked up this place because it has a lot of positive reviews and we didn't disappointed. The place is very nice and is located close to the city center but far enough to be quite. It is also located at a nice place on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harari2012
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Harari2012: Thanks for your time to write the review. we appreciated that you had a enjoyable time with us except the weather wasn't work out for you. all Best wishes. Regards Lina

Bradenton, FL
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We stayed at Clearwater 3 nights and enjoyed it! Easy walk into town on the walkway. Quiet in the evenings. Due to the thermals under the property, the floor was always warm and easy on the feet. The hosts were helpful and informative. The view over Lake Taupo at sunset was incredible. Nice place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djcopeland
michigan
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We arrived to Lake Taupo and the first place we booked was not up to our standards so we drove around looking for something suitable and found Clearwater. We loved it and would definitely go back. We had a ground floor room with a huge jacuzzi spa and a nice patio right on the lake. The views and sunset were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wiggletail
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We've stayed with these people for years and always impressed with the facility. Clean quiet good parking And black swans outside. Right on the lake. That's all I want to say but for some reason this site requires more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alana B
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Alana B: thanks for your time to write the review. thanks for supporting our business as always. we are pleased that you enjoyed your staying at our lodge. we are looking forward to see you again while you are next time in Tuapo. Regards Lina

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Wonderful reception welcome. Highlight was the gentleman's enthusiasm, patience and initiative. He helped us with restaurants, tourist locations and directions. We appreciated the good portion of milk given. The room was spacious and the air conditioning was easy to use and sufficient for the 2 rooms. Lots of towels and good sized telly. There were a lot of flies so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanaja M
linashao, Owner at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Vanaja M: Thanks for your time to write a review for us. It was our pleasure to service you. there should have 2 shampoo containers in family room, and we are in the process of upgrading to 50+channel sky TV. Thanks for staying with us and looking forward to see you again. Regards LIna

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 February 2017

The room is medium sized and comfortable, the bathroom very modern, a spa in the bedroom, and a small kitchenette. The Fridge freezer was too small to be useful. However, the views on lake Taupo are stunning and worth staying there, absolutely!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mennito
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Mennito: Thanks for your time to write the review. we are appreciated your comments. Regards Lina

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 February 2017

I loved my stay at Clearwater motel, helpful staff. I was travelling with my 16yr old son, handy to town, lake and scenic places like Huka falls. It was lovely to have side view of Lake, super clean and lovely to have spa in room as well as outdoor spa. Certainly a place to chill. Also quiet and nice to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terasa2016
linashao, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Terasa 2016: we are appreciated your time to write a review for us. It was lovely to meet you and your family. enjoy your rest of trip in NZ and having a safe trip back to home. we are looking forward to see you next time while you are in Taupo. Regards Lina

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.1 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.2 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.0 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
260 reviews
0.1 km away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
LAKE EDGE TRANQUILITY Clearwater Motor Lodge offers quality accommodation situated right at the waters edge of lake Taupo. All 10 self-contained units provide king beds, in-room spa, kitchen facilities, TV/DVD, balcony or courtyard. 6 Of our Studios with unlimited lake & mountain views.Family units with same facilities, 2 single beds in separate bedroom. On-site Thermal plunge pool & BBQ. Quiet location Free on-site parking. Perfect for romantic couples ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clearwater Motor Lodge

Address: 229 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: ₹ 8,268 - ₹ 9,976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clearwater Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clearwater Hotel Taupo
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#15 Family Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clearwater Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed on the bottom floor by the lake it had beautiful views”
hanlied2016, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are not affected by the thermal activity below - at least that's what we were told.”
833MaryP, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms with the lake views are the best.”
Harari2012, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Hosts offered beach towels if requested.”
djcopeland, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A room on the lake.”
wiggletail, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5