We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Base Taupo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Base Taupo
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 186: English reviews
Start your review of Base Taupo
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great location, very central. Beautiful setting :) Lake minutes from hostel. Stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm, comfortable bed, shower and toilets very clean. The staff were really helpful and friendly, would definitely recommend to others and stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed In a private room with a double bed. It was clean and had tea/coffee facilities and ensuite which was good. Nice staff at the front desk and bar. Cheap drinks at the bar for guests and we had a great night. Good location for the lake and restaurants. We didn't notice any noise where we were

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katieeveringham
Keilor, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms of 4, massive bathroom, clean and fairly modern, lovely 24 hour reception staff and bar right next door as well as across the road and around, would definitely reccommend for travellers looking for this kind of thing as it's affordable and if you get a room facing the water it's amazing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack O
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here on kiwi experience. We paid 32 dollars per person per night to sleep in a miniscule box room where 3 bunks were crammed in to it. Opened windows because so hot with 6 bodies in it, still boiling hot and was as if there is a sound system inside (and i'm not usually bothered by noise). When we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On top of having great rooms and prices , they also have an amazing nightclub underneath ! The sound wasn't bad for sleeping and the location is so handy ! Drinks are super cheap , the base offers deals for local attractions also, very handy .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank braedonr869
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Out of all the hostels I stayed in during my time NZ this was by far the worst, six people crammed into a tiny room, very dirty , cracked floor in the shower area , not to mention the noise, truly awful place to be , only good thing is the location, DO NOT STAY HERE

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blakecharlie
BaseTaupoManagement, Front Office Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi There Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, I noticed in your response that you noted that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room and overall which was not good to hear. Sometimes we do not get everything right and if you were in a room when this happened. Although our in-house bar...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Do not stay here if you're planning to sleep. Rave music plays all night just outside your window on apparently all nights of the week. Hot, crowded, noisy. We stayed here only because we were really desperate but we should have just slept in our car. Avoid.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SophieDarjeeling
BaseTaupoManagement, Front Office Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi There Thank you for leaving a review, your thoughts are important to us. We are not so thrilled that the noise from bars impacted on your stay, we would like to take this opportunity to apologize for this issue. Due to our central location we can experience noise issues, however we do our best to minimize this by providing...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed here in a private double with ensuite. The bathroom very modern and tea and coffee in your room. A small tv was also in the room. Compared to other hostels in NZ staying in private double this was the best. Although small you get what you pay for. Ear plugs are provided for late night noise (pubs and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lala6060
BaseTaupoManagement, Front Office Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi There Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay, here at base we strive to provide our guests with a premium hostel to stay in both though the facilities we offer and the service our staff provide . We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels...

Reviewed 7 January 2017

Centrally located in the heart of the Taupo township this place is geared to young adults who don't mind roughing it a bit. It's marketed as Base Taupo but once you are booked everything is in the name of Base Backpackers Taupo. Our room was on the third floor. There is a lift to the first floor, then it's stairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
BaseTaupoManagement, Front Office Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi There Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, I'm sorry to hear the bar may have affected your stay although our in-house bar can be lively and patrons come to party hard this should not have impacted on your sleep. We do like to keep our hostel full of atmosphere and set the right Vibe, however...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017

We stayed here on New Year's Day so check in was late as they were still cleaning. We stayed in a private double room which was clean and simple. However there was a lot of noise until around 2am from the pubs across the road and the club in the hostel itself, this should be stipulated when booking to ensure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley M
BaseTaupoManagement, Front Office Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi There Thank you for your comments, I noticed in your response that you noted the noise from the Bar adjacent affected your stay with us which is disappointing. Although our in-house bar can be lively and patrons come to party hard this should not have impacted on your sleep. We have made a number of changes to reduce sound...

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.2 km away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.0 km away
Finns Global Backpackers
0.7 km away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#3 of 34 in Taupo
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#10 of 34 in Taupo
177 reviews
0.3 km away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#15 of 34 in Taupo
176 reviews
0.7 km away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Base Taupo is a modern and convenient (built in 2008) backpackers with a range of accommodation options from dorms to private ensuite rooms to suit every budget. Come party with us at the Element Bar, Taupo's leading party and late night venue. Base Taupo is situated centrally in the heart of the main restaurant and bar area on Tuwharetoa St. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Base Taupo

Address: 7 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: ₹ 3,084 - ₹ 5,229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Taupo 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Base Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Base Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get one with a road frontage if you want to sleep in”
 of 5 bubbles craigbE5793DB, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“4 Bed with ensuite is good- bathrooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlyBrisc, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms have great bathrooms!”
 of 5 bubbles StephJ_Sydney, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Level 3 or 4 give a little better sound quality”
 of 5 bubbles LaurieR96, 3 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Requesting a quiet room got me an incredibly noisy room (maybe they ignore requests?)”
 of 5 bubbles Atheoretical, 3 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5