We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Anchorage Resort

Show Prices
#5 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Anchorage Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Anchorage Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Auckland
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Anchorage is out of town and set back from the main road, making it quieter than most motels. The rooms & linen were spotless and it was well equipped. The managers were extremely helpful. We enjoyed the pool and spa. It was such a pleasant stay we are returning in a few months with our grandchildren.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 341liz
Anchorage_Taupo, Manager at Anchorage Resort, responded to this review

Hi there. We really appreciate you taking the time to review our property and share your positive experiences while you stay here with your grandchildren. It is always fun watching the children enjoy our pools and providing endless entertainment for the adults. We do hope to see you again and wish you all the best. Erin and Amos Managers

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 February 2016

This was one of the best resorts/motels we have stayed at for years - and we've stayed at lots of them throughout NZ! The rooms were spacious, clean, and well appointed. And Erin was fantastic! Nothing was too much of a problem for her. The spa pool was excellent, too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Orphie6
Anchorage_Taupo, Manager at Anchorage Resort, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed our large spacious rooms and the hot spa we have along with our swimming pool. We do hope to see you again and wish you all the best. Erin and Amos Managers

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 25 February 2016

The hosts were wonderful and the room/facilities were updated and clean. We really enjoyed our time here and would come back in a second. We had booked 2 nights but needed to stay an extra 2 nights last minute. Unfortunately because there was a concert in town, they were completely booked along with every other place in town. After some...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeremyj409
Anchorage_Taupo, Manager at Anchorage Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jeremy. Thank you so much for your review and kind words regarding your stay here with us. We are so glad that things worked out so that you could stay the extra two nights. We certainly enjoyed having you stay and showing us your awesome Ford Mustang you have back in the USA. Do stay in touch and do...

Evesham
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Seven of us arrived at the Anchorage for one night, the place was so nice we stayed on another two. The staff were friendly and welcoming, we stayed in a two bedroom unit which was clean, tidy and plush. The air con was fantastic, we had BBQ's on the balcony over looking the pool and lake. I would definitely recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben207
Anchorage_Taupo, Manager at Anchorage Resort, responded to this review

Hi Ben, Thank you so much for the awesome review, and we are so stoked that you stayed a extra couple of nights and that you manged to use our bbqs and that you also enjoyed the views over the pool and the lake. We do look forward to your return again soon. Kind Regards Erin and Amos Wootten

Auckland
Reviewed 14 February 2016

A last minute decision to head away for the long weekend was the best one yet! Clean, tidy, relaxed, superb facilities, the kids loved the pools and our hosts were incredibly friendly. We've already booked again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marsdenmm
Anchorage_Taupo, Manager at Anchorage Resort, responded to this review

Hi marsdenmm, Thank you so much for your awesome review and we are so happy that you will be heading back this way to Taupo and spending it with us again! We think that the pool is such a great thing for families when visiting as it keeps the kids entertained while the parents can have some time out but...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2016

stopped here for two nights - warm welcome on arrival (Erin is fab; knowledgeable and helpful); excellent facilities - both in room (spacious, clean, modern) and on site (pool, spa, laundry) great location - lakeside and handy for the town centre (albeit not on foot if you've also been taking in the local sights)! thoroughly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen E
Anchorage_Taupo, Manager at Anchorage Resort, responded to this review

Hi Helen E, Thank you so much for your lovely review - its always great to know that you had a great time and that you have taken the time to review our place. We do love the fact that our place is spacious and clean and that we have swimming pools and awesome views of the lake. We do...

Ulverston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2016

My daughter, her Partner, my Husband and I stayed here for two nights in December. We were welcomed so warmly upon our arrival, promptly booked in and directed to our accommodation which certainly did not disappoint! Both bedrooms were very clean, beautifully presented beautifully and we all slept well in clean, comfortable beds. There was a large bathroom equipped with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappydaysMC
Anchorage_Taupo, Manager at Anchorage Resort, responded to this review

Hi there HappydaysMC, Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate your awesome feedback on what a great time you had here. It was so nice to read how much you enjoyed our outdoor BBQ area the large deck area round our pools, which are perfect for relaxing, hanging out and taking in the beautiful views of Lake...

Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

Lovely to stay in a such well appointed and comfortable accommodation. The team are welcoming and are there for the guests with cheerful greetings and smiles. The standard of housekeeping is exceptionally high. Pool and hot pool are most relaxing with lovely view from hot pool. Would definitely recommend especially for families.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M D E
Anchorage_Taupo, Manager at Anchorage Resort, responded to this review

Hi M D E, Wow, what a fantastic review!! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you noticed all the changes made and the cleanliness of the rooms. This is something that we take very seriously and do push our housekeeping team to keep up our high standards. We do hope you come and...

New Zealand
Reviewed 9 January 2016

Stayed 2 nights in December on our way south. So nice to stay in a hotel with brand new rooms. Clean, tidy, comfy. Will stay again! The hosts were lovely and I liked the touch of getting a complimentary bottle of water for our trip when we left. The kids also got sweets too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stoml
Anchorage_Taupo, Manager at Anchorage Resort, responded to this review

Hi Stoml. It was great having you stay with us, and we very much appreciate you taking the time to place such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. We do hope to see you again soon and wish you all the best for 2016. All the best and take care. Erin and Amos Managers

Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

We arrived at noon unexpectedly, the lady in reception was more then accommodating to assist us. Our room became available within 30 minutes. Room was spacious, clean and quiet with modern fittings. Lovely flow to BBQ area, pool & spa. With a view of the lake. Would defiantly stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WMarieA
Anchorage_Taupo, Manager at Anchorage Resort, responded to this review

Hi There WMarieA. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms to your liking, especially the spaciousness and cleanliness of them. Something that we take great pride in, along with our pool and BBQ area. We do hope that you choose to stay with us...

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 km away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#2 of 71 in Taupo
468 reviews
2.0 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.9 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
191 reviews
0.9 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.9 km away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#8 of 71 in Taupo
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Anchorage Resort is a beautiful complex located right on the shores of NZ's largest body of water, Lake Taupo. The Anchorage Resort features 21 spacious units, which have recently been refurbished with new carpets, furniture, beds and a fresh coat of paint. We have a variety of room types from large studios, one and two bedroom units and our amazing and luxurious 3 bedroom apartment. Our complex is also family friendly with our pool area recently receiving a spruce up -including a new deck. With a heated plunge pool, we offer the perfect way for the family to relax and enjoy Taupo's amazing summer weather. We also offer free Wi-Fi, off-street parking and easy access to the lake just across the road from our motel. Whatever the occasion our resort can cater to your every need, and don't forget our delicious home cooked breakfasts which are available up request. You will not find a better place to stay at for that special family holiday this summer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchorage Resort

Address: 346 Lake Terrace | Two Mile Bay, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: ₹ 8,052 - ₹ 12,077 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anchorage Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Anchorage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anchorage Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Leicester, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Anchorage Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Meal making facilities”
 of 5 bubbles BrigidB833, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best views from second floor”
 of 5 bubbles brucel215, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms great if travelling with young children as you can use the spa in the evening while keeping an eye & ear on the room.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahchats, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“second floor will give views of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles Meeeez, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor front room looks out over the lake”
 of 5 bubbles Number9NZ, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5