We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Waterfront

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 223: English reviews
Hawera, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 January 2017

A sophisticated, modern, well-appointed hotel in Taranaki's provincial main city, New Plymouth. Just across from New Plymouth's exceptionally wonderful coastal walkway, two blocks from the city's main shopping street and next to Puke Ariki, the museum - the location couldn't be better. A warm, efficient welcome greets guests. The rooms, while not luxurious, are extremely well-appointed, with many little surprises....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HaweraNZ
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi HaweraNZ Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Its great to hear you had a great experience at the hotel all round. We appreciate your comments and business. Kind Regards The Waterfront Team.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2017

We were accused of smoking in our room when we did not. We were charge $150 for something we did not do. We should called the Police but it was to late. They have some sort of scam going on here so be careful everyone

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shaunbarnes2
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Mr Barnes, Let me correct you. We actually charged you $300.00 but you neglected to mention that we refunded you $150.00 after some debate. All our rooms are smoke free and there is no way we would check anyone into a smokey room. We have strict policies about this and yes we do enforce them. The room you occupied...

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

One of the best hotels I staged at. It is located right in front of the esplanade so you can enjoy a walk along the boardwalk beside the sea. Centrally located there are cool cafes etc close by and if you have time visit the museum right next door. On site parking, warm friendly staff and top restaurant on site...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LyndaAukino
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello LyndaAukino, Thanks for your amazing comments and for your business. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you will return in the future. We would love the opportunity to host you again. Until then, we wish you well. Regards The Waterfront Hotel Team.

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 January 2017

First class service from the time you check in to the time you check out, the staff here are amazing and the restaurant is a quality dining experience. Modern clean decor, rooms have great sea views and ideally located for a stroll along the waterfront or into town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barrybid
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Barry Bid, Thank you for staying with us at The Waterfront Hotel. Its great to know you had a fantastic time here and that the staff went the extra mile and looked after you so well. Hope we can host you again one day if you return to the region. Regards The Waterfront Hotel Team.

Palmerston, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 January 2017

From the time Richard took my booking this was an excellent stay. The dinner was to die for and the wait staff were so wonderful. Explaining what our meal was all about and generally very attentive. Was my wifes birthday and the did something special in way of decorated plate to help mark it for her. Room was fabulous and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johntD660DA
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you John for your fantastic comments. I am excited to hear you had a great time staying with us and dining in our restaurant Salt for your wife's birthday. Great value for money is always a good thing to hear. Regards Mark

Masterton
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night here and thoroughly recommend this hotel. Lovely big comfortable rooms and the bed was great. We had a glimpse of the sea from our room. The staff were all very polite and friendly and the room was very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janeca14Masterton
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Janeca14 Thank you for sharing your experience on you recent stay with us. I am really happy you had a great time and especially enjoyed the size of the room and bed comfort. We wish you well. Kind regards Mark

Dijon, France
Reviewed 10 January 2017

This place was a joy to stay at. Staff are all friendly and helpful, the room was a good size, the shower excellent and all clean and tidy. Secure parking to boot. The motel is in a great position, right next door to the tourist info centre and close to shops as well as art gallery and ocean board walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ameldajo
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Ameldajo, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Waterfront. We take great pride in our property and cleanliness is something we are very proud of as is our location. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Regards The Waterfront Hotel.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 January 2017

A great new conveniently located hotel just opposite the Wind Wand, Coastal Walkway and the Sea. The room we had was an extra large size which made it not seem like a typical hotel room! It was super clean, fresh with a super comfy bed and free wifi. We stayed 3 nights and although we had a car we chose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank becadarh
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Becadarh Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Waterfront Hotel. I am very happy you had a great time while you were here and found our location very handy. Thank you for sharing your feedback, we appreciate it. Regards The Waterfront Hotel Team.

Reviewed 7 January 2017

The rooms are good sized. Very good bathrooms. Housekeeping staff is fantastic. The views from room was good. For all your food requirements - there is a good restaurant on level 1. What else does one need if you are visiting the city? What I missed is a microwave oven, but not that important. Overall enjoying the stay here. Will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samuel M
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Samuel M, Thank you for staying with us on your visit to New Plymouth. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay and overall experience at the Waterfront Hotel. We do have microwaves on request, sorry this was not clear to you. Thank you for your great feedback, we appreciate it. Regards The Waterfront Hotel Team.

Reviewed 3 January 2017

Amazing room and amenities...staff extremely accommodating, restaurant amazing, cleaning amazing!!! Highly recommend.....The only problem not even a real problem was the noise from trucks travelling through...but that is no fault of the hotel with the Kaikoura earthquake the port is swamped with loads to ferry around nz so we could bear it..the amazing staff and the surprise menu in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jas F
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Jas F, Thank you so much for staying with us. Its excellent to know you had an amazing time with us. We know we have great staff that go above and beyond to deliver a fantastic experience for all our guests. We appreciate you feedback and business. Kind regards The Waterfront Hotel Team.

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 km away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
296 reviews
1.4 km away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
197 reviews
0.7 km away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
5.5 km away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
278 reviews
0.3 km away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Price Range: ₹ 7,170 - ₹ 10,723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth
The Waterfront New Plymouth, Taranaki
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Waterfront staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room well away from the restaurant”
phital, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Specify your requirements on booking.”
71SheilaM, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Waterfront would be best but even on the side street was still pleasant.”
198robc, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the north side have perhaps a better perspective of the coastal view.”
bbcw, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The second floor was very nice and quiet”
TennesseeEZTraveler, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 125* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$ 125
PricelineUS$ 125
TravelocityUS$ 125
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates