We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Great Lake Holiday Park

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Great Lake Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 153: English reviews
Start your review of Great Lake Holiday Park
 Click to rate
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked here back in January for our dates, we were shown our unit. Spouse is vision impiared, we had a disabled access unit. Really comfortable bed, unit was spotless, option to sit outside with provided picinic table. Best of all, NO ROAD NOISE! We will stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 983ElaineH
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our selfcontained access units and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a Deluxe cabin and it was great, clean, tidy, nice fresh linen and great facilities. Good hot showers in a nice clean shared bathroom area, BBQ's were clean. Shared kitchen area was in very good order and had lots of stuff to borrow if you didn't have your own.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debt24
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of our park. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our deluxe cabins and we hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Boring 70's style cabins Only stayed here as other places were booked. There's no excitement, nothing to do The maintenance man is very annoying sticks his nose in your business when you try to relax, and is mowing the lawns 24/7 so a lot of noise going on. You have to pay for everything, to use the oven, to use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arowin67
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

How could you possibly publish comments like this? According to one of your other reviews you are a resident of Taupo yourself and you seem to take pleasure in trashing the places you stay at and the restaurants you dine in. You are doing Taupo, its accommodation and its eateries a huge disservice by discouraging others from visiting our town....

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here overnight in our camper van and it was a half hour walk to the lake, which was fine, with shops for rations along the way. Camp has lots of space and the shower block was immaculate with nice strong showers. Great kitchen facility with plenty of sinks for washing up.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SteveS1970
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and you found our shower block immaculate, our showers nice and strong, and our kitchen facilities great.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We’ve stayed in standard and deluxe cabins here every year for the past 10 years, bringing running teams for an annual sports event. Always friendly and clean, plenty of hot water, lovely outdoor undercover BBQ area for large groups (and small). Grounds always neat and tidy. Quiet, and just 5 minutes’ drive to centre of Taupo. We notice that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RunningTheLake
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

As always, it was a pleasure to have the team staying with us while they competed. Thank you for writing such a wonderful review, we really appreciate it! We have many upgrading projects underway so you may see some more changes when you return next year.

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Clean and practical unit. Ample parking. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location. No complaints! Plan to stay again. Everything i need to say is above - sometimes one does not need losts of words to say all good - great. Cheers from happy client.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pip4183
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of our park and our staff. We look forward to a "happy client" returning for another enjoyable stay.

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Actually we booked for 3 Nights, but once we arrived my wife thought to stay one night longer. So I went to the Reception to pay for. It is a clean Park, the Owner is friendly like all of the staff I got in contact. We did like to have our BBQ. The Grills are very tidy. We felt very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wali-Zurich
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to stay an extra night. Also that you returned to stay again a few days later. We look forward to seeing you both again next time you visit New Zealand.

Reviewed 5 February 2017

We were very happy with our 2 night stay - the cabin was great - well appointed and clean. We where in Taupo for Wanderlust so it was close to the resort and close to town as well. Has made us reconsider the need to book motels / hotels at twice the price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank melaniesT7087QT
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt that we offer good value on our accommodation. We hope you enjoyed the festival and look forward to you staying with us again.

Levin, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We had a lovely stay here. Amenities were spotless.Water was hot for the showers but there was a 5 min limit for each shower Proprietors were friendly and helpful. Free WIFI which is a bonus. Grounds well kept and a largish spot to park up. Very popular spot and just 10 min to Taupo Central

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DibblesA
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments on our facilities and our friendliness. Our sites are a good size for campervans, caravans and family tents. Thank you for staying with us.

Reviewed 30 January 2017

Friendly service, clean facilities, nice and quiet in the unit we stayed. We had a one bedroom cabin and hired linen for the beds that did not have it and found this great. Beats carrying it around in a already full car and was cheap to hire. Would definitely go back and recommend to everyone. Price wise it was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michell K
gtlake, Owner at Great Lake Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay with us. We appreciate your comment that you will recommend us to everyone. Look forward to seeing you again.

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.3 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
3.8 km away
All Seasons Holiday Park Taupo
4.9 km away
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
2.8 km away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#2 of 34 in Taupo
285 reviews
2.5 km away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#10 of 34 in Taupo
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park is situated only 3 km's (5 minutes) from town centre and is set in 5 acres of sheltered parklike grounds, surrounded by 3000 acres of farmland. Lake access and northern boat ramps are 1,5 km down the road. We offer a variety of quality affordable accommodation, 1 & 2 bedroom self contained units, deluxe and standard cabins, powered campervan and non powered tent sites. Park facilities include communal camp kitchen, toilets and showers, guest laundry, children's playground, trampolines, games room, Sky TV lounge, cardphone, internet kiosks, WiFi, private spa, free gas barbeques and tour and activity bookings.Come and enjoy the peace and tranquility of our Holiday Park along with lake views and warm, friendly hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great Lake Holiday Park

Address: 406 Acacia Bay Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: ₹ 1,058 - ₹ 6,071 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Great Lake Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Set of units adjacent to the officewere quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 983ElaineH, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a site sheltered from the wind if you are tenting”
 of 5 bubbles 922JD922, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quieter pitches , away from the road, at the back of the site”
 of 5 bubbles Milliemax64, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“try to get further back in the site to avoid road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles UK_Rob_000, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The flats that face the playground area were lovely.”
  • Our cute towels.
 of 5 bubbles cazbar62, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5